Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall HippoTraveller_11
Cape Town Central, South Africa
09 Oct 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Beautiful setting”
Sorry to read the negative reviews, as we had a wonderful lunch yesterday. Finally we have a place in Hermanus that caters for children. Playground, putt putt, large grass area and a kiddies menu. Beautiful setting with views of the lagoon area. Great wine and the service was excellent!!!!!!!!!! We will definitely recommend this to all our guests and friends. Well done Penny and the rest of your team!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PStreeter, Owner at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you for your great review. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us, we have put in a lot of effort to ensure we cater for everyone. We appreciate the recommendation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall maureenrussell2016
Pringle Bay, South Africa
05 Oct 2018

“Fabulous lunch and pontoon cruise”
7 of us had lunch which was wonderful followed by an amazing pontoon cruise. Benguela Cove such an asset to the area, we have visited many times and brought friends who have all really enjoyed the experience. Beautiful location and furnishings stunning. One thing which may need to be changed at some point is the light lunch menu. Wr have now tried everything on the menu over the last few months so it may be time for a change! Really liked everything though!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PStreeter, Owner at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed the pontoon experience and our restaurant. You will be pleased to know we have just updated the light lunch menu for summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall libra042018
Onrus, South Africa
04 Oct 2018

“Superb Setting, Service and Style!”
What an absolute pleasant experience for my birthday lunch! From the time we arrived till we paid our bill. Very attentive waiter, Clarence and the restaurant manager/host made sure our every wish and request was attended to. Ideal setting for any occasion. Safe surroundings for families to enjoy and the scenery and decor is exquisite- we didn’t want to leave! Next time we’ll try the Free boat cruise and linger for a few more cocktails while the sun sets!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PStreeter, Owner at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
We are glad had a pleasant birthday lunch with us and it is especially nice to hear that you had such good service. Please come back and visit us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Johan B
Pretoria, South Africa
24 Sep 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Opportunity missed”
What a fantastic setting, just to be spoiled by poor service and even worst food. The so-called French chef believes in giving you a heap of cauliflower mash and two small pieces of pork belly belly and then call it "French cuisine". The vegetarian dish was even worse and even the hake was terrible. None of us finished our meal. We made a booking, and when we arrived our table was not prepared. It had to be cleaned as the host complained that they were very busy over the long weekend - half the restaurant was empty!. The Zimbabwean waiter did his best and we enjoyed his enthusiasm. We will visit again - to have the cheese platter. Difficult to mess that one up. As for the restaurant - get another host and another chef, then we'll be back. You have such a beautiful setting but still so much to learn about running a restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PStreeter, Owner at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience at our restaurant, we vary our menu to include light items during the day moving to more fine dining in the evening. It isn't acceptable for your table not to be ready and we have now addressed the problems and staffing issues and we hope you will try us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 232Harald
The Netherlands
21 Sep 2018

“Amazing food!!!”
We had a Fantastic night at Moody Lagoon restaurant, the service was great, the food amazing the chef maken really rich food, So I would not go for dessert Because the starters are fenomenoon!!! We Will be back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PStreeter, Owner at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
So glad to hear you enjoyed the food and we will be pleased to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Trudi102
Hermanus, South Africa
31 Aug 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Two course Light Lunch Menu”
On the website it is advertised that the "Week days special on Thursday" when ordering two courses includes a glass of bubbly free. We had to send the waitress back twice before the manager said it is o.k. ! The mussels in white wine sauce were overcooked but the sauce was very nice indeed. The choice of sweets for the winter is very small: all three were sorbets and the cheese cake was dry with unripe guavas and (for elderly guests) the caramelised popcorn is too hard and indigestible. I sugest a warm/oven pudding for winter.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PStreeter, Owner at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
So sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience when you visited our restaurant. We do take your feedback on board and I hope if you visit us again you will have an much better overall experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Chris_Wray9
Cape Town, South Africa
22 Aug 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Beautiful Food, Beautiful Place”
We have been here a couple of times now. and it is classy inside and out. What a beautifully designed place. The whole visit is an experience and we absolutely love it. The people are friendly and know what they are doing and that is a big plus! The waiter who's name is Brilliant even remembered us from the previous time which added a personal feel.The food was very good and well cooked. It is just a bit rich for my liking. We had the burger and pulled brisket which were both perfectly cooked. The sauces are just extremely rich.Overall, Benguela Cove is incredibly beautiful and classy for a day out. It is quite far from the main towns but is worth the effort. We will definitely be going back!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny S, Owner at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you for taking the time to review Moody Lagoon. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall leonidasm131
Cape Town, South Africa
13 Aug 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Stop for Breakfast , Brunch or Lunch”
Great place to break your journey for a leasurly meal or wine or olive oil tasting in quiet surroundings . Beautiful dining area inside and outside . Warm reception , friendly service and well managed with a great menu and very reasonable prices .Anything from oysters to burgers available . Most enjoyable.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny S, Owner at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
I am so glad you stopped at Benguela cove and that you enjoyed your visit with us. We aim to offer a variety of experiences suitable for the whole family and I hope you will visit us again soon and stay for longer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall OldButNew
Hermanus, South Africa
02 Aug 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Serious problems here........”
Clarens the waiter produced the rather limited food menu and wine list and gave his recommendation of lamb shank with accompanying vegetables. A few minutes later after asking Clarens once again for the lamb shank description we subsequently ordered his recommendation with a Syrah in the absence of a Merlot.When the meals were served, we immediately recognised that the lamb shank was curried - something that Clarens had not mentioned at all in his two verbal descriptions. Firstly, I can only tolerate mild curries - a classification into which this fortunately qualified - and secondly I would have selected a different wine. Further, the portion/bone size/length was in excess of the small dimensions of the deep bowl in which they were served thus cutting the meat and finding the accompanying vegetables underneath was more difficult than it would have been in a larger and more shallow bowl/dish. After finishing our meal we waited longer than is the norm - certainly with only six tables in the whole restaurant taken - for our plates to be cleared, in full view of the lady manager who had been standing and talking to a single customer at the next table for nearly an hour. The fact that she was standing in direct line of our view out over the lagoon was most irritating. The manageress then approached us to inform that she wished to advise us - subsequent to our comment to Clarens about her incessant talking - that "he is a potential client". I immediately replied by stating that we are existing clients as are the other five tables and therefore we warranted her attention if not more than a potential client and a single cup of coffee and nearly one hour of conversation - a time period to which she did not contest. I stated that if she was doing her job she would have attended our table and we would have informed her of the problem with the curried meal and wine selection thus repeating our complaint previously given to Clarens. This may have given her the opportunity to offer a different main course or wine - but nothing. She apologised and confirmed that the lamb shank is always curried - but as first-time visitors how were we to know? Her continued defense of her hour-long conversation was infuriating and insulting. In conclusion: The food produced was not as described by Clarens and his service was not to standard as on two occasions I had to ask for the table to be cleared properly. The service by the manageress to all tables was non-existent - and her resulting comments and behaviour towards us were unacceptable. The total experience was atrocious, and we shall not be visiting the restaurant again. I wrote immediately to the management and have subsequently had a discussion whereby they acknowledged that they had problems.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny S, Owner at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit with us, but I am glad to hear that you spoke to one of our managers regarding the issues you had. We will take your comments on board and seek to improve our overall service offering.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Sven W
Hout Bay, South Africa
29 Jul 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Christmas in July”
We had the " Christmas in July" four course lunch. Amazing food. Well prepared, very professional service. Delicious ingredients. I can strongly recommend this restaurant.As for the Wine,,,which is not part of the review but should be said,....I think its quite a pricy wine estate. There a better or just s good wines in Stellenbosch for far lower price,....
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila B, Guest Relations at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you Sven W for your positive reviews about our food and service.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Moody Lagoon @ Benguela Cove
Book a Table
Contact Moody Lagoon @ Benguela Cove
Contact Us
Address
Benguela Cove Lagoon Wine Estate
R43, Bot River Lagoon
Walker Bay, Hermanus
7200

 

View map
Food Served
FrenchGlobal/International
Average Price$$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Sunday: 08:00 - 15:00
Monday - Wednesday: 12:00 - 15:00
Thursday: 12:00 - 21:00
Friday: 12:00 - 21:00
Saturday: 08:00 - 21:00
Facilities
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
Functions
Wi-Fi
Weddings
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT