Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall margeland
uk
08 Apr 2020

“Very much the right choice”
We were walking into the waterfront from Sea Point , when we passed a very stylish restaurant . We booked and returned the following lunch time. The decor is warm and cutting edge . The menu caters for all, Vegetarians, Carnivores and Vegans and is tempting and well thought out . The staff are extremely well trained , the food absolutely as described , delightful and interesting and the Madame is very much in attendance to ensure all is executed properly . A good find , but booking essential so as not to be disappointed. I believe the restaurant is named after Madame’s grandchild .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall GM2009Milano
Johannesburg, South Africa
19 Mar 2020

“Not good enough”
I’ve just visited Lily’s. I was horrified to see not one waiter wearing gloves. I saw one person behind the counter with gloves. Not one other person working with the food could I see earring gloves. No sanitizers on offer. Lunchtime and the restaurant half full. Surely this should be enough to make you do something so customers feel encouraged to visit. I will not be back. Additionally service was below average considering the venue was not busy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Marketing at Lily's Restaurant, responded to this review.
Hi GM2009Milano,Thank you for your feedback of your visit to Lily's We recognise this is a challenging time for all, and we remain deeply committed to the safety of our patrons, employees and communities - with this we have temporality close Lily's until further notice.We will notify you as to when we will reopen for business.Kind regards,Lily's Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall CherylR2035
Cape Town, South Africa
05 Mar 2020

“A terrible disappointment”
I've previously written a glowing review for Lily's, but my recent experience was anything but good.The place was dirty, service was lousy, the food was not great - my "medium" steak was burnt, a waitress used a dirty napkin to wipe cutlery left on a table and then used that same cutlery for the next table setting. Also after touching money she generously handled side plates that she was setting a new table with.Urgghhh - what a nasty experience. I definitely won't be back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Marketing at Lily's Restaurant, responded to this review.
Hi Cheryl,Thank you for your review.We are concerned to see that your experience was not a good one. We would love to get in touch with you. Please could you email your contact details to marketing@kovecollection.co.za or reach out to us on 082 800 8542 so we could get this matter resoloved. We look forward to hearing back from you.Kind regards,Lily's Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JoGross1962
Germany
17 Feb 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Wonderful place”
We are a family from Germany travelling with our grownup daughter - however I write in english so more people can read this: we spent four nights in Capedown and we had five times our breakfast at Lilly's before starting our day tours. It was always wonderful food, a very relaxing atmosphere in a modern designed restaurant and the service was wonderful. Especially Cassie who served us on most days was/is lovely - super friendly, helpful, attentive and flawless in the service. Compliments on selecting your very friendly and well trained staff Lilly !!We had five wonderful starts in our great days in capetown - we highly recommend this place and we will be back !!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Hagendave
Cape Town, South Africa
12 Feb 2020

“Average .. was there at 17h00”
Average .. was there at 17h00 mid week .. music was too load , asked twice to turn down the music so we could interact with our quest ,,, sat inside due to wind ,, was very very hot inside .. no aircon .. Waitron was poor , untrained and spoke too soft .. had my hand up asking for menu and service to many times .. food was terribly fair sole was dry over cooked and smelt of fish .. starter squid was fair .. requested a source .. danm.. why people cue for this place amazes me ,, I live next door ... very poor , poor value for money , poor service , poor food quality and poor ambiance ,,, sorry this is a fair and honest rating ,, not good at all ... needs a big check up from the neck up ,,,
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Marketing at Lily's Restaurant, responded to this review.
Hello Dave,We are concerned to see that you did not enjoy your Paranga experience. We would appreciate the opportunity to contact you directly regarding your experience. Please could you email your contact details to marketing@kovecollection.co.za or call us on 082 8008542 so we can contact you regarding your visit.Yours sincerly,Paranga Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall SouthAfricaSanta
Cape St Francis, South Africa
12 Feb 2020

“Chill and relax - where else do you need to be!”
My wife and I went early on Saturday night, shared drinks, then appetizers and mains. If one was in a hurry, there may have been frustration...where else do you need to be. The only disappointment was that there was no Cos/romaine lettuce for the salads - pretty basic. My steak was world-class and our evening was special.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Marketing at Lily's Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear SouthAfricaSanta,Thank you fr your feedback of your recent visit to Paranga.We hope to welcome you back soon!Kind regards,Paranga Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall NauticalVoyager
Camperdown, South Africa
12 Feb 2020

“Busy and chic”
One glance tells you all you need to know. It’s busy and that means popular. Better than average service and food with a bill to match. Will happily return.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Zanfre G
Paarl, South Africa
12 Feb 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Amazing food and great view but service lacking”
We had a lovely light dinner at Lily's on a Saturday evening. The view is great and the food was really good (I even had a second helping of the Popcorn Squid). The service started out really good but dwindled towards the end to being downright poor. We weren't in a huge hurry so at first didn't think anything about the slow service but after 30 min + without anyone bothering to check on our table - not even to ask if we wanted a drinks top up, desert or coffee (wasted sales opportunity and bad service) - we eventually managed to flag someone down to ask for the bill. The restaurant was relatively busy, but for a Saturday evening in Mouille Point that is probably the norm hence you would expect your service staff to be able to handle it accordingly.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall stewW4
London, United Kingdom
09 Feb 2020

“Busy, busy, busy”
We hadn’t booked and so were fortunate to get a table. (Oddly enough, we had tried to book the night before but were told it was fully booked although when we walked past it was half full) That aside it was good. The waiter had to go and find wine glasses and the wine was warm so we needed ice etc. The food was fine . We shared the fish cakes to start which should have been served hotter. The mains were great - the butter chicken curry and the fried chicken. There was a group of six people next to us who were there before us. By the time we left (after 1hr 30 minutes ) they hadn’t been served any food at all. But our experience was fine apart from the not so cold wine. I just think it gets very busy and they can get overwhelmed at certain times. We would go back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Tshidi13

08 Feb 2020

“Racism by hostess”
Food was good but we got absolutely horrible and downright racist treatment/service from the “hostess” named Zahara. She refused to serve us and even after we demanded an apology from her via the manager on duty (Brian) her attitude was appalling. We spent a significant amount of money at the establishment and her refusal to serve a table of black women on the basis that it’s “not her job” is unacceptable. This is what I’ll tell people about the establishment. It’s 2020, racist behavior has no place in South Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Marketing at Lily's Restaurant, responded to this review.
Good afternoon Tshidi,Thank you for your feedback. We are concerned to see that your experience was not a good one. We would love to get in touch with you. Please could you email your contact details to marketing@kovecollection.co.za or reach out to us on 082 800 8542 so we could get this matter resoloved. We look forward to hearing back from you. Kind regards,Lily's Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Lily's Restaurant
Book a Table
Contact Lily's Restaurant
Contact Us
Address
East-West Building, Shop 1
Cnr Beach Road & Surrey Place
Mouille Point

 

View map
Food Served
ContemporaryBreakfastLight MealsSeafood
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Tuesday: 07:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Child Friendly
Functions
Wi-Fi
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT