Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Julian R
Cape Town, South Africa
09 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Lovely Lunch with Spectacular View”
We stopped in at Benguela Cove for a light lunch on our way to Stanford and ate at their Moody Lagoon.The restaurant offers a superb view of the Lagoon and our table was perfectly situated to take full advantage of this. Wow!The menu is divided into Light Meals and Mains and we both chose: the Beer battered fish and chips, tartar sauce and pickled cucumber. The batter was light and crisp and looking at the sea while eating fresh fish is one of life's simple pleasures.With it I had a glass of Benguela Cove Semillon/Sauvignon Blanc which went superbly with the fish, and on its own was delicious.The service we received was quite superb and the staff are friendly and superbly trained. What a pleasure.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benguelacove, Marketing Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
Hi Julian,Thank you very much for your wonderful review.We are delighted you enjoyed the experience and look forward to your next visitKeep well until then.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 76onMarine
Hermanus, South Africa
06 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Absymal, expensive Brunch”
On New Year's Day we looked forward to a celebratory, special time at R650.00 per person.. This was neither .. the only cheer offered was a Mimosa on arrival. Subsequent glasses of MCC were charged at R110 per glass from their own vineyard. The unappetizing buffet, somewhat disorganised mainly consisted of , I assume, leftovers from the evening before.Loud Dixieland music, inappropriate for the occasion made conversation impossible.Such a disapointment for our Supper Club who are very supportive of our local restaurants and appreciate well prepared meals.I sent an e-mail advising the above and received a non commital response from the M.D.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Justatravellingfoody
Cape Town, South Africa
02 Jan 2019

“NYE - excellent food / poor DJ”
Attended the NYE function and found this venue to be stunning. The food was excellent and service attentive. Only criticism was the DJ that was jumping between genres and couldn’t read his audience. A good night out non the less .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benguelacove, Marketing Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
Thank you very much for your great review its most appreciated.We are delighted you enjoy the night out, and have certainly noted the feedback regarding the DJ.We hope to see you again soon and look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall TonyM230600
Somerset West, South Africa
01 Jan 2019

“A culinary experience to die for”
Thank you so much for your hospitality. We went for lunch at Moody Lagoon, and it exceeded all our expectations. The attention to detail, the presentation, modern setting and excellent service really made the drive out to Benguela well worth it. Well done Chef Annie & Team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benguelacove, Marketing Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
Wow, thank you very much for your great review, its greatly appreciated.We hope to see you again soon and look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Zandarella
Cape Town, South Africa
31 Dec 2018

“Our new favourite spot !”
What a remarkable restaurant, we were greeted by such knowledgeable, friendly and attentive staff, followed by delicious food.It was definitely worth the little drive from Cape Town, the beer battered fish n chips were out of this world, and my steak during brunch at our second visit was cooked to absolute perfection. It has become our family's new favourite spot and we are already planning our next visit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benguelacove, Marketing Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
Wow, thank you very much for your great review, its greatly appreciated.We hope to see you again soon and look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall leemoon2014
Durban, South Africa
31 Dec 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Hugely disappointing - Christmas lunch”
We booked in advance for 2nd sitting Christmas lunch. Beside the total chaos of getting us seated, and trying to get someone to serve us drinks the rest was downhill from there.The starters saved the day because everything else was a huge disappointment.The vegetables were inedible, overcooked, soggy potatoes.The meat was all buffet style and overcooked and tasteless. Dessert was non existent. Melting ice cream, overcooked Malva and very little other choice. For the huge expense of R600 per head, I would definitely not go back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benguelacove, Marketing Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
Hi there,Thank you for your review its greatly appreciated.It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your experience and that we failed to meet your expectation on this occasion. We appreciate any feedback and will certainly take your review into consideration and review with the team, and hopefully your next experience exceeds your expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall michaelf8919

30 Dec 2018

“Disappointing”
We visited Benguela Cove on 29 Dec - huge disappointment. Service was shocking - 45 minutes before our order was taken and mediocre food. The restaurant was unable to cope with large number of patrons - more staff was needed so clearly management got the numbers wrong. Wine tasting was a better experience. So if you’re planning to visit Benguela Cove during the festive season, be prepared for a long wait!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall FVZ-Cape

26 Dec 2018

“Always nice”
We visit Onrus Hermanus every month and Benguela is always on the list . Very good wine and good food . Setting is good and service great . A must visit . See you soon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benguelacove, Marketing Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
Wow, thank you very much for your great review its most appreciated. We hope to see you again soon and look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall B3029CZcathyb
Johannesburg, South Africa
25 Dec 2018

“Delicious Lunch”
Excellent, delicious lunch and wine, wonderful setting atmosphere! Always a winner! Highly recommended for locals and tourists!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benguelacove, Marketing Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
Wow, thank you very much for your great review its most appreciated. We hope to see you again soon and look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Yegas
Port Shepstone, South Africa
23 Dec 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“LUXE SCENIC LAGOON DINING”
Our lunch choice at the Moody Lagoon delivered with exacting service and interestingly balanced menu options. The restaurant is entrancingly multi—dimensioned, in design and construction, the inside brooding moodily with dark velvet hues and grandiose chandeliers fusing dapper modern finesse with high end appeal and then the less formally decked outdoor terrace commanding spectacular views of the Bot River Lagoon and beyond was visually punctual and equally poised for long lunches on a day filled with sunshine good laughs and natural bonhomie. I shall return when I am in the area.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benguelacove, Marketing Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
Wow, thank you very much for your great review its most appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience.We hope to see you again soon and look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Moody Lagoon @ Benguela Cove
Book a Table
Contact Moody Lagoon @ Benguela Cove
Contact Us
Address
Benguela Cove Lagoon Wine Estate
R43, Bot River Lagoon
Walker Bay, Hermanus
7200

 

View map
Food Served
FrenchGlobal/International
Average Price$$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Sunday: 08:00 - 15:00
Monday - Wednesday: 12:00 - 15:00
Thursday: 12:00 - 21:00
Friday: 12:00 - 21:00
Saturday: 08:00 - 21:00
Facilities
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
Functions
Wi-Fi
Weddings
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT