Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall continent3
Johannesburg, South Africa
07 Jun 2021

“Nice ambience”
Great welcome from Linda Restaurant very different than expected from the road . Old worlde decorated with linen. Food was good - although my husband said his fish had a little freezer burn. Service was great and attentive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall HJonck1

28 Mar 2021

“Sadly disappointing”
Unfortunately the crayfish and prawns were tough. A lot of money for food which have not met expectations. Owners great, ambiance great, reminder of days gone by. Strongly recommend new chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall joash2904
Lanseria, South Africa
06 Mar 2021

“LOBSTER POT”
This is truely a hidden gem. Its on the main road but you probably would have driven by as the outside does not boast why lies on the inside. Service is warm and welcoming, the kind of place where an hour quickly becomes a relaxed afternoon. The food is the highlight. We ordered Thai crab, Sole and the seafood platter. Portions are generous. Seafood is fresh. Thai crab was authentic thai and a messy delight. The sole was grilled to perfection and coupled with garlic butter a traditional favourite. The platter was grilled Kabeljou, prawns and calamari which was crispy shell and melt in your mouth goodness. Topped with a bottle of Alto Rouge nice way to round up a great meal. Worthy of the 1.5 hour excursion from Durban. Lovely way spend a Saturday. Will be back with the family again.....
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall svestate
Durban, South Africa
19 Oct 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Succulent seafood”
We visited this venue after reading about it via other good reviews. On arrival, we were shown to a nice table positioned next to the fish tank that looks out over the restaurant. Good attentive service by the friendly lady waitresses as well as by the owner who came past our table on a few occasions to see how things were going.We sampled the creamy mussel starter which was served in a small potjie pot - an attractive presentation method. The dish was both tasty and with a morish sauce, which can be mopped up with the fresh bread slices provided. For mains, we tried the prawn platter and the seafood platter, both of which were excellent. Prawns cooked to perfection and accompanied by lovely rough cut chips and a sauce of your choice. The seafood platter comprised of a nicely cooked piece of linefish, some calamari and a few grilled prawns. All in all an attractive venue which takes you back in time. This business has been in operation since 1967, so its certainly stood the test of time. Well worth a visit for lunch or dinner.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Russell A
Durban, South Africa
23 Sep 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Bland and passionless cuisine!”
We dropped in for a Sunday lunch whilst on a four day stay on the south coast. The ambience on entering was great as was the welcome. It seems that a lot of the locals support their Sunday lunch special. We both chose the 'Catch of the Day' which was Dorado. As a side my wife had the veggies and I the chips. The fish was grilled dry, there was no lemon accompanying the dish, we had to ask for it. We asked for garlic butter and a peri-peri sauce to make it palatable. The peri-peri was just chopped chillies in oil. The veggies and chips were - forgettable! What a shame to spoil a perfectly good piece fresh Dorado by making it tasteless. We will never set foot in there again!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall AndrevN65
Krugersdorp, South Africa
06 Sep 2020

“Quaint old style restaurant”
It doesnt look like anything until you step inside then you experience the charm of this old style furnished restaurant. The owner as well as her daughter were attentive and had a personal touch with some interaction.Menu is good and the food is nice.Would have been nice to have seen a special or two.Portions were well presented however a little on the small side and left the youngsters appetites not entirely satisfied. Especially seeing as we only had mains and not starters.All the dishes we ordered were tasty though.It is noteworthy that we saw the Lobster taverns opposition next door namely the crayfish inn having some promotions running which we enjoyed the following day which was a cheap R 120 for 12 delicious queen prawns that were so good that we went twice to enjoy them.In these trying times perhaps the Lobster pot can take something from that to attract more people and better promote themselves.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MichaelU1121
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
22 Mar 2020

“Prawns and more prawns.”
We tried this place for the first time and were not disappointed. The decor is out the 60’s and it even has a ladies bar!!! The creamy mussel and the leak soups were really tasty to start with and then the prawn platter for two as main course. The prawns were massive and prepared just right. Will definitely return!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 866elaine

06 Mar 2020

“Absolutely delicious”
Food was so tasty and the portions are a big size, the atmosphere very romantic and the staff very pleasant and efficient.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall sehlulen2016
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
13 Jan 2020

“Late lunch while out exploring”
A local recommendation from another local restaurant... The food was good and well cooked. The waiter was polite and friendly. We met the owner while taking selfies out. She was very helpful and checked if we had been seen to before we even got inside. She made sure the temperature was comfortable inside. An all round pleasent lunch experience. Everyone of us enjoyed our food.. And we are tad fussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ReneiloeM1

04 Jan 2020

“Exceeded expectations”
I was there with my family for a late lunch on 4 January 2020. Rarely does a place check all the boxes - ambience, food and hosting. Caroline was amazing! This gem ticked all of them. It surpassed our expectations. My girls were incredibly happy. Daddy grinned like a Cheshire Cat! I would certainly go back, again and again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at The Lobster Pot Restaurant
Book a Table
Contact The Lobster Pot Restaurant
Contact Us
Address
Lot 955 Marine Drive
Ramsgate South
South Coast (KZN)

 

View map
Food Served
Fine DiningGrillsPastasSeafood
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
In Season
Monday - Sunday: 12:00 - 21:00

Out of Season
Wednesday - Saturday: 12:00 - 21:00
Sunday: 11:30 - 17:00
Facilities
Takeaways
Functions
Dancefloor
Wi-Fi
Secure Parking
Disabled
Outside Seating
Weddings
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2021 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT