Claim this listing
OverviewMenuReviews
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall dirmug
Eversdal, South Africa
12 Jun 2021

“Birthday celebration”
We had an awesome evening, celebrating a friend's birthday. The food was made to perfection. We even indulged in dessert, even though the food was ample. And to top it all, there was complimentary vodka-chocolate drinks for all of us. Tenda was an excellent and attentive waitress.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Jan-PauldClerk

31 Dec 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Perfect wedding reception.”
We had our wedding reception/dinner at the Hussar Grill Durbanville, and from what we experienced they are a cut above the rest. They made everything easy and stress free, the service was on point and friendly, truly exceptional. They went above and beyond their duty to make the evening as special as they could. Not only was the service great, but the food was excellent! A heartfelt thank you to Hussar Grill.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall WernerV361
Cape Town Central, South Africa
25 Oct 2020

“Such an amazing gem!!”
Such an amazing gem!! The restaurant gives you the impression of a very fancy restaurant which is expensive. Contrary, prices are good and the food is absolutely amazing. The waiters and manager are friendly and make you feel like you are a part of the family. Always a favourite to go back to.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Durbanville, responded to this review.
Dear Wernerv361,Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our The Hussar Grill Durbanville steakhouse. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our team took such great care of you during your visit.We look forward to many more excellent occasions with you.Kind regards,The Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall dirmug
Eversdal, South Africa
22 Oct 2020

“Mid week dinner delight”
We had such a lovely evening with a friend in this restaurant. Clovid protocol is adhered to but there is still a relaxed vibe. Friendly staff assisted us and made excellent recommendations on the meat cuts. A sample sauté were brought to the table to test before ordering. Love the cozy decor with bookshelves and old books stacked in it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Durbanville, responded to this review.
Good day, Dirmug,Thank you for your kind words about our The Hussar Grill Durbanville steakhouse. We're so thrilled to hear that your time with us was wonderful.We look forward to many more excellent occasions with you.Kind regards,The Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall NormanS1414
Cape Town Central, South Africa
21 Oct 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Mixed feelings”
Good points : nice layout , clean, friendly atmosphere, nice menu, had a great starter and all of us had mostly a good experience.Bad point : cooking of the steaks is an issue for me.(1) Steak main course - they used a basting sauce after I asked them not to. ()2 They used olive oil then to cook steak - it had a horrible “ fried” steak taste.I queried it and it appears the grill is not “ Teflon” plated so it sticks to the grill if they don’t use olive oil ( that’s a cop out for me a steak enthusiast)No grill marks On steak.... ( ?? C’mon guys.. that’s a basic error)maybe most people don’t cook a steak with detail but I do.... and it was nowhere near cooked the way it should be.Having said that our table in general all really enjoyed there meals ( including Me and my starter ) Would loved to chatted to the franchise owner to point out how to make subtle corrections to enhance the steak delivery but we will go back anyway for another try.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Durbanville, responded to this review.
Dear Normans1414,Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our The Hussar Grill Durbanville steakhouse. We are disappointed to hear that you did not fully enjoy your dining experience with us.We would like the opportunity to get in touch and hopefully rectify this. Please follow this link https://hus20.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=COknBs and provide us with your contact details.Kind regards,The Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall seanJHB
Johannesburg, South Africa
29 Aug 2020

“Lunch with Family”
We had a very good lunch at Hussars today! The standard CV19 practices in place so make a reservation rather than be disappointed. The 2 course meal is great value for money whilst food quality is high across the whole menu. Chicken Livers stood out as great starter options. Ribeye steak was a winner for mains. We had fantastic creme brule for dessert. Pricing on the higher side of the spectrum. Service cannot be faulted.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Durbanville, responded to this review.
Dear Seanjhb,Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review of our The Hussar Grill Durbanville steakhouse. We're extremely pleased to hear that your dinner with us was superb! We look forward to having you dine with us again soon.Warm regards,The Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall stevea433
Durbanville, South Africa
13 Feb 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Client Dinner”
Clients from Durban joined us for dinner. Amazing service, atmosphere and food. All of us would not hesitate to recommend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Durbanville, responded to this review.
Dear Stevea433,Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our The Hussar Grill Durbanville steakhouse. We are very glad to hear that you and your clients had a great time at our restaurant.We look forward to many more memorable experiences with you.Warm regards,The Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Illona0077
Cape Town Central, South Africa
09 Jan 2020

“Quality steaks”
If you are looking for quality steaks, look no further. My favourite is a 200g rump steak with the mustard sauce. Try it, it is great. The price compares great to other restaurants and I would recommend Hussar Grill as they always serves quality meat, except the one at Grand West Casino.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Durbanville, responded to this review.
Dear Illona0077,Thank you for your review of our The Hussar Grill Durbanville grill room; your recommendation of us is very much appreciated. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely time at our restaurant and that you enjoyed your perfectly-aged succulent steak so much!We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.Best regards,The Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Swifty58
Bristol, United Kingdom
04 Jan 2020

“Fantastic meal”
Three English guys over for the cricket in Cape Town. We're all old gits but agreed the steaks are among the best we've ever had. And Carol the waitress was lovely. We would recommend it highly.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Durbanville, responded to this review.
Good day, Swifty58,Thank you for your review of our The Hussar Grill Durbanville grill room; your recommendation of us is very much appreciated. We pride ourselves on cuisine and service excellence - glad you experienced both.We look forward to welcoming all three of you great English men back for another amazing Hussar Grill experience soon.Warm regards,The Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall adh1805a
Durbanville, South Africa
30 Dec 2019

“Good Steak at affordable prices”
Had dinner with friends and it such a pleasure to bring your own wine and not pay corkage, which allows you to afford good wine with your meal. Had the sirloin on the bone which is always great and the onion rings are a must. Great to be able to swapout the starch for a healthy salad option.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Durbanville, responded to this review.
Dear Adh1805A,Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are ecstatic to hear that you and your friend had such a wonderful time and enjoyed one of our succulent steaks.We look forward to many more excellent occasions with you.Warm regards,The Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contact The Hussar Grill - Durbanville
Contact Us
Address
Village Square, Shop 5
Cnr Oxford & Queens Street
Durbanville
7550
Food Served
SteakhouseFine DiningGrills
Trading Hours
Monday - Saturday: 12:00 - 22:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 16:00
Facilities
Functions
Fireplace
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2021 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT