Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall charnie007

10 Mar 2020

“Fantastic”
Food was excellent highly recommend, decor and ambiance was outstanding.The service was fast and professional. Great experience!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall fernandosU9401AS
Sao Paulo, SP
25 Feb 2020

“Normal for breakfast”
We went there for breakfast. First customers in the morning. Service was slow. The food was nothing more than ordinary: Benedict eggs and sausage with toast and tomate sauce. Good coffee though. Nice ambience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Ram_Imagery
New York City, New York
17 Feb 2020

“A colorful explosion of organic flavors!”
Yummmmsss! This a must when in capetown. Want a delicious & organic food with a homemade style feel ? This is it! Wonderful staff, friendly and accommodating! Their decor & atmosphere is as warming as their food. The delicious & beautifully decorated dishes leave your palate wanting more. A colorful explosion of an organic soul! Highly recommend it!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Hella M

02 Jan 2020

“Very impolite waiter”
We visited the restaurant just today. Nice place and the food looked amazing. We just ordered some fresh juices. It took them more than 20 minutes serving the drinks. After we had finished the drinks the waiter came up to us and told us: “I don’t know if anyone told you but I need the table in 5 minutes”. We actually wanted to have breakfast their tomorrow but we are now skipping that due to the very rude waiter!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall mcwilliams2019

27 Dec 2019

“Top quality and perfect presentation”
My favorite lunch place in the whole of Cape Town. It has character and the interior has a very European feel. The food is just delicious, fresh ingredients combined in surprising ways....
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall jeremyr532

27 Nov 2019

“Frankly Disappointing”
The good news was that eleven of us got a lunch booking at the last minute. It went downhill from there. I ordered a Pimms, proudly presented first on their list of cocktails. Sorry, no Pimms. Okay, how about one of the two Rosés on the wine list? Sorry, neither available. At which time I had a quiet word with a more senior staff member. At a restaurant of this repute, ‘no’ is not an acceptable answer, I said. Make a plan. They did find one bottle Rosé. Not a good-enough plan. And the food? Not bad, but not ‘wow’. My Ravioli decent, my wife’s calamari bland. The veal looked good, as did the chicken. But the restaurant fails on the small stuff. Which actually is often the big stuff.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall TravelPetra7

10 Nov 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“What a delightful place”
The service is excellent and the cake, Oh boy the cake and off course the wineFood is delicious and eye soothing and I loved the music choice playing softly in the background. A true delight.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall sdolivier
Bloemfontein, South Africa
06 Oct 2019

“Quality went down”
We used to visit Hemelhuijs on a regular basis, but maybe it is part of the gradual decline in South Africa. Waiters less friendly, food not as good as it used to be, Patato Rost was half to dry to eat and the middle was soggy and very oily. Will think twice before I go there for brunch again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Ridwanpeer

04 Oct 2019

“Ultra disappointing”
This highly recommended restaurant was a beautiful venue with atrocious service. The waiter was sullen and dismissive. Juice order took 40 minutes to arrive and only after I made a fuss.Other guest who arrived after us were served their food even before our juice arrived.After complaining we were told that the restaurant was busy and we should just wait for our drinks. The restaurant was not even full.The food was ok. Not worth the effort. The whole experience was horrible.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Ferdie_Liebenberg
Cape Town Central, South Africa
28 Sep 2019

“Hemelhuijs - Cape Town”
I've eyed this venue for years & at last made a reservation for brunch.As you walk into this venue, smiles are the first thing you see, so refreshing.Love the decor & the ambiance of Hemelhuijs, totally on point.We were seated, watered and we placed our orders of seared Duck, I love duck.Our orders arrived and I was blown away by the presentation & sublime taste of this dish, well done guys!!!I just love this venue & you will see us again. Love the unpretentious way everything is done & executed.To the management and staff thank you for a great experience.Kind regardsFerdie Liebenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Hemelhuijs Restaurant
Book a Table
Contact Hemelhuijs Restaurant
Contact Us
Address
71 Waterkant Street
Cape Town CBD
8000

 

View map
Food Served
ContemporaryBreakfastContinentalGlobal/InternationalSouth African
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Friday
09:00 - 16:00
Saturday
09:00 - 15:00
Sundays
Closed
Facilities
Functions
Wi-Fi
Outside Seating
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT