Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall CloLynch

20 Mar 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Can't go wrong with an Irish pub”
A friend and I had dinner there last night and wow its was excellent! The Beira Chicken and Calamari was delicious - highly recommended if you have a hunger than needs to be sorted. The food was ready in under 10 minutes which was surprising as it was relatively busy. The waitress that served us was attentive and friendly. Great atmosphere but just know that there will be a large table ordering copious rounds of shooters - its just a given. Definitely will go back again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall michaelkU7584LC

19 Feb 2019

“A Fab day out!”
Came for a quiet drink with my sister on Sunday. We were served by Nicole who was fabulously attentive, funny and engaging. The decor would not be out of place in Ireland or the UK. The calamari and Eisbein are thoroughly recommended, as are the house red and whites, an array of draught’s, the house Vodka, Tequila and red Sambuca. Smoking is permitted in the front and at a tabled side section, should things become less ‘quiet’. Besides Monday being a slight struggle, Sunday’s shenanigans were thoroughly worth it. Made all the better by a great ambiance, really cool staff and appealing decor.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Hugh1944
Winston Park, South Africa
09 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great Pub Grub”
We visited this unpretentious, quirky, atmospheric pub for the first time. What you see is what you get, and we will definitely be back. Cobb salads were great, as were the Jalapeno Rissoles and the Samoosas. The Club Sandwich is enormous.A good place to know
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall micfranmf
Phinda Private Game Reserve, South Africa
28 Dec 2018

“Love it”
Honestly - greatness all round!Their food is amazing, the service is normally really fast but there is always another waiter to call on luckily. They make AMAZING food every time. I have been there well over 50 times, and I have NEVER been disappointed. I have tried everything from their potato skins to their Frajitas, famous burgers, homely pies, and everything else in between.Also - Perfect place for friends and family to relax in a homely environment. It is a pub, but it is not a rowdy pub, and the restaurant is well separated so it is fine to take children with.Cant wait to go back!!!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall anne m
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
17 Sep 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“A delicious Sunday Pub lunch on the veranda. Well worth a visit. Best chef in town!”
We visited here on the 8 July 2018 and met up with friends, on their recommendation, for a Sunday lunch. Great service. Compliments to the chef for our truly scrumptious meals all round. A lovely pub setting, which reminds us of the many Irish and UK pubs. We loved this place and will definitely be back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Clive308
Durban, South Africa
17 Sep 2018

“Great atmosphere”
We watched the Spring Bok game and had 2x full breakfasts good value and service by Matt. Nice Cupper chino and ice cold Castle Draft on Tap.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall DaneSalmon
Kloof, South Africa
09 Sep 2018

“Delicious”
We visited this establishment on Friday and it was great. Bryan The lion served us and ensured that we were well taken care of and never without a full drink.All our meals were delicious and no one had any negative comments. A super interesting feature is the mens urinals - they are created from cut up draft kegs. Really unique. We will definitely be back soonWe will definitely be back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall AntWillow
Durban, South Africa
06 Sep 2018

“John at the bar is a friend of mine!”
If you into an Irish pub environment where everybody knows your name, then look no further! Always packed and great pub fare with excellent service. Whether it a beer after work, a pubbie for lunch, drinks for you and your partner or a spot to watch the game, then pop into Waxys for sure. You will enjoy!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ernstuken
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
03 Aug 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Well-supported pub with restaurant inside and on verandah”
Travelling between Durban and Pietermaritzburg it was great being able to stop for lunch in Durban-Westville. Waxy's pies, wraps and schnitzel were superb, not to mention their draft beer.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 676glendau
Durban, South Africa
19 Jun 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Tons of fun”
My friends and family visited Waxys after a rugby match played at Westville Boys between Maritzburg College and Westville Boys, It was Westville old boys weekend w/o Waxys was packed out. We sat on the side verandah and were treated to the Springbok game on the big screen. It was a wonderful festive atmosphere m the waiters are excellent and deliver your liquid refreshments and food on time. We always have great fun when we go there andbitbis situated in a very convenient are able Westville.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Waxy O'Connors - Westville
Book a Table
Contact Waxy O'Connors - Westville
Contact Us
Address
124A Jan Hofmeyer Road
Westville
3630

 

View map
Food Served
Pub MealsGourmet BurgersGrillsLight Meals
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday: 12:00 - 00:00
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
TV/Sports
Outside Seating
Smoking Section
Functions
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT