Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Thevonpookas
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
14 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Wonderful food”
I had the most amazing steak in here yesterday evening, cooked to perfection and with a very well balanced peppercorn sauce. I also ordered the side of mixed vegetables and when mixed with the steak it was just perfect! highly recommend this place to all, great value for money (but the exchange rate is in my favour)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall AdventureBecons
Johannesburg, South Africa
13 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Sizzling Steak”
Our first encounter with this establishment. I had a rump steak which was grilled to perfection. Medium rare as requested. They have a good wine list that caters for most I would say from modestly priced to expensive but good quality. They leave the choice up to you. If it is meat you want in a place with good service and ambience you can head this way. It was an enjoyable experience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butcherboysgrill, Owner at Butcher Boys Umhlanga Rocks, responded to this review.
You picked one of our fave cuts @AdventureBecons so we are delighted to hear out was grilled to perfection! Hope to see you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall RolandWoodroffe
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
12 Feb 2019

“The meal saved the night”
I have been recommend to go to Butcher boys and wow! The meals did not disappoint. Starters was so good and then came the stakes. One of the best stakes I had in a long time. The only disappointment was the waiter. He really needed more training.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butcherboysgrill, Owner at Butcher Boys Umhlanga Rocks, responded to this review.
Thanks @RolandWoodroffe for the great feedback on the meals - we have noted your comment re: the service and have fed back to the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 466paulof
Durban, South Africa
03 Feb 2019

“Good place to have a family meal”
My family and I go to Butchers for a nice steak and specially for the cream spinach. By far the best cream spinach in South Africa.Very good meat quality, aged. Done as per individual liking.If you looking for a good steak, wonderful cream spinach and a lovely service, go to Butchers.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butcherboysgrill, Owner at Butcher Boys Umhlanga Rocks, responded to this review.
Thank you @466paulof for the awesome feedback! And yes, we concur - our creamed spinach is the bomb! Hope to see you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Judbetty
Manchester, United Kingdom
01 Feb 2019

“Steak”
Great starters and steaks. Service could be a little better. A wrong starter was delivered and 4 different staff served us during the course of the evening. We did however enjoy the meal but a little more attention to detail with service would have given Butcher Boys 5*.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butcherboysgrill, Owner at Butcher Boys Umhlanga Rocks, responded to this review.
Thanks for the great feedback @Judbetty - we n ted the service comment and will share with the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Clive308
Durban, South Africa
23 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Worth the Drive”
We Drove from Westville to Butcher boys to receive great food and service and enjoyed the atmosphere and sea view with our friends. well 2x days later my wife discovered she left her sunglasses on the table .I then called Trevor the manager, and could not believe they had them safely kept in the office .Well done to the management and team.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butcherboysgrill, Owner at Butcher Boys Umhlanga Rocks, responded to this review.
Thanks @Clive308 for the awesome review! Hope to see you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall VanessaNarotam
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
19 Jan 2019

“Just didn’t enjoy the food”
My husband enjoys the steaks (a specialty of the restaurant) so this was his choice. I just didn’t enjoy the food and I only ordered starters. Service was great. We ordered Panko prawns, deep fried calamari (with a terrible tartare sauce), wings, half chicken (30m prep time), Amarula creme brûlée and a steak.My husband and son enjoyed their meals. My daughter did not enjoy the creme brûlée.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butcherboysgrill, Owner at Butcher Boys Umhlanga Rocks, responded to this review.
Hey Vanessa - we are a specialty streaks restaurant so good to hear the steaks and service were great but sad to hear we couldn’t satisfy the whole family. Will check in on the tartare sauce - this is the first time we’ve had anyone mention it wasn’t great. Appreciate the feedback
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Y3159GLandreasb

18 Jan 2019

“Perfect dinner”
Excellent staff, Chris. Recommended prawns in cheese sauce, angus rump steak and creme brullee. Food extremely good. Athosphere very nice. I have been to this restaurant in Umhlanga Rocks several times, and can really recommend it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butcherboysgrill, Owner at Butcher Boys Umhlanga Rocks, responded to this review.
Thanks @Andreas B for the awesome review!! Delighted you enjoyed your meal with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall WRRDA
Pulborough, United Kingdom
13 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“POOR SERVICE”
Ate here with a family of 5 on Thursday 10th Jan 2019 on holiday from the UK. Booked a table for 8pm. We arrived on time and were shown to our table, ordered and were advised that the kitchen was "a little busy"............food didn't arrive for 75 minutes!!!......,this is so bad, considering we had booked, and didn't just walk in off the street. The steaks were average......and the vegetables we ordered were pretty cold.Not impressed, and wouldn't go back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butcherboysgrill, Owner at Butcher Boys Umhlanga Rocks, responded to this review.
Hi @WRRDA - we seem to have missed your message and do apologise. We take immense pride in our service so we were very disappointed to read your message! We will most certainly address with our team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 730helenh
London, United Kingdom
05 Jan 2019

“Excellent”
Excellent food of a high standard. We had a party of 9 and all food was served together and the service was very good. Great value and will certainly look to return.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butcherboysgrill, Owner at Butcher Boys Umhlanga Rocks, responded to this review.
hey @730helenh - we seem to have missed your awesome review! Thank you! Delighted you enjoyed your meals with us and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Butcher Boys - Umhlanga
Book a Table
Contact Butcher Boys - Umhlanga
Contact Us
Address
Shop 1, Lighthouse Mall
Cnr Chartwell Drive & Lighthouse Road
Umhlanga Rocks
4320

 

View map
Food Served
SteakhouseGameGlobal/InternationalSouth African
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Lunch:
Sunday - Monday & Public Holidays: 12:00 - 15:00
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 18:00 - 22:00
Friday & Saturday: 18:00 - 22:30
Sunday & Public Holidays: 18:00 - 21:30
Facilities
Outside Seating
Disabled
Smoking Section
Functions
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT