Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall GlobalTrendSetter

19 May 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Early Days”
First impressions were good.Clearly there has been a significant investment.Prices were reasonable.However, five of us came for breakfast and five of us left disappointed with the Quality and Service. Ordered three egg omelette and got was resembled three fried eggs in the shape of the pan. The spinach, feta and chorizo combination did not help as it made the dish rather liquid.Did advise waiter I was not happy and the cost was deducted.Coffee experience could also be better. Disappointing flat white.Will put it down to it being early days and do hope things improve. Will give Benguela another try next time in Onrus.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Christine7200
Hermanus, South Africa
17 May 2018

“Great location, great service”
This is a lovely location with great views across the lagoon. Wine tasting was a pleasant experience with friendly and knowledgeable staff. Our lunch in the adjacent restaurant was equally memorable. All in all, a great place to visit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owain J, General Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you Christine7200 for your lovely review - we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to hosting you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JulianShaw
Hermanus, South Africa
14 May 2018

“Amazing Mother’s Day”
We had the a la Carte menu for Mother’s Day, it was all fantastic, great atmosphere, great food and a waiter with knowledge and character! The setting is really beautiful and afterwards we went and played putt putt at the Pirate putt putt course, what fun, well made and well run, its gonna be packed through season!!! Well done all.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owain J, General Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
We are so pleased to receive such a wonderful review on such a special day - thank you for sharing JulianShaw! We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Indola
Upington, South Africa
09 May 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Entirely THANKFUN DAY at Benguela Cove”
Well my day started off with a wine tasting on arrival at 10am and a photoshoot I planned at the venue which was welcomed and supported ..thanks to Stephan at Management! The setting is so beautiful and spacious, even with a conference on the go we felt like we had the place to ourselves! Stunning wines were tasted and bought by my grape growing son-in-law from Kakamas, NCape while my two little granddaughters had some fun at Pirate Golf Cafe.I booked to dine the evening at the Moody Lagoon restaurant with my family and was treated to a surprise bottle of champers for my special day! The stylish setting was warm with fires burning while we were served by our friendly, efficient waiter, Blessed, and enjoyed mouth watering tasty dishes of pork belly, sirloin steak and vegetable gnocchi. Certainly will be coming back for more soon...seeing as we are lucky enough to stay close by!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owain J, General Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
What a wonderful review - thank you Indola! We trust your photos came out magnificently with us in your background. We are so pleased you had such a fantastic day with us and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Pa K

04 May 2018

“Mr”
Totally over pretentious and underwhelming. The empty restaurant proves the point.There is much better on the area.Think of alternatives, they are not difficult to find
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owain J, General Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
We are surprised by your review Pa K and can ensure you that we are proud of our venue, staff, restaurant and facilities - as highlighted by the many positive reviews we receive through a variety of channels. . We are disappointed that you have not elaborated on how we can make your next experience better and trust you will have a more positive experience with us should you visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall John B
Cape Town Central, South Africa
29 Apr 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Anniversary Delight”
Started with the oyster and wine pairing and what an absolute treat. The oysters were huge and delicious and the wines selected for each of the 4 dishes was spot on. Chardonnay and deep fried oysters were the favourite.The meal in the Moody Lagoon was really good, service was a little inattentive, but when he was at our table, he was great. Starters were good and the mains good too. Would have appreciated another cut, other than sirloin only.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owain J, General Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
We are so pleased you enjoyed our newly launched Oyster & Wine tasting John B! Thank you for your feedback on Moody Lagoon - we always take feedback seriously and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Eileen A

08 Apr 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Love the place!”
This was my third lunch visit to Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove and again it didnot dissappoint,A lovely welcoming fire was going as we arrived on a not so warm afternoon.As usual the food was delicious and beautifully presented. We ordered from both the a la Carte menu and the normal lunch menu and there wasa lot of variety to choose from.Friendly staff make this such a pleasant experience and the beauty of the surroundings just finish it all off. Highly recommended.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owain J, General Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
We are so delighted Eileen A that you once again you enjoyed your visit with us! Thank you for continuing to come back to us and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Man0fPr0perty
Cape Town, South Africa
05 Apr 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Dinner for four adults”
top notch food and service at the emerging winery which is clearly going places. Limited menu but superb with the pork belly simply magnificent and very good Benguela Cove Cap Classique bubbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owain J, General Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you for the wonderful review ManOfPr0perty. We will share your feedback with our chef Annie and look forward to hosting you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Willem B
Riviersonderend
05 Apr 2018

“Lunch with good friends”
We shared a wonderful 4 hour lunch and coffee with friends. Friendly and efficient staff. Good food, menu and wine. Excellent setting, with breathtaking views and beautiful architectural and landscaped features. Very relaxed venue, neat and ultra spacious.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owain J, General Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you Willem B for the great review - we look forward to seeing you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Barbieknight
Nottingham, United Kingdom
02 Apr 2018

“Must see”
Wow, what a spectacular venue. It is so stunning it takes your breath away.We only sampled the light lunch, which was great. However, we hope in the future to sample the full experience that is on offer. Well done to this new restaurant, we wish you well.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owain J, General Manager at Moody Lagoon at Benguela Cove, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you Barbieknight for the great review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Moody Lagoon @ Benguela Cove
Book a Table
Contact Moody Lagoon @ Benguela Cove
Contact Us
Address
Benguela Cove Lagoon Wine Estate
R43, Bot River Lagoon
Walker Bay, Hermanus
7200

 

View map
Food Served
FrenchGlobal/International
Average Price$$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Sunday: 08:00 - 15:00
Monday - Wednesday: 12:00 - 15:00
Thursday: 12:00 - 21:00
Friday: 12:00 - 21:00
Saturday: 08:00 - 21:00
Facilities
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
Functions
Wi-Fi
Weddings
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT