Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall oppulentdurbantravel
Durban, South Africa
03 Feb 2019

“Absolutely brilliant”
I visited the restaurant twice during my stay and on both occasions the food and service was excellent. I recommend the chicken tikka masala immensely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Ashwin D
Istanbul, Turkey
31 Jan 2019

“Tasty indian cusine”
The restuarant is situated at the Taj hotel in Cape Town. Caters for both meat eaters and vegetarian. Recommend to make reservations as it is very popular and gets booked out.Must for the traveler who enjoys indian food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall dragon24
Sydney, Australia
09 Jan 2019

“Delicious Indian Cuisine”
We stayed at the Taj Hotel so were looking forward to our meal at the Bombay Brasserie and it did not disappoint us. The Indian Fare was first class and the decor and level of service was outstanding.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall M1521BNmichaell
Cape Town, South Africa
06 Jan 2019

“Service lets them down”
The food is good, a bit heavy with sauces and not hot. Spicy hot, yes, but temp could’ve been improved had the service not been so sloppy. At this level the service must be top notch. The waiting staff seem to be either untrained or just disinterested. Bit of shame because the kitchen does its part well. Maybe a management issue?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall WrldTraveller67
Wayne, New Jersey
25 Dec 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Good food, atmosphere, service and an excellent value”
The restaurant is located in the Taj Hotel. It is very nicely decorated with high ceilings, wood floors, big chairs. The menu was fairly large. Everything that we ordered was REALLY good. The service was excellent, they came by pretty frequently to check on us. So the combination of good food, good atmosphere and good service made it a very enjoyable evening. And to be honest, I think it was exceptional value.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall GREENSEssex
Essex
12 Dec 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Lets itself down despite gorgeous food”
Very helpful lady sorted MY error in the table booking and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal which brought finesse to a lovely Indian meal. However dining at this level is more than just the meal and the ambiance of the restaurant left something to be desired. It is very dark and quite oppressive and seeing the hotel's service area (inc garbage containers etc) every time the swing doors from the kitchen were opened left a lot to be desired and detracted greatly from what should have been an eclectic experience. The Taj restaurants in Mumbai and New Delhi and the Brasserie in London have set for us a high bench mark - sadly despite the food and service this fell somewhat short It desperately needs a makeover - we had expected far better
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Neofelis
London, United Kingdom
09 Dec 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“A very disappointing & poor experience”
We had heard a lot about Bombay brasserie from friends so on our trip to Cape Town we made sure to get a dinner reservation at the restaurant on one of the days. Unfortunately it was a really disappointing experience for us and one that left us thinking that we wasted a night going out to eat here. We had made a reservation for 9pm. We reached 5-10 minutes ahead of time and took us a few minutes to get the attention of one of the staff. The restaurant was full and the staff seemed to be overwhelmed. As our table was not ready yet the person escroted us to the cocktail bar next doors while waited for a table for 10/15 minutes. This is where the night just took a turn for the worse. We ordered one drink each and I must say the quality of cocktails was a solid 2 on 10. Just not good enough. Anyhow we were just biding time to get to our table and food. Surprisingly 20 minutes later we were still there waiting. At 9:30 we asked what’s going on and were told table wasn’t yet ready and would be shortly. The short time lasted another 15-20 minutes as we were only seated by around 9:50pm only 50 minutes past our booking time. By this time most of the restaurant was empty so hard to understand why we were made to wait so long. As soon as we sat we were told that the kitchen closes at 10pm so we better hurry up and order our meal. Annoying as the whole thing had been so far, we were here for what was supposedly superb food, so we tried to forget the experience so far and made the order for the table. The food arrived a cool 45 minutes later ! Something I just could not understand as by he time we were seated only one other table remained in the restaurant. By this time everyone’s mood was completely off and the only reason we sat on was that at 10:40pm we had limited options for food elsewhere in a city we didn’t know too well. The only reason this review is a 2 and not a 1 is because the food wasn’t bad. It was nothing to blow us away as given the long wait some of the dishes were a bit cold & we were more sleepy than hungry at this point as well. In conclusion what was meant to be a fun meal with friends at a place with good food ended up being just a bad bad experience and a waste of a night for us in Cape Town. I really hope these guys can up their game and no one else experiences the mess we did.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JohannesW400

29 Nov 2018

“Good taste”
The concierge of the one&only hotel recommended this Indian Restaurant.A real good Choice.First impression was a little „plush atmosphere“.But very tasty Indian cuisine!Nice ameuse bouche etc.Good Service. We can absolutely recommend this brasserie!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 546niklass
Uppsala, Sweden
14 Nov 2018

“Very cozy and fancy!”
Went here on the last night of my girlfriends visit here in Cape Town. The food was great and the staff were really friendly. We got appetizers on compliments from the chef times 3. My girlfriend is vegan and this was really no problem, they had alot of food for her too and we both was so full after the dinner!Great experience and great food with lovely staff.Thank you!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall sooks5096
Repton, United Kingdom
03 Nov 2018

“Amazing food”
This is a sister restaurant of the London one, we checked. In my view both the food and particularly the service were even better. Will go back in a heartbeat.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Bombay Brasserie @ Taj Cape Town
Book a Table
Contact Bombay Brasserie @ Taj Cape Town
Contact Us
Address
The Taj Hotel
cnr Wale & St George's Mall
Cape Town
8000

 

View map
Food Served
IndianVegetarian
Average Price$$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday: 18:00 - 23:00
Facilities
Secure Parking
Disabled
Wi-Fi
Weddings
Accommodation
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT