Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
  • Media Reviews
Overall DepuoG

15 Feb 2020

“Racist Manager”
My sisters and I were part of a wine tour and this was one of our stops. The Manager Kirsty refused to serve us, handed us over to a black waiter then proceeded to clean other guests tables. I asked for her and she refused to come to our table. A fellow American patron who was with his family came to our table and said that he did not appreciate how she treated us. I complained about the service in our way out only to have the staff swear at us shouting obscenities in the presence of all other patrons. They further asked the tour conductors not to allow onto the bus even the service.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall RomyT137
Western Cape, South Africa
27 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Allee Bleue, what a treat!”
We just recently took the hop-on-hop-off wine tram tour and this was the first wine farm stop we made. So glad we took our time here. The staff was very welcoming and super sweet. We will definitely go back for another wine tasting session soon! Especially looking forward to their delicious homemade cheeses. Yum!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Christa v

08 Jan 2020

“Wonderful time at Allee Blue”
Wine tasting under Tyron’s guidance was brilliant. Discussing wines of the world and comparing vineyards and cultivars. Lunch with Shandre was memorable. Food was delightful and Shandre is an asset to the company. Loved it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall lizKent
kent
08 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Nice staff but average experience at best!”
Hadn’t read the reviews regarding the picnic, so was surprised that when we arrived we were the only visitors who had placed an order, and initially delighted that we had the place to ourselves. We soon realised why!The staff were very helpful, and offered picnic blankets to relax under the tree, but one was badly soiled. I went to use the ladies toilet and there was no paper in either cubicle, so I had to ask, and when we opened our picnic we too found limp lettuce, sweaty cheese and a not very appetising meal in front of us. We had to ask for serviettes too.We were offered a wine tasting outside, but this turned out to be a bad choice as It was a hot day and the whites I had (4) were all poured at once so had become warm by the time I got onto the third. All in all it’s not a place I would recommend. What I don’t understand is that management aren’t responding to the negative reviews. They could turn this issue around in a heartbeat!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Rambisox
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
30 Dec 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Disappointing picnic”
We had a picnic today with friends and family for my wife’s birthday. Setting really nice and staff very helpful. Unfortunately the picnic was not up to standard and left much to be desired. I should have read the other picnic reviews here before booking. We had several other picnics in the area over time and this is unfortunately the worst one yet. Also no plates or cutlery provided, except for plastic knives and forks. Would not recommend.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall TravelwithRene
Stellenbosch, South Africa
29 Dec 2019

“Pathetic Picnic”
We felt this picnic needs much to improve on. The salad was limp and the rest of the basket left much to be desired...sweaty cheese and incomplete baskets left us feeling somewhat cheated! The staff at the picnic kiosk passed the buck to the kitchen. Common guys I am a local and want to recommend my local peeps!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Dominic_Traveller
Guildford, United Kingdom
23 Dec 2019

“Dismal picnic, not even close to pictures”
been to a few picnics on different wine farms. This was the most dismal picnic ever. It's so far from the advertised pictures. Stale soggy bread, sweaty cheese, limp lettuce in a cardboard box. The soggy wraps were filled with fatty beef. We complained and the person serving said it's not me speak to the chef, we did and honestly I wasn't convinced anything would change. Save yourself the trip. Sorry but they need to up their game. My pictures speak for themselves.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall home2annika
Stockholm, Sweden
04 Dec 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“The worst picnic out of the three we tried..you can do better than this..”
An absolutely boring and tasteless picnic-basket and a wine that wasn´t much better. This was really a rip off. We don´t recommend this picnic to anyone. Not even to our enemies..The service was ok-the surroundings beautiful-but this isn´t enough to make a picnic memorable. Please update the dishes in the basket to the following customers...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall nolanar
Cardiff, United Kingdom
28 Nov 2019

“Let down by Wine tasting”
Had the most terrible wine tasting here. Having had the wines paired meal at the Reverie Social Table in Cape Town, which was amazing we decided to visit.We were told that we could have any tasting other than the black range and that was what we wanted. The sommelier came with some wines, one without a label which he says was Chardonnay and we said it wasn’t and turns out it was Sauvignon blanc instead. He then pours the other wines and gives us some generic spiel and leaves. Some a damaging experience toTheir brand name of this is the type of wine tasting they offer .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall clevekat
Cleveland, Ohio
15 Oct 2019

“Good way to start the day!”
This was our first stop on the wine tram and it did not disappoint. Beautiful tasting room and terrace. Our server was very knowledgeable and professional. Wines were excellent!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Bistro Allée Bleue
Book a Table
Contact Bistro Allée Bleue
Contact Us
Address
Groot Drakenstein
Junction of R310 and R45
Franschhoek
7690

 

View map
Food Served
ContinentalBistroFrenchPicnicsTapas
Average Price$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Restaurant:
Tuesday - Sunday: 08:00 - 17:00
Picnics:
Tuesday - Sunday: 12:00 - 15:00
Wine Tasting:
Tuesday - Friday: 09:00 - 17:00
Saturday: 10:00 - 17:00
Sunday: 10:00 - 16:00
Facilities
Functions
Fireplace
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT