Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall 851beverleya
Somerset West, South Africa
13 Feb 2020

“Amazing!”
Having heard about awesome both food and views we made a booking to have lunch at this establishment. We were not disappointed. Both were outstanding.Will be going back time and time again!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavalliteam, Other at Cavalli Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear Beverley,Thank you for your valued review received. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. The views from our restaurant is indeed something to behold and adds to the overall dining experience.We look forward to welcoming you back to Cavalli again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall annamvr131
Johannesburg, South Africa
10 Feb 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Culinary Experience”
Unforgettable culinary Experience. Friendly and professional service. Thank you Priscilla. Compliments to Chef. Great portion sizes. Cater for meat lovers and Pescetarians and Vegetarians.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavalliteam, Other at Cavalli Restaurant, responded to this review.
Good Day Thank you for your valued review received. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Our chef prides himself on providing excellent dishes whilst catering to all special dietary requirements and we will definitely pass your compliments to him. Thank you also for for complimenting Priscilla the excellent service she gave you.We hope to welcome you back to Cavalli again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MarkS12465
Sandton, South Africa
02 Feb 2020

“Some good dishes, some average”
Some good dishes, some average dishes. Manager was very keen to debate with me to prove me wrong when I complained about the time it was taking to prepare the food. Pity I’ve been there a few times and it’s not at the level it used to be. Go to one of the other incredible restaurants in the area.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall nadiaa471
Cape Town
29 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“We love Cavalli Restaurant so much”
We love Cavalli Restaurant so much so that we dine here often. Our meals have always been consistently spectacular. The chef and his team create dishes that are beautiful, the flavours are delicious, and a great balance between textures. There is attention to detail from the service to every dish that lands in front of us. Playful yet distinguished, your tastebuds will go on a journey like no other.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavalliteam, Office Administrator at Cavalli Restaurant, responded to this review.
Good Day Nadia,Thank you for your valued review received. We are delighted to hear that Cavalli remains one of your favourite places to dine in the area. Our chef and his team does indeed strive to provide exquisite dishes with a difference, whilst the rest of our team offers service of a superior standard.We hope to welcome you back to Cavalli soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall amandahartley10
Sheffield, United Kingdom
27 Jan 2020

“We have visited Cavalli each”
We have visited Cavalli each time we come to South Africa and are now in our 6th year. It is our favourite place, the food, drink and staff are all amazing and it didn’t disappoint yesterday. We hope we will have many more visits, Thankyou Cavalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavalliteam, Office Administrator at Cavalli Restaurant, responded to this review.
Good Day Amanda,Thank you for your valued review received. We are always delighted to hear about return guests who continue to enjoy their time spend on the Estate. With a dedicated all round team and a chef who continues to prepare exceptional dishes we are sure that Cavalli will remain at top of your favourite list for a long time to come.We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Babbejan
Antwerp, Belgium
27 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“What a place!”
During our yearly visits over the past years we have somehow missed Cavalli and what a great pity this is. Beautiful setting, delicious food and exceptional service.Can highly recommend this place.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavalliteam, Office Administrator at Cavalli Restaurant, responded to this review.
Good Day,Thank you for your valued review received. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. As you rightly stated our restaurant offers stunning views over our dam and the surrounding vineyards and mountains. Add to that delicious food, wine and excellent service and you have a perfect spot for a leisurely lunch or dinner.We hope to welcome you back to Cavalli again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall CLRB854
London, United Kingdom
27 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Hidden gem.....”
We found Cavalli by accident last year having believed it focussed purely on equestrian events and breeding.However, it has so much more to offer - fabulous artworks and a truly excellent restaurant with lovely and peaceful views.The staff are very welcoming, experienced, knowledgeable and friendly.The food is excellent and the menu offers a great choice with some lovely wines.Highly recommended and definitely on our return list!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavalliteam, Office Administrator at Cavalli Restaurant, responded to this review.
Good Day,Thank you for your valued review received. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us.You are right in saying that Cavalli offers something for everyone - our equestrian centre, restaurant, wine tasting room, art gallery and boutique provides the ideal spot for a relaxed afternoon or evening meal. Our team of chefs pride themselves on providing interesting and delicious menu options, which makes a return visit a must!We hope to welcome you back to Cavalli again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Compass801189
Stellenbosch, South Africa
22 Jan 2020

“Service and food are exceptional!!”
Service and food are exceptional. Also, the Fine Dine Vegan dishes were second to none. I just fell in love with this special place.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavalliteam, Office Administrator at Cavalli Restaurant, responded to this review.
Good Day,Thank you for your valued review received. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Our team of chefs strives therein to cater to everyones dietary preferences and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the vegan dishes on offer. We definitely pass your compliments along to them.We hope to welcome you back to Cavalli again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ianwarnes7

21 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“The attentiveness to detail from all the staff was something to behold”
We started off with wine tasting.The area downstairs from the rest rooms to the wine tasting room itself, the whiskey collection with its interesting assortment of memorabilia was something to behold.The service was friendly and polite.The restaurant setting,even on a rainy day was light and the views magnificent.The waitron was friendly and efficient and both food and wine were excellent.It was a rainy day and a small log fire was burning.When it got slightly "stuffy" we brought it to the attention of the Manager who after opening the top windows came to check if the change was to our satisfaction.Pricing was reasonable and in line with what is to be expected from establishments like this.A magnificent advert for the so called lesser known Somerset West wine route,and the Cape in general.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavalliteam, Office Administrator at Cavalli Restaurant, responded to this review.
Good Day Ian,Greetings from Cavalli and thank you for your valued review received. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. You are right in saying that Cavalli offers more than just excellent food and wines - our Art Gallery, Boutique and sports memorabilia collection caters to everyones taste and provides the ideal getaway destination on a rainy day. I will pass your compliments regarding the service and quality of food along to our chefs and restaurant team. We hope to welcome you back to Cavalli again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall sheila112015
Somerset West, South Africa
21 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Top dining experience”
We had lunch at Cavalli for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed the entire afternoon. The menu offered interesting dishes to choose from including several vegan options.Each dish is priced individually allowing you to select whatever you fancy without being obliged to take a 2 course or 3 course meal at at fixed price.The food was excellently prepared and beautifully presented. The service was top and this is what we expect from a top restaurant and is not always the case at other comparable establishments. There is a wide wine selection offered from various wine estates. If you like a full bodied red, then I can recommend "Warlord" produced by Cavalli Wine Estate itself...a real treat.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavalliteam, Office Administrator at Cavalli Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear Sheila,Greetings from Cavalli and thank you for your valued review received. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us. Head Chef Michael Deg and his team pride themselves on providing unique dishes and catering to the various dietary requirements of guests. Thank you also for your compliments regarding the outstanding service you received - I will pass this along to the rest of the team as well.We hope to welcome you back to Cavalli in the near future again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Cavalli Restaurant
Book a Table
Contact Cavalli Restaurant
Contact Us
Address
Cavalli Wine & Stud Farm
R44, Strand Road
Somerset West
7130

 

View map
Food Served
ContemporaryFine DiningGlobal/InternationalSeafood
Average Price$$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Lunch
Wednesday - Sunday: 12:00 - 14:30
Dinner
Wednesday - Saturday: 18:00 - 21:30
Please note the Estate is closed on Monday - Tuesday.
Facilities
Functions
Fireplace
Secure Parking
Disabled
Outside Seating
Weddings
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT