Call
Email
Website
Weather
Online Booking
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Di M

17 Feb 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“A birthday lunch on a beautiful day for 6 friends”
The setting has a wonderful view over the Bitou lagoon. We sat outside and were treated to a delicious lunch by very attentive staff. The wines we requested were not available but the the sauvignon blanc and rose we had instead were excellent. A delightful interlude.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Andrew S
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
15 Feb 2018

“A perfect valentines evening”
The welcome with a rose and champagne in this awesome dining room was great. The menu was very carefully thought out and balanced and was clever well presented fine diningThe chef and her team put on the most wonderful inventive food displays .Within two years this will be a landmark restaurant in the western cape.The downside at the moment - poor signage, huge space taking up to 200 covers inside and out and if only 14 of you lacks the mood but this is a big investment for the future so a small price to pay. Will definitely become a regular port of call
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Cas_Da_Silva2013
Cape Town
13 Feb 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Phenomenal afternoon!”
My husband and I decided to treat our parents to a lunch and some wine, we booked at Benguela Cove expecting a normal wine farm look & feel. What we were met with was above and beyond our expectations! The entire cove has been renovated, refurnished and is an inviting and relaxed environment. The food is incredible and they have different menus for different times of the day. The wine, is even better :) My mom wasn't sure what red wine she'd like, so the waiter poured tasters of each red wine for her to make her decision from -- amazing! You never get that kind of service in Cape Town. A definite place to visit for breakfast, lunch, dinner or loads of wine --- I'll definitely be back!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JMBFDublin
Dublin
12 Feb 2018

“Great location”
Had a lovely family dinner here. The food was tasty and service was attentive. A new restaurant and one that can only improve.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Georgia B
Diss, United Kingdom
11 Feb 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“A delicious evening”
Moody Lagoon was recommended to us by a Hermanus local who said we shouldn't miss it even though it was a bit away from town. We were delighted that we did try it.The staff are very attentive and are fun to interact with. Andreas, our waiter, proved to be a delightful professional and we enjoyed talking with Jack the manager, as well. The food is very interesting...not same old, same old. We tried 3 different starters and especially enjoyed the smoked pork loin combination. For main courses both the fish and the steak were delicious and were offered with interesting presentations. Desserts had to be shared a we had eaten every bit of the other two courses, but were also interesting. The one main criticism is that due to the design of the restaurant it is extremely loud at the height of dinner service. The background music doesn't help as it had a lot of bass. This would be something to work on but in spite of the loudness the overall experience was delightful. Try this new restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Per S
Kristiansand, Norway
10 Feb 2018

“Reasonable prices - friendly staff”
Having followed developments at Benguela for some years, we tried Moody Lagoon for the first time after having done wine tasting there some weeks earlier. Great atmosphere, lovely art and friendly staff as expected. And the food? Good, but more spices could be added. Benguela wines are excellent. We opted for the 2017 SB and the 2014 Shiraz, both good value for money. We will be back!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 123HC

31 Jan 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Beautiful Setting, Delicious Food and Friendly Staff”
Tried Moody Lagoon for the first time yesterday and we were not disappointed. I must say, I'm quite surprised at the negative reviews I've just read regarding the staff and prices, as we found the staff (at the restaurant and tasting room) very attentive and felt that at ±R1500 for 5 people (which included 2 bottles of wine, 3 starters, 4 mains, 3 sides and 3 desserts) it was excellent value for money. The setting out on the stoep is absolutely beautiful and we loved the friendly little ducks who waddled between the tables. (I was also really pleased to see that there was no duck on the menu, as I doubt anyone would be able to order/eat this with these cuties around.) As a vegan who hadn't made any special arrangements with the restaurant in advance, I was a bit worried that I wouldn't be able to eat anything, but their vegetable pakora with hummus and generous side dish of greens (broccoli, green beans, mange tout) in lemon vinaigrette was delicious and filling. Others in my party really enjoyed all their dishes as well, but the carpaccio and mussel starters, the grilled fish and the peanut butter cheesecake in particular. Overall a fantastic experience, and we'll definitely be back!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall lincpao
Chappaqua, New York
30 Jan 2018

“Excellent Wines & Food”
Excellent Sommelier that speaks English & French. Surprisingly, also Mandarin. The food was excellent. The Collage blend was excellent on par with Bordeaux and Napa.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Thea R
Durban, South Africa
20 Jan 2018

“Brand new & Beautiful”
So worth stopping at this brand new spot for Breakfast, Lunch or supper. Setting and decor is beautiful and relaxing and enjoyed the very friendly ducks that come into the restaurant to greet you and share your left overs Service wonderful. Had a real devine meal. Menu is not big but they do have a variety. Work is still in progress to complete this beautiful project so will be back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 88LondonLady
Cape Town, South Africa
14 Jan 2018

“Excellent restaurant in every way”
This month we have been to the Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove on two occasions both for dinner in the evening. The first time was as a couple and the second time as a group of 7 friends. Both experiences were excellent in every way. We like many others had been to the pop-up restaurant when it was in the Manor House and the food in the Moody Lagoon is definitely up to the same very high standard. The food tastes delicious and is beautifully presented. The wines are also excellent and can all be bought by the glass if you want to try a few. The staff are friendly, welcoming and attentive, and it is very professionally run. The new restaurant is large but beautifully designed and the views of the lagoon and the sunset are second to none in the Overberg. By far the best dining experience in the area and yes it is a little more expensive but you get what you pay for.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny S, Owner at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you for taking the time to review Moody Lagoon and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience on both occasions. The team although relatively new are working hard to ensure that the guest experience whilst visiting Benguela Cove matches the beautiful estate. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Address
Benguela Cove Lagoon Wine Estate
R43, Bot River Lagoon
Walker Bay, Hermanus
7200

 

View map
Food Served
FrenchGlobal/International
Average Price$$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Sunday: 08:00 - 15:00
Monday - Wednesday: 12:00 - 15:00
Thursday: 12:00 - 21:00
Friday: 12:00 - 21:00
Saturday: 08:00 - 21:00
Facilities
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
Functions
Wi-Fi
Weddings
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT