Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Daniella_Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
08 Mar 2020

“This is our favorite place”
This is our favorite place in Joburg to eat meat. The pepper crusted fillet is to die for, which goes best with the very tasty mushroom sauce. Fries are good too, if only they had proper mayonaise instead of the tangy variety which is way too sweet. Not so good was the chicken Caesar salad - too much dressing, too much chicken, hardly any lettuce. We were very excited when we saw the Lindt chocolate mousse on the menu, so we ordered that. Unfortunately, it was very dry and almost solid - the opposite of what a mousse should be. Another mistake was that they kept the mousse in a refrigerator that is also used for savory dishes. As a result, the outside of the mousse had a savory taste to it - not nice. We will keep coming back here for the fillet, but we hope that they will lift the quality of the other dishes to that fillet level.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegrillhouse_rb, Marketing at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this review.
Good day Daniella. We express regret about the experience you had with us. Thank you for taking time to send us feedback, all feedback from our clients whether positive or negative is very welcoming. We strive to provide great food and service and will definitely look into the Caesar salad and mousse? Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Thanks and have a great day further.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall H5205YZmatteog
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
22 Feb 2020

“Excellent service and beef fillet”
I had the usual fillet 300grams with sauce on the side. I asked for medium-rare cooking, and I must say it was excellent. It is my choice every time I’m in Johannesburg. On top of that, staff is always friendly and you really feel they are doing their best to make you feel home.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegrillhouse_rb, Marketing at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this review.
Dear Matteo,It was a pleasure serving you. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us.Your rating and review is greatly appreciated!We hope you'll come and see us again soon! Have a great day further and don't forget to follow us on Social Media.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall vivrainford01
Leeds, United Kingdom
10 Feb 2020

“The best steak and malva pudding”
A lovely evening with friends and a first visit to The Grillhous will definately be returning next time I visit Johannesburg. My fillet steak with pepper sauce was delicious, tasty and tender. The Malva pudding the best I have ever tasted. Yummy!Service was perfect. Slightly expensive overall but happy to pay it for such a lovely meal.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegrillhouse_rb, Marketing at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this review.
Thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your experience at The Grillhouse, all feedback from our guests whether positive or negative is very welcoming. Glad you enjoyed the restaurant. Thanks for the rating & review. Follow us on social media for awesome promotions and events.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall PaolinoOLDBOY85
Montemarciano, Italy
21 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“super meat!!”
I had 2 dinners at the grillhouse and it is definitevely a place where to have a meal.The waiters are very kind and the meat is really wonderful!there are a lot of solution, with perfect cooking timing and with high quality.If you're getting there early there is no need to book. The prices are not super economical, but in line with the quality of the serviceif u are in merlose arch you must go there!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegrillhouse_rb, social media manager at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this review.
Thank you Paolino for the rating, awesome review and taking time to send us feedback on your experience at The Grillhouse. Much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed our restaurant and please join us again soonest.Don't forget to follow us on social media for promotions and events. Have a wonderful day further.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Gautenger65
Johannesburg, South Africa
08 Jan 2020

“Disappointing Steak meal”
For a Resturant that specializes in Steak, this was a huge disappointment. I ordered a 300 gram rump, what was served was a piece of meat that consisted of fat and sinew. Attempting to eat it was a challenge and eventually I sent it back. All credit to Management they replaced the meal, by which time my family had eaten their meal, the new steak was better, but still not prime meat. I questioned why the first piece of meat wasn’t eliminated at the cooking stage? They didn’t respond. Unfortunately the Management are really active and not proactive. Other branches of the Grillhouse are superb, just avoid Melrose Arch as they are not up to scratch for the money they charge.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegrillhouse_rb, social media manager at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this review.
Good day Gautenger65. We express regret about the experience you had with us. Thank you for taking time to send us feedback, all feedback from our clients whether positive or negative is very welcoming. We strive to provide great food and service and if you would like to address the issue. Please email me garth@thegrillhouse.co.za and we will get back to you. Thanks and have a great day further.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MDBMOT

03 Jan 2020

“Consistently high quality and service”
Consistently high levels of quality and service. Have eaten here a number of times most recently last Sunday and have never been disappointed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegrillhouse_rb, social media manager at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this review.
Thank you MDBMOT for taking time to send us feedback. Your rating and review is greatly appreciated. Please join us again soonest and don't forget to follow us on social media for awesome promotions and events.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Dorsethill
Dorset
31 Dec 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“evening visit”
On a recent visit to Johannesburg met friends at The Grill House. Cannot complain about the friendly staff or the food but.... one of our friends ordered a Cappuccino... It was served in an expresso cup i.e. very very miniscule.... if that would have been served to me,... I would have complained.... she was too kind not too.... If that is how a Cappuccino or Latte is served.... that is rediculous. Was this an error???? or is that how it is served at the Grill House??? I wonder !!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegrillhouse_rb, social media manager at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this review.
Good day Dorsethill. Thank you for taking time to send us feedback on your experience at The Grillhouse, all feedback from our clients whether positive or negative is very welcoming. Our Cappuccino's are served in a smaller cup, but not an espresso cup.Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will look into it.Have a great day further
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ramiroz500
Lima, Peru
23 Nov 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Good nice Steak, service improvable!”
Food and Ambience were nice!! We had some Giant Prawns +a 600 grams Rump Steak, and a Cheesecake. Also a nice bottle of Syrah. The sensation with servers is that they are always rushing. If I happen to be in the área again, I will come back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegrillhouse_rb, social media manager at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this review.
Thank you Ramiroz500 for taking time to send us feedback on your experience at The Grillhouse. Your rating and review is greatly appreciated. Please join us again soonest and don't forget to follow us on social media for awesome promotions and events.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall clairemB3310NQ
Chatham, Canada
07 Oct 2019

“Who won’t leave hungry .org disappointed!”
Had a marvellous dinner! Large group of 10 and everyone had their meal so within 10 minutes. Service was impeccable and the ambiance was upbeat and friendly, most importantly everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal. We’d go back in a heartbeat!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegrillhouse_rb, social media manager at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this review.
Dear Claire,It was a pleasure serving you. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us.Your rating and review is greatly appreciated!We hope you'll come and see us again soon! Have a great day further and don't forget to follow us on Social Media.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall mattusj

22 Sep 2019

“Nothing special about this place, but parking is EXPENSIVE,”
They have a nice location. That is about it. The food was ok, definitely not spectacular. We were expecting better based on the prices and location. Would we come back? Not on our request. Would we return if someone else wanted to go? Probably, everyone can have a bad night. But parking in the mall cost almost as much as the dinner, so beware.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegrillhouse_rb, social media manager at The Grillhouse Melrose Arch, responded to this review.
Good day mattusj. We express regret about the experience you had today. Thank you for taking time to send us feedback, all feedback from our clients whether positive or negative is very welcoming. We strive to provide great food and service and would like to address the issue. Please email me garth@thegrillhouse.co.za and we will get back to you. Thanks and have a great day further.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at The Grillhouse - Melrose Arch
Book a Table
Contact The Grillhouse - Melrose Arch
Contact Us
Address
The Piazza, Shop HL20 & HL21
Melrose Arch, 38 Whiteley Road
Melrose North

 

View map
Food Served
SteakhouseFine DiningGrills
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday: 12:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Child Friendly
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Secure Parking
Disabled
Outside Seating
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT