Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Lance G

30 Apr 2018

“A quiet gem”
After missing the farmers market we decided to try the Secret Tea Garden. A beautiful setting amongst the chaos that is Fourways. The food was nice but the coffee was on another level. After a wonderful conversation with our waitress (Chichi) we continued to enjoy the morning. One should try explore the local places before venturing out of town or far away. We have little hidden gems amongst us. We will be back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Wikus E

10 Mar 2018

“Ruined a baby shower”
Venue is beautiful. Disgustingly overpriced and unfriendly service. Half of sausage rolls undercooked. Cake order through Secret Garden was dry and not at all to specification. And wanted to charge a service fee on the cake ordered through them. Should rather have lost the deposit and went to Tres Jolie. Waiter completely inattentive and rude. Was more interested in the hen party. Coffee was disgusting and brought in late. Set up a pink baby shower for a boy. All the sandwiches had mayonnaise. What about a little variety for high tea? Scones were doughy and underdone. The milktart was dry. Custard slices were nice at least. Service fee was not worth it. Area was not set up when guests started to arrive. The baby shower was not a special day at all. I will never recommend this venue to anyone I know.The Secret Tea Garden should remain a secret.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall maryO2897YI
Johannesburg, South Africa
06 Mar 2018

“Great functions venue”
Had a friends baby welcome. The owners were always checking on us to see if all was still well. There is a good play area for smaller kids as well. Food was also great and the cakes so divine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Bggl
Johannseburg SA
18 Feb 2018

“Breakfast on Sunday”
Spur-of-the-moment decision to go for breakfast. Easy to find and plenty of parking. Well received and shown a table. The omelet was light and the filings were generous. The single egg breakfast arrived as ordered and the toast was excellent. Good service and a lovely garden setting on a Sunny day. Prices are reasonable. The orange juice is a bit watery. We will be back. Certainly worth a visit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall miaroets

07 Feb 2018

“Poor service, food. Beautiful setting. Disappointment.”
The secret garden is a perfect example of a good idea being badly run, and no one cares because they have a niche in the market. Beautiful outdoor setting safe for kids. Inattentive service. Very average food. The place is dirty. The smoking section is right in the middle of all the other tables. We waited an hour for eggs and toast. I got a poached egg with a broken yoke (see picture). Disrespectful to the food and the customer. Had to ask for water 3 times. And the place was hardly busy.Stop holding customers with kids hostage because there are few places to go!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Candice21
Sandton, South Africa
07 Dec 2017

“Christmas lunch”
Oh dear! The weather didn’t help and our outdoor booking in their gorgeous garden turned into an awfully embarrassing inside lunch. Our table the only table was set up in a cavernous room with no atmosphere no music and no other patrons. As much as the staff tried to assist us I had to guide them in the basics of table setting and I was massively disappointed and embarrassed. Food was bland - I don’t want to continue with anymore negative comments but my advice would be to go for breakfast in the sunshine and never on any other day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Colleen N
Johannesburg, South Africa
09 Aug 2017

“A lovely setting to enjoy a meal or cup of tea”
Table deco pleasant to the eye. Service is good and the waitress gave us great recommendations. Wide selection on the menu. Scones and cakes very yummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall William G
Johannesburg, South Africa
28 May 2017

“Sunday roast lunch”
Were very disappointed went for a Sunday roast and they had finished by the time we wanted to order. Decided on beef Wellington and go a mediocre small pie with a fillet in it but no sauce so ordered a gravy but not the best. Then for pudding had an apple pie obviously made a few days before and a cheese cake and then the price very unhappy. On the bright side a great place to go with kids the surroundings are peaceful so suggest tea and not for meals.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall plebswithkids

06 May 2017

“Rather average...”
While this venue is undeniably beautiful, I have to comment on the apparent disinterest of the staff. It seems that they just don't really care about their patrons - they mill about with blank faces as if their faces might crack if they smile. The building and play area are also in need of an upgrade, as they are starting to look a bit shoddy for such an "upmarket" venue.As for the toilets, come on guys - also in serious need of a revamp (and a clean would be good!)Food and drink - average.Sorry guys, but for my money I would much rather head out to Buitengeluk at Broadacres, which is far more pleasant overall.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall sac0012016
Fourways, South Africa
16 Apr 2017

“Hidden gem”
Great service and the ideal place for a function. We had a birthday function in the garden and the staff was very helpful and accommodating. Great place
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at The Secret Tea Garden
Book a Table
Contact The Secret Tea Garden
Contact Us
Address
16b Penguin Drive
Norscot Manor Recreation Centre
Fourways
2055

 

View map
Food Served
Coffee ShopBreakfastHigh TeaLight Meals
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday, Wednesday & Friday:
10:30 - 17:00
Tuesday - Thursday:
09:30 - 16:00
Saturday & Sunday:
08:30 - 17:00
Public Holidays:
08:30 - 17:00
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
Outside Seating
Disabled
Functions
Load Shedding
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT