Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall ron_cameron7
Nairn, United Kingdom
23 Mar 2020

“Mont Rochelle hotel restaurant - first visit”
We have been coming to Franschhoek since 2013 and while we’ve often walked past the hotel we never considered dining there till this year. We had an absolutely fabulous experience with cocktails on the large patio overlooking the village then a beautiful table inside for our dinner. A lovely restaurant with great furniture and space and views. We went for the special wine pairing menu and were not disappointed. It’s pricey but worth it and the food and wine was excellent. The service and attention of Xavier the Manager was excellent. Our best meal this trip and we will be back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear ron_cameron7,I’m so happy that after all this time you decided to visit Miko restaurant and even happier to hear that you had a fabulous dining experience and it was the best meal you had during your trip. It means a lot to read all the positive comments you made, so thank you very much for taking the time to share.I’ll also be sure to pass on your feedback to Xavier and we look forward to your return in the future.Kind regards,James BassonGeneral Manager james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall PaulJ175
Woodbridge, England, United Kingdom
08 Mar 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Enjoyed It”
Went as part of our weeks trip to Franschoek and were not disappointed. The food was excellent as was then wine list. My wife is a big rose wine fan and she found some great choice on the menu. Food and service was great, but a bizarre choice of music in the restaurant which didn't really support a nice evening for mostly couples having an enjoyable dinner.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear PaulJ175,I’m so happy to hear that your recent visit to Miko was such an enjoyable one. Thank you for your lovely comments about the food, service and wine. I’m also pleased to hear that your wife found some great rose choices on the wine menu.Thank you for your feedback about the music being played in the background, I will certainly look into the selection currently being chosen, to ensure it is appropriate for our guests at all times.Kind regards,James BassonGeneral Manager james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 184sandiem
Durham, United Kingdom
05 Mar 2020

“Fabulous”
Husbands 70th Birthday ,so pleased we chose to go here,it’s amazing.We had a table outside for pre dinner drinks ,the views are fabulous,we then moved indoors for our meal,the staff were excellent from start to finish ,so attentive ,looked after us so well, Akhona ,such a joy ,such a lovely girl,all the staff were brilliant,the food was amazing ,the wine ,everything was top notch ,the restaurant is lovely overlooking those magnificent mountains, my hubby was presented with lovely little birthday dessert such a nice gesture.Thank you for making my husbands Birthday extra special.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear 184sandiem,We noted that it was not long before you returned from your previous visit! Thank you so much for choosing to spend your husband’s birthday at Miko Restaurant. We’re aware that there are many wonderful restaurants to choose from in the area; so we’re extremely grateful that you chose to dine with us. It makes me incredibly happy to know that the team were able to make his 70th such a memorable occasion and it was our absolute pleasure to add in some little extras to make it that much more special for him.Thank you once again.Kind regards,James BassonGeneral Manager james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Judy S
Bakewell, United Kingdom
04 Mar 2020

“Lovely restaurant with spectacular views”
Miko has had.mixed reviews on Tripadvisor but we had two delicious meals here. The views over Franschoek and the mountains are unsurpassed. We ate beef fillet, lamb noisettes and chicken - each dish full of flavour and perfectly cooked. The wine is more expensive than we found in other restaurants but if you order by the glass, the volume is generous, and the choice on the extensive list is excellent. Service is immaculate.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear Judy S,Thank you very much for sharing your lovely review. I couldn’t agree more that we are blessed with the most stunning views and I’m so happy to hear that the service and food lived up to expectations. We have a fantastic selection of award-winning wines and I’m delighted you were able to sample them by the glass.Kind regards,James BassonGeneral Manager james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 69albertz
Petersfield, United Kingdom
19 Feb 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great views and setting but poor food”
We really expected much more from a restaurant in such a good hotel. Food cooking and quality was average at best. My lamb was inedible. To be fair they did take off the puds of the bill and said they would remove the lamb option from the menu going forward. Should have been a bit wary when the waiter asked how hot I would like my lamb meaning how I would like it cooked; rare, medium. Also my glass of red Shiraz was very dull and was poured from the bottom 1/3 of a bottle with the natural cork as a stopper. I didn’t see any other takers for the wine at dinner and would be surprised that on a hot day it got used at lunch. From the lack of taste I suspect it was opened the night before and not properly stoppered using a vacuum stopper.Service was pleasant. Ambience for me was slightly spoilt by continuous 1970’ 80’s soft rock in the background, a slightly slower rhythm or change in vibe from time to time may have helped avoid a rock radio station feel.I emphasise hotel top notch just shame restaurant doesn’t match up.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear 69albertz, Thank you for sharing your valued feedback following your visit. Whilst I was happy to hear you enjoyed your stay overall as per your other review, I was sorry to read that your dining experience at Miko Restaurant failed to meet expectations. It sounds like we clearly fell short here in a number of areas and for that I’m extremely sorry. I’d really like the opportunity to speak with you about this in further detail directly, if you would be so kind to contact me at the email address below. Kind regards,James BassonGeneral Managerjames.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Nancy S
Aquitaine, France
19 Feb 2020

“So we were tired, but still....”
Lovely place at Mont Rochelle. Service was top notch and wine were delicious. The meal was a bit of a disappointment with the fish over cooked. After traveling for a few weeks in South Africa, I’ve learned this is not unique to Miko. I don’t know if it was our tiredness after a travel day or what, but dinner just didn’t compare to the quality of the breakfast served the next morning.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear Nancy S, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Whilst I was happy to hear you found many aspects of your stay with us to be enjoyable and we really appreciate your separate review for Mont Rochelle, I was sorry to read that your dining experience at Miko Restaurant did not live up to expectations. I’d really like the opportunity to speak with you about this in further detail directly, if you would be so kind to contact me at the email address below. Kind regards,James BassonGeneral Managerjames.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Vinny-The-Kid-UK
United Kingdom
11 Feb 2020

“Great views. Very average lunch.”
Popped in for a late lunch and enjoyed the views but thought the food was very average. Quite disappointing. squid starter was pleasant but the Miko sharing plater of various fried things was very disappointing. Shame.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear Vinny-The-Kid-UK,Thank you for sharing your valued feedback following your lunch visit. Whilst I was happy to hear you enjoyed the views, I was sorry to read that your experience at Miko Restaurant failed to meet expectations.I’d really like the opportunity to speak with you about this in further detail directly, if you would be so kind to contact me at the email address below.Kind regards,James BassonGeneral Manager james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Fashionista46
Stirling, United Kingdom
01 Feb 2020

“Disappointed beyond words”
Cancelled another restaurant tonight because of the great reviews in Miko, I wish I had stayed with my original booking......Basically, lovely young staff trying their very best but no training and no management, the food was average... it’s like they are trying to live off the Richard Branson name..... great setting yes... undeniable,but the management needs to be sorted out ....greet your guests, train your staff, make your customers feel they have arrived somewhere special, greet them by name...light the candle on their table, don’t forget their sauce with the main coarse, which comes with aplomb only to discover there is nothing in the jug.....come and talk about the wine on the estate, making sure we are fully informed....check up that they are happy throughout the meal.... stop pretending to be something your not.....pretend you even give a damn....
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear Fashionista46, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valued review and you certainly make some incredibly important points regarding customer service. I’m so sorry to hear Miko did not live up to these expectations, which by no means is indicative of our usual high standards. I’d really like the opportunity to speak with you about this in further detail directly, if you would be so kind to contact me at the email address below. Kind regards,James BassonGeneral Managerjames.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall PPdaSilva
Cape Town Central, South Africa
20 Jan 2020

“Great view , poor experience.”
Few weeks ago we had a great experience on country house restaurant.The Miko’s restaurant experience was far below expectations and not according with premises standards and prices. Limited menu.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear PPdaSilva,Thank you for sharing your feedback. Whilst I was delighted to hear that you had a great experience at Country Kitchen, I’m sorry to read that your experience at Miko Restaurant failed to meet expectations.I’d really like the opportunity to speak with you about this in further detail directly, if you would be so kind to contact me at the email address below.Kind regards,James BassonGeneral Manager james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall F7638VCnickg
London, United Kingdom
16 Jan 2020

“The Best View in Town”
Excellent food served by attentive staffHerbs from the garden extenuated the flavours of the dishesWe ate twice at this restaurant enjoying Snails. Prawns , Sea Bass and KudoStaff need further training in wine pairing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear 7638VCnickg,I know I’m biased but I couldn’t agree more about Mont Rochelle having the best view in town. It still manages to take my breath away every day and I feel very blessed to work in such a beautiful setting.Thank you so much for sharing your lovely feedback; it’s so wonderful when our guests take the time to show their appreciation for our homegrown herbs.We appreciate you sharing your constructive feedback about the wine pairing, we will certainly take these comments onboard to further enhance the wine pairing experience for future guests.Kind regards,James BassonGeneral Manager james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Miko @ Mont Rochelle Hotel
Book a Table
Contact Miko @ Mont Rochelle Hotel
Contact Us
Address
Dassenberg Road
Franschhoek
Western Cape
7690

 

View map
Food Served
Global/International
Average Price$$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Lunch:
Monday - Sunday: 12:00 - 15:00
Dinner:
Monday - Sunday: 19:00 - 22:00 (last orders 21:30)
Facilities
Child Friendly
Smoking Section
Functions
Fireplace
Secure Parking
Disabled
Outside Seating
Weddings
Accommodation
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2021 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT