Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall patrickwQ8322XL

10 Apr 2019

“Never in my life”
Worst and most bizarre restaurant experience ever. One plate of food was brought at a time and 3 people were always without food while 1 person was eating... Considering we ordered a mix of various plates the lunch took us 2 hrs. We were the only customers there. It was shocking and no apology from anyone. Would definitely not recommend this restaurant to anybody.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiY406, Owner at Tomo Japanese restaurant, responded to this review.
Good Morning PatrckWe, at Tomo, are very saddened by your recent experience at our Restaurant. The delay was because we were short staffed after one of our chefs had a family emergency to attend to but lunch so busy according to our back office data,,,We now realise we should have communicated with our customers on the possible delay. I can assure your next visit with us will be worthy of 5 stars!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall CLJ_DK
Copenhagen, Denmark
03 Apr 2019

“Brilliant!”
Walked past this place that didn’t look like much From the outside, but don’t let the looks fool you. I’m used to some very good sushi back home, and this place could easily fit in. Great, great sushi! Highly recommended
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall SiegfriedK167

26 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Disappointing”
Unfortunately the lunch we had at Tomo today was very disappointing, and certainly at odds with most of the reviews on TripAdvisor. The Miso soup was far too salty, the dumplings tasted like rubber, and the rice of the California roll was overcooked and as a result tasted stodgy. The only positives were good, friendly service and a simple interior that did evoke a traditional Japanese restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiY406, Owner at Tomo Japanese restaurant, responded to this review.
Hi Therewe apologize for salty Miso soup due comi chef made mistake, kitchen manager also not on duty by the time,we will definitely improve our food quality for lunch menu and you are more than welcome to back to Tomo shop to rate our food and service.David Yanowner / executive chef
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall STayobZA
Goettingen, Germany
19 Jan 2019

Food
Service
“Great ambience, amazing food”
Wonderful service, pleasant atmosphere, simple decor, sushi amazingly fresh and flavourful. Definitely try the Miso soup, sushi, and Salmon-Miso Yuanyaki,
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Gmiller2510

10 Jan 2019

“Superb”
Brilliant food with a great menu. The decor is simple and the ambience is lovely and welcoming. Highly recommended!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall emma b
Freetown
04 Nov 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Beautiful food and ambience”
Best Miso soup I have ever had. Come here instead of Haiku down the road. Nice - not showy or overbearing like so many restos in CPT - staff.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MauricioZ178
Panama City, Panama
03 Nov 2018

“Best japanease in capetown”
Very traditional sushi and dumplings, they specialize in dumplings, so don’t forget to try them. Tuna Sashimi was great!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall gregsD3442WQ
Cape Town Central, South Africa
20 Oct 2018

“Do yourself a favor.... So much flavor”
What a great night. Wife and I attended Tomo for dinner. Ambience and vibe interesting and authentic. Menu extensive and varied. Food was exceptional. Bento Box a wine and deep fried tofu (Agedashi tofu) with umami broth was highlight of evening. Black sesame ice cream very good. Service was average - had trainee waitron who did not menu at all. That aside really great night out and would highly definitely recommend. Will be back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee Z, 经理 at Tomo Japanese restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you for your comment, we will do more training for our stuffs and next time they will give good service for you. Hope see you again!Tomo Japanese restaurant team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall eugene0110
Sydney, Australia
27 Sep 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great Japanese food, run by real Japanese chef”
Great experience :). I was born in Japan and have ben there about 20 times so well versed in good Japanese food. Happy to say that the food was excellent, the quality of ingredients was great and would highly recommend.The `tomo sashimi' is excellent and was my favourite dish.One negative: due to the poor seafood market in Cape Town, Line Fish and Tuna weren't available. Whilst this isn't a reflection on the restaurant (more a reflection on the fact the head chef won't buy substandard ingredients), I would temper expectations on a huge variety of seafood. Quality Japanese restaurants just won't serve it unless it's very fresh.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 86nicob
George, South Africa
01 Sep 2018

“Local products, Japanese inspired”
I like to try new venues and restaurant as a departure point. With the lack of good Japanese restaurant, I shall definitely go back to Tomo. As the ingredients is locally sourced the prices is fair and do not lack the Japanese inspiration. The fish is fresh and not frozen as with most imported products. Chef Michael is a gem . Tomo would go to the next level as soon as they have there liquor license with some Sake and my absolute favorite Japanese Whisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Tomo Japanese Restaurant
Book a Table
Contact Tomo Japanese Restaurant
Contact Us
Address
86 Loop Street
Cnr Loop and Shortmarket Streets
Cape Town

 

View map
Food Served
JapaneseAsian
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30
Facilities
Take Out
Child Friendly
Functions
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT