Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall OldButNew
Hermanus, South Africa
02 Aug 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Serious problems here........”
Clarens the waiter produced the rather limited food menu and wine list and gave his recommendation of lamb shank with accompanying vegetables. A few minutes later after asking Clarens once again for the lamb shank description we subsequently ordered his recommendation with a Syrah in the absence of a Merlot.When the meals were served, we immediately recognised that the lamb shank was curried - something that Clarens had not mentioned at all in his two verbal descriptions. Firstly, I can only tolerate mild curries - a classification into which this fortunately qualified - and secondly I would have selected a different wine. Further, the portion/bone size/length was in excess of the small dimensions of the deep bowl in which they were served thus cutting the meat and finding the accompanying vegetables underneath was more difficult than it would have been in a larger and more shallow bowl/dish. After finishing our meal we waited longer than is the norm - certainly with only six tables in the whole restaurant taken - for our plates to be cleared, in full view of the lady manager who had been standing and talking to a single customer at the next table for nearly an hour. The fact that she was standing in direct line of our view out over the lagoon was most irritating. The manageress then approached us to inform that she wished to advise us - subsequent to our comment to Clarens about her incessant talking - that "he is a potential client". I immediately replied by stating that we are existing clients as are the other five tables and therefore we warranted her attention if not more than a potential client and a single cup of coffee and nearly one hour of conversation - a time period to which she did not contest. I stated that if she was doing her job she would have attended our table and we would have informed her of the problem with the curried meal and wine selection thus repeating our complaint previously given to Clarens. This may have given her the opportunity to offer a different main course or wine - but nothing. She apologised and confirmed that the lamb shank is always curried - but as first-time visitors how were we to know? Her continued defense of her hour-long conversation was infuriating and insulting. In conclusion: The food produced was not as described by Clarens and his service was not to standard as on two occasions I had to ask for the table to be cleared properly. The service by the manageress to all tables was non-existent - and her resulting comments and behaviour towards us were unacceptable. The total experience was atrocious, and we shall not be visiting the restaurant again. I wrote immediately to the management and have subsequently had a discussion whereby they acknowledged that they had problems.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Sven W
Hout Bay, South Africa
29 Jul 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Christmas in July”
We had the " Christmas in July" four course lunch. Amazing food. Well prepared, very professional service. Delicious ingredients. I can strongly recommend this restaurant.As for the Wine,,,which is not part of the review but should be said,....I think its quite a pricy wine estate. There a better or just s good wines in Stellenbosch for far lower price,....
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila B, Guest Relations at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you Sven W for your positive reviews about our food and service.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Jan H
Cape Town
22 Jul 2018

“Amazing experience”
From the lovely and entertaing maitre’d, Charon, friendly and helpful staff, delicous food and beautiful setting, by far the absolute best I’ve ever experienced. A must do if you’re in Hermanus or Kleinmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila B, Guest Relations at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
We are pleased that you had a wonderful experience and we hope to see you again for more delicious food, helpful staff and beautiful views.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ivanmare
Hermanus, South Africa
27 Jun 2018

“Fantastic Venue with great food”
We visited the Moody Lagoon for lunch and was really impressed. The Service was excellent, the food great but the venue is really impressive. It is a wonderful place to visit, kids and adults can enjoy the putt putt coarse and taste the wide range of wines.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owain J, General Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you ivanmare for sharing your review on us! We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your lunch and time with us. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall jack t
Cape Town Central, South Africa
18 Jun 2018

“Father's Day”
An excellent meal with appropriate choices, delicious taste and good servings. The Chardonnay topped off the whole experience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owain J, General Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you jack t for sharing your special day with us! We are delighted that you loved our menu and had a wonderful time. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MartinDDubai
Dubai
17 Jun 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Breakfast, no thanks...”
We (4 locals, 4 overseas guests, 5 kids) arrived for breakfast just after 10am and asked waiter if the breakfast menu with kids friendly food (eggs on toast) was still an option. Despite positive earlier confirmation, 30 min later still no breakfast and chef decided that they would only serve from the more sophisticated brunch menu. That took another 45 min to be served (the restaurant was not busy at all with only 4 tables occupied). Disappointing experience and unfortunately not the first time (last time the waiter insisted that they only serve tea & scones for breakfast).We have had some very pleasant lunches at Moody Lagoon, however, the breakfast offering is below average and will hopefully improve.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owain J, General Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you MartinDDubai for taking the time to share your review on us. I have been made aware of your experience as well and I have addressed your feedback with our team to ensure that situations like this do not happen again. I apologise that you did you not have a good experience with us yesterday, and I trust your next visit will exceed your expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MargotGlyn
Johannesburg, South Africa
15 Jun 2018

“Lunch”
Delicious gourmet lunch and wonderful views. Excellent service by Clarence! This restaurant deserves a good rating. A 20 minute drive from Hermanus. The trip is great, the wine is good. All in all, a worthwhile experience!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owain J, General Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you MargotGlyn for your wonderful review and reference to Clarence. We are so pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MrBirman
Sandton, South Africa
09 Jun 2018

“Outstanding restaurant”
We had an outstanding lunch at this beautiful restaurant and received excellent service from the staff - we highly recommend this venue for those discerning culinary foodies- excellent value for money - try their 2014 Cab-Sav - outstanding - keep up the great work guys !Derek & Bernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owain J, General Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you Derek & Bernard for the fantastic review! We look forward to hosting you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Tammy B
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
03 Jun 2018

“Sunday Funday!”
My parents, my husband and myself spent an amazing Sunday at Benguela Cove, ending with a magnificent lunch at Moody Lagoon.The restaurant was relatively busy but the waiters were calm and worked well as a team. The manager was visibly involved and popped past our table more than once.The setting, layout and decor is gorgeous and while it is fine dining, we didn't feel the atmosphere was stuffy, instead it felt inviting and perfect for a lazy Sunday lunch.The food was superb, and we ended our meal sharing a serving of the apple crumble and a portion of the chocolate fondant. The fondant alone will inspire me to go back!All in all the experience at the property was wonderful, and it certainly made for a Sunday Funday.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owain J, General Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you TammyB for the wonderful review! We are delighted you loved your visit with us and I will be sure to pass on your great review to our manager, as well as our Head Chef. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall GlobalTrendSetter

19 May 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Early Days”
First impressions were good.Clearly there has been a significant investment.Prices were reasonable.However, five of us came for breakfast and five of us left disappointed with the Quality and Service. Ordered three egg omelette and got was resembled three fried eggs in the shape of the pan. The spinach, feta and chorizo combination did not help as it made the dish rather liquid.Did advise waiter I was not happy and the cost was deducted.Coffee experience could also be better. Disappointing flat white.Will put it down to it being early days and do hope things improve. Will give Benguela another try next time in Onrus.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owain J, General Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
We are disappointed you did not enjoy your experience with us GlobalTrendSetter and we thank you for wanting to give us another chance in the near future. We rarely receive such negative feedback and we do take it very seriously. We look forward to hosting you again and trust you will have a much more pleasant time with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Moody Lagoon @ Benguela Cove
Book a Table
Contact Moody Lagoon @ Benguela Cove
Contact Us
Address
Benguela Cove Lagoon Wine Estate
R43, Bot River Lagoon
Walker Bay, Hermanus
7200

 

View map
Food Served
FrenchGlobal/International
Average Price$$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Sunday: 08:00 - 15:00
Monday - Wednesday: 12:00 - 15:00
Thursday: 12:00 - 21:00
Friday: 12:00 - 21:00
Saturday: 08:00 - 21:00
Facilities
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
Functions
Wi-Fi
Weddings
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT