Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Dean B

09 Feb 2019

“Smart setting and good food”
Really good food and excellent portions. I had the trout but looking at all the steaks going around they were huge and friends said they were all delicious. For the price you pay and for what you get including service I give it a 5 out of 5.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall CHARLESD757
London, United Kingdom
09 Feb 2019

“Great restaurant and superb food”
You can’t fault this restaurant. The venue,the food and the service are great . I highly recommend it. One of my best in South Africa!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall AdventureBecons
Johannesburg, South Africa
04 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Cuban. Really?”
Our first time visit. The service was excellent. Our Maitron was sharp and on point. Happy days. But the food? My veggies was bland with no flavour. The steak was just a steak. What is Cuban? Maybe I expected a bit more typical cuban food to appear on my plate. Like beans, tomatoes, spicy rice, garlic, onions and fused with some asian flavours. I might as well have gone to Spur and paid a lot less. My companion had calamari. Similar problem. Where is the flavour?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall chris19502015
Durban, South Africa
03 Feb 2019

“Gone downhill”
I took my here in December and was really surprised and disappointed at the quality of the food.The service was excellent and I got huge apologies from the waiter.We started by sharing a Calamari starter.Presentation terrible cold and extremely small portion.Sent it straight back and cancelled it.Waiter said it was not normal.Mains I had pork belly that was very good but my wife's fish was over done and tasteless.I asked her to send it back but she felt sorry for the waiter and did not want to eat on her own.We always have a dessert but just paid and left.At those prices you expect consistency.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 21stCenturyExplorers
Sydney, Australia
20 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Not ‘just’ a steakhouse.”
This was our first visit to Little Havana - and we will definitely be back! Wait, whaaat - a pescetarian raving about a steakhouse? Well, they may have made a name for themselves in meat-lovers circles. And justifiably so - the carnivores I was with declared the steaks to be exemplary, with my husband pronouncing his ribeye to be the tastiest of cuts. But cast your eye over the rest of their menu and you’ll find the rest of their fare to be of an equally high standard. I thoroughly enjoyed my linefish. The veggie sides were yummy. And when my kids discovered the pumpkin fritters (ordered as a side with their steaks) they promptly created a new dessert: they ordered more pumpkin fritters with a serving of icecream, much to the waiter’s surprise. Talking of waiters, our waiter was incredibly knowledgeable about the cuts, gave excellent recommendations, and was very attentive. Added plus: their vanilla ice-cream was the creamiest and tastiest that I’ve had in a long time. We look forward to our next visit!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall LozzoUk
UK
20 Jan 2019

“Worth a visit .”
My wife and I popped in here twice on our recent stay in Umhlanga. Staff very well trained ad helpful. Food was great . Everything we ordered was well cooked and tasty. Will definitely return if we are in the Umhlanga area again !
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall sp01l3r
Qatar
17 Jan 2019

“Dinner à Deux”
On our 3-day break, this was our choice for a dinner "à deux".Classic Cuban food. The establishment reminds me of the 1970's type of restaurant.Not too big, not too small. The tables are french-type small, very cozy. Light was dimmed appropriately and a background music, very light, could fill the area.The menu is vast but not excessive. Very specific Cuban Recipes and Asian twist.We had the Mussels El Cubano... we ordered one for sharing... but soon after we wished we had ordered two...Main dishes are very sophisticated, we had the Pork Ribs (huge portion) and the Slow Rosted Lamb Shoulder with BBQ'd glaze....wow!!!The service generally was good despite our waiter having a 'off' day.Recommended to make reservations, it was getting crowded.We liked it, we will go again nex time.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall saikumardxb1972
Visakhapatnam, India
16 Jan 2019

“Drinks and Dining”
We visited Little Havana for late evening and the bar was filled with locals. Their service was exceptional and they do offer Seesha, terrace seating and various selection of beverages. They have a very good security protocol which i loved it. We had some beers and dinner there and the service was really attentive and professional.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall safricaninsing
Singapore, Singapore
05 Jan 2019

“Usually great but disappointed on Xmas Day”
Had a very enjoyable Xmas lunch here in 2015 and an excellent dinner in 2017. However, Xmas lunch 2018 was disappointing. There was a very good variety of food on offer for the a la carte starters and the buffet mains but most dishes had too many ingredients which either clashed with each other or overpowered the underlying meat / vegetable. It would have been nicer if the main ingredient was cooked more simply, allowing the natural flavour to come through and then being accompanied by traditional condiments, eg apple sauce for pork, cranberry for turkey, mint for lamb, etc. I know this is a great restaurant but Xmas lunch 2018 was unfortunately a bit disappointing.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall muizbol
Cape Town Central, South Africa
28 Dec 2018

“Romantic and delicious”
Awesome spot for a romantic dinner. It’s not often I find a menu where I struggle to choose, because everything sounds delicious! Great service, fabulous wine list. Intimate but also good for a group setting.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Little Havana
Book a Table
Contact Little Havana
Contact Us
Address
Granada Square
16 Chartwell Drive
Umhlanga Rocks

 

View map
Food Served
GrillsCubanSteakhouse
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday:
12:00 - 15:00 and 18:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Wi-Fi
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT