Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall fortmann2015
Cape Town, South Africa
04 Sep 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Very good with a few little points of attention”
We are big fans of Haiku and tend to eat our favourites every time we come . The sushi is still the best in the business and so are the spinach har gow - absolutely brilliant !! The Peking duck is very tasteful , never dry with a nice crust . One point of attention is the sake , there was none available which is a shame for a restaurant like this . Other than that all good with very friendly service and you will see us again soon.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall TravellerSA1985
Bakoven, South Africa
17 Aug 2019

“Best best best restaurant”
Absolutely love this place! I have been back time and time again! Make sure you have some dim sum, the tuna tacos, the wagyu beef and the miso cod! Oooh and also the red kingklip curry with coconut rice!! The have homemade mango or coconut sorbet after it’s super super good ! Go go go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Scottinza
Somerset West, South Africa
03 Jul 2019

“Lunch time @ VandA Haiku”
Totally unimpressed by service. Will not be going back any time soon. One basic discipline in a restaurant - make sure some days good bye when you leave unless you leaving this restaurant. Service was awful and happy to engage with anyone that wants further feedback - it certainly wasn’t the manager who was playing on his computer when we left. Good luck guys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall HelenE385
Belgium
12 Jun 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“no sake”
Our last night in Cape TownGood foodDark interiorNo sake - unbelievable in a Japanese restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Sharon R
Tucson, Arizona
09 Jun 2019

“Variety plus”
Not many restaurant can provide food for vegetarians and meat eaters with everyone equally satisfied. For the meat eaters Tom Yum soup and Duck. For the vegetarians spicy tofu with lovely vegetables, rice and salad. We all shared the dumplings with spinach and cream cheese plus mushrooms. Wine was easy and light. Skip dessert. The ice cream was over churned and taken off the bill. The chocolate spring rolls were oily with too little chocolate.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall StevenW197
Kapaa, Hawaii
18 May 2019

“Outstanding Asian Tapas”
This nicely appointed, relatively large eatery features a large and varied selection of pan-Asian delights. Extensive menu includes starters (potstickers, spring rolls, etc.). Fried and steamed dim sum, variety of fish and meat dishes complemented by good selection of vegetarian entrees. We especially enjoyed the Ma Po Tofu, Sizzling Vegetables and Salt and Pepper vegetables. Probably not a place for children; ideal for couples and groups. We visited twice to sample additional selections from the diverse menu offerings.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall chopsky_za
Cape Town Central, South Africa
08 May 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Reliably excellent.”
Food is always top notch. Service is friendly and fast.Have eaten here any many occasions. Not the cheapest in town, but definitely one of the best.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrequentFlier743063, Guest Relations Manager at Haiku, responded to this review.
Hi Chopsky_Za,Thank you for taking the time to review Haiku CPT CBD. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed an authentic Asian experience with us, and that the service and food was excellent.We hope to have you visit us again, soon.Kind regards,Haiku
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall saint2018
Johannesburg, South Africa
21 Apr 2019

“Avoid at all Costs”
We had a reservation at Haiku for dinner. Service dismal from the moment we walked in. Firstly we waited 15min at the counter for the “manager”. Service personnel continued to walk past us without acknowledgement. Upon enquiry, we were repeatedly told to wait for the manager without any effort to summon said manager. When the manager did arrive, he could not find our booking and was reluctant to serve us despite showing him our confirmation and also despite the fact that the restaurant was only at about 40% capacity. The manager did not inspire any confidence and it is little wonder then that the entire staff were lacklustre. Everything went downhill from there. We waited about 15min to receive a menu and another 15min for someone to take an order. Please note that during this time, no drink order was taken. Food arrived quickly and it was absolutely horrific...each dish worse and more tasteless than the one before. We ordered prawn toast, spicy prawn har gau, kang pao beef, khow swey and Singapore chili prawn.Our drinks arrived at the end of the meal. All the food was returned to the kitchen, we paid our bill and left...never to return. Please do not spoil your appetite or your night out. Avoid at all costs.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrequentFlier743063, Guest Relations Manager at Haiku, responded to this review.
Dear Saint2018, We are extremely disappointed to hear about your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Kindly send us an email to feedback@Bukhara.com with a copy of your review.We hope to turn this around fro you. Warm regards,Haiku
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall jokedecoo
Bruges, Belgium
15 Apr 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Just good food”
Went twice to this restaurant to have dinner, because it was close to where we lived. I thought the food was really good, you have quite some choice and I just liked how it tasted. I once had sushi and the other time curry with rice. Nothing special, but just good, don't have expectations that are too high. Service was really good, friendly waiters who perhaps could be organized a bit better, but nothing that really annoyed me. You shouldn't expect world class food, but it is really good for what I think of it. I will definitely go back if I feel like eating Asian and not going far! Overall experience: I like the food, nothing special, just good food and a really cosy, warm vibe in the restaurant. Definitely recommend this if you want a regular dinner.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrequentFlier743063, Guest Relations Manager at Haiku, responded to this review.
Hi Jokedecoo,Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed an authentic Asian experience with us, and that you enjoyed your meal accompanied by great service.We hope to have you dine with us again, soon.Warm regards,Haiku
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall CarmenK963
Cape Town Central, South Africa
11 Apr 2019

“Work dinner disaster”
So I went to Haiku in town tonight for a work dinner. I used to go about 4 years ago quite regularly and remember it as being one of my favorite restaurants but since going vegetarian and then vegan, it dwindled off my list of places to go. Back to tonight... I ordered mushroom pot stickers. They were amazing! The first two at least - and as I took a huge bite into the second one and swallowed just as quickly as the first two, I realized it was meat and they must have mixed it up at some point In the kitchen. Although they brought me a new plate, the damage was done and my stomach was doing backflips! So on my visit to the toilet, I walked into one of the open cubicles and relieved myself. When I was ready to leave, I realized there was no door handle and I couldn’t get out. After being stuck for 20 mins and finally someone hearing me banging on the door, they fumbled to get me out. The kicker is, instead of apologising or explaining, they said to me that there was a notice on the door and that the cubicle was actually not meant to be in use. And yes, there was a sign on the door, but the door was wide open, so sign could not be seen! All I wanted was acknowledgement! So needless to say, i am very disappointed in how Haiku handled the situation and I will think twice before recommending it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrequentFlier743063, Guest Relations Manager at Haiku, responded to this review.
Dear Carmenk963, We are terribly sorry to see that you didn't fully enjoy your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Kindly send us an email with a copy of your review to feedback@Bukhara.com.We hope to hear from you soon.Kind regards,Haiku
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Haiku Cape Town
Book a Table
Contact Haiku Cape Town
Contact Us
Address
58 Burg Street
Cape Town
8001

 

View map
Food Served
AsianChineseJapaneseTapas
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Monday - Saturday:
Lunch: 12:00 - 15:00
Monday - Sunday
Dinner: 18:00 - 23:00
Facilities
Take Out
Outside Seating
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT