Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Spiro Z
Johannesburg, South Africa
11 Sep 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Blown away by a quick simple steak, egg and chips with my boy...”
The service was awesome. Paul is driving a great establishment with his great team. We were in a rush so we phoned in our order 10 minutes prior to arriving, the waitron took our order and after seating us and getting us our drinks, our food was delivered and the steak, egg and chips combo was cooked to perfection... What a great iconic Northcliff >30 year establishment...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall funny_alias
Johannesburg, South Africa
24 Mar 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“There is no better steak”
Whenever we visit Thundergun, I wish I have a bigger stomach so I can eat more. Even if steak is not your thing, their veggies are delicious. And by veggies I mean chicken. But no seriously, the sides are great too.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall elhefei
Phuket, Thailand
11 Mar 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Best Affordable Steakhouse”
This restaurant never disappoints. The steaks here are always incredible and cooked just as you ask. The staff are friendly and consistently check in on your table to ensure everything is good to go. The restaurant is extremely popular and busy so if you plan on going during the evening or during the weekend, make a booking or try get there a little earlier.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 886andrew
Roodepoort, South Africa
06 Mar 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“High Standards Maintained”
We visited this restaurant ten years ago and the high standards have certainly been maintained.The service and food is still excellent and it is not surprising that this establishment has been around for so long.The ribs and steaks are outstanding and the portions more than sufficient.The service was good ,the staff are friendly and well trained. There were no empty tables and people were waiting in the pub to be seated.It is a pity that that bookings are not taken as this would make it easier and alleviate this problem, All in all a great restaurant well worth a visit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall AvZ1234
Alberton, South Africa
02 Feb 2020

“A little cramped”
Used to be my dad's favorite steak house. Not what I remembered but not bad. Seating rather cramped though. Seems very popular.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Jonathon W

28 Jan 2020

“Friend's favourite steakhouse and now ours.”
We'd just arrived in Jo'burg from UK and a bit hangry This would be the cure they said and were right in all aspects.Really buzzy place and because we hadn't booked, knew we'd have to wait for a table for five. The bar was a great place to wait.Friendly front of house and staff.The restaurant is an institution, been open for years and always busy, so it's difficult to find fault..........................thought about it but can't It's a great STEAKHOUSE! Our friend says the meat for steaks are better and less cost as a meal than they can find in Jo,burg. My special, entrecote, rare topped with creamy garlic and jumbo prawns melted in the mouth.To top everything off, great value for money.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Diana H

27 Jan 2020

“Best steak in JHB; the Carvery is not bad either -:)”
A family restaurant of long long standing in the same location but different ownership. The ambience and quality have remained as we first went there in the 60's. A T-Bone steak and chips cost R1.50 and a plate of salad 35c. A nice family restaurant and good service.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Content10
Johannesburg, South Africa
21 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“THE BEST RIBS IN TOWN.”
Our first visit to Thunder Gun Steakhouse was in the late 80's' and they were already famous for their amazing Steaks and Burgers. The atmosphere is still so nice and cosy. The staff is very friendly and make you feel very welcome. The food is still amazing!. There steak is of high quality and so soft, juicy and tasty. There Ribs are the best in town. I have only tried the Original Spare Ribs, but you can have the Portugese Ribs if you like more heat. The portions were very generous. The menu is designed for the meat lovers, but does cater for people that only eat fish or chicken. Carvery is available Fridays to Mondays. Excellent restaurant and service.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall mikebee0
Johannesburg, South Africa
08 Jan 2020

“You'll never go wrong”
Always ensured of good food, great vibe and excellent service. A 50 year success story !! If you like ribs, steaks and burgers it's a must !!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Irvynator
Randburg, South Africa
30 Dec 2019

“Unbelievable food!”
Haven been here is ages! The food still top class, amazing service and really great staff!!!! I’ll definitely be back!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Thunder Gun Steakhouse & Bar
Book a Table
Contact Thunder Gun Steakhouse & Bar
Contact Us
Address
Shops 5, Palala Centre
Cnr Beyers Naude Drive & Lewisham Road
Blackheath, Northcliff

 

View map
Food Served
Steakhouse
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Sunday - Thursday:
11:30 - 15:00 & 17:30 - 21:00
Friday & Saturday:
11:30 - 15:00 & 17:30 - 22:00
Facilities
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2021 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT