Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
  • Media Reviews
Overall LenW109
Cape Town Central, South Africa
07 Mar 2020

“Picnic is not such a picnic after-all”
We booked a picnic for 6 people today, four adults and two children. The bathrooms at the picnic area is filthy , so much so that we had to walk all the way back to reception to use the bathrooms. Not even toiletpaper in the bathrooms. The picnic baskets was incorrect, too many baskets brought to the table, and we asked about it, to be assured it is correct, just for one basket to be collected again halfway through our picnic, food was warm and not good, the glasses dirty beyond belief. The only positive was the waitress that was helpful. Whenever we asked for anything, she assisted. Oh yes, and their Sauvignon Blanc is however divine! Sorry about the bad review, but it is a quick fix guys.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall keithamara
St Ives, United Kingdom
29 Feb 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Excellent tasting”
The wine tasting at Allee Bleu is really enjoyable and reasonably priced. If you want a snack the cheese and meat platter is very good.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall lucifatela

29 Feb 2020

“Terrible experience”
very disappointed in the service I got from this winery. The woman that served us was not interested and had to be fetched from the counter multiple times. I clearly interrupted her very professional conversations to her colleagues. what upset me more is that she decided on her own accord to split my bill when I wasnt aware of this and practically accused me of not paying the 2nd bill. I bought 2 bottles of wine from there but I can guarantee that due to the terrible service I got and being treated like rubbish I WILL NEVER buy this wine again. so embarrassing in front of the UK tourists I brought with me. if this is the standard of this winery I will rather use my money somewhere else!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Byron283
Cape Town Central, South Africa
23 Feb 2020

“Very disappointing picnic”
Booked the picnic for my wife's birthday. The picnic area had not been cleaned from what I imagine was the previous day. The cushion we got was filthy dirty. After delivering our basket and our drinks order we never saw the waitress again. The food itself was tasty, but not spectacular. There was no jumping castle for the kids as advertised. Was expecting far more.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall DepuoG

15 Feb 2020

“Racist Manager”
My sisters and I were part of a wine tour and this was one of our stops. The Manager Kirsty refused to serve us, handed us over to a black waiter then proceeded to clean other guests tables. I asked for her and she refused to come to our table. A fellow American patron who was with his family came to our table and said that he did not appreciate how she treated us. I complained about the service in our way out only to have the staff swear at us shouting obscenities in the presence of all other patrons. They further asked the tour conductors not to allow onto the bus even the service.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall RomyT137
Western Cape, South Africa
27 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Allee Bleue, what a treat!”
We just recently took the hop-on-hop-off wine tram tour and this was the first wine farm stop we made. So glad we took our time here. The staff was very welcoming and super sweet. We will definitely go back for another wine tasting session soon! Especially looking forward to their delicious homemade cheeses. Yum!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Christa v

08 Jan 2020

“Wonderful time at Allee Blue”
Wine tasting under Tyron’s guidance was brilliant. Discussing wines of the world and comparing vineyards and cultivars. Lunch with Shandre was memorable. Food was delightful and Shandre is an asset to the company. Loved it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall lizKent
kent
08 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Nice staff but average experience at best!”
Hadn’t read the reviews regarding the picnic, so was surprised that when we arrived we were the only visitors who had placed an order, and initially delighted that we had the place to ourselves. We soon realised why!The staff were very helpful, and offered picnic blankets to relax under the tree, but one was badly soiled. I went to use the ladies toilet and there was no paper in either cubicle, so I had to ask, and when we opened our picnic we too found limp lettuce, sweaty cheese and a not very appetising meal in front of us. We had to ask for serviettes too.We were offered a wine tasting outside, but this turned out to be a bad choice as It was a hot day and the whites I had (4) were all poured at once so had become warm by the time I got onto the third. All in all it’s not a place I would recommend. What I don’t understand is that management aren’t responding to the negative reviews. They could turn this issue around in a heartbeat!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Rambisox
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
30 Dec 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Disappointing picnic”
We had a picnic today with friends and family for my wife’s birthday. Setting really nice and staff very helpful. Unfortunately the picnic was not up to standard and left much to be desired. I should have read the other picnic reviews here before booking. We had several other picnics in the area over time and this is unfortunately the worst one yet. Also no plates or cutlery provided, except for plastic knives and forks. Would not recommend.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall TravelwithRene
Stellenbosch, South Africa
29 Dec 2019

“Pathetic Picnic”
We felt this picnic needs much to improve on. The salad was limp and the rest of the basket left much to be desired...sweaty cheese and incomplete baskets left us feeling somewhat cheated! The staff at the picnic kiosk passed the buck to the kitchen. Common guys I am a local and want to recommend my local peeps!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Bistro Allée Bleue
Book a Table
Contact Bistro Allée Bleue
Contact Us
Address
Groot Drakenstein
Junction of R310 and R45
Franschhoek
7690

 

View map
Food Served
ContinentalBistroFrenchPicnicsTapas
Average Price$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Restaurant:
Tuesday - Sunday: 08:00 - 17:00
Picnics:
Tuesday - Sunday: 12:00 - 15:00
Wine Tasting:
Tuesday - Friday: 09:00 - 17:00
Saturday: 10:00 - 17:00
Sunday: 10:00 - 16:00
Facilities
Functions
Fireplace
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT