Weather
OverviewMenuReviews
Guest ratings (11)
  • User Reviews
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Sort By:
Overall Dean Rex
02 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Ambience
Value for Money
If I could give a minus 5 I would. We called the restaurant endlessly for a deck booking, even emailed via dining out, no response or answer. Arrived at the restaurant and were greeted by two poorly mannered employees, there was a open table at the deck and we were turned away. The employees even had the audacity to tell us we cannot afford to pay a tip more than R20 and we're rude. This service is utterly disgusting and poor for business. We then went and ate upstairs and had such a lovely experience and even tipped our waiter much more than the R20 that we cannot afford. I will never return here again and have been here numerous times!!!!!
0 0
Overall Tracey Douglas
09 Sep 2019

Food
Service
Ambience
Value for Money
We were hoping for a lovely Saturday afternoon lunch but I was served the most disgusting Nachos I have ever had. My boyfriends curry was just okay. Our sons snack basket was overcooked. My food didn't come out the kitchen until I complained. The first sign something was wrong. Only after my food came out did they bring the meatballs for the snack basket on a side plate. No one came to check on us. I eventually took my plate inside as I could not eat the sloppy mess (no guacamole on Nachos too) and refused to pay for it which they did take off the bill however consider the bad service and yuk food you would think my entire meal and the snack basket should have been for free. We were told next time we come we should ask for the manager lady who was most apologetic but there won't be a next time. Plenty of options in the area where I can eat without disappointment and not have to complain.
0 0
Overall Sonia Bacon
06 Jul 2019

Food
Service
Ambience
Value for Money
Absolutely awesome friendly service here. Even our 3 re-homed fur-children were served each with their own bowls. The view of the ocean is breathtaking. Thank you for a fabulous lunch.
0 0
Overall Mariaan Venter
21 May 2019

Food
Service
Ambience
Value for Money
We used to love this place and made sure we visited at least once every holiday. But what a disappointment today. We came for a breakfast at 10am and were the only people there. The music was so loud we had to ask to have it turned down to hear each other. And the place was dirty! You'd think that early on a Tuesday at least the floor would be clean.
0 0
Overall Jaun Grobler
26 Apr 2019

Food
Service
Ambience
Value for Money
Having been to this restaurant many times over the past few years I must say that it takes a lot to beat the beachfront location of The Galley. I remember even doing some dolphin and whale watching during seasons whilst enjoying my lunch or a shark bite cocktail, which packs a punch!
0 0
Overall Jackie Hattingh
30 Nov 2018

Food
Service
Ambience
Value for Money
Great food and service especially from waiter Khanye
Such a friendly beautiful humble person
Great food as always keep it up guys lovely tranquil environment
0 0
Overall Cheryll Flink
17 Oct 2018

Food
Service
Ambience
Value for Money
The view was spectacular, waitress and manager so friendly and the food scrumptious. I dont know what the other reviews are claiming but our experience overall was excellent! A definate must visit. We all ate a different dish and wow wow wow! Only compliments all round. Will be going again before we leave for jhb.
0 0
Overall Karen Saad
03 Jan 2018
 
Food
Service
Ambience
Value for Money
The only thing going for the restaurant is the view. We came for the second time and it was as disappointing as the first. Waited an hour and a half for our food. The food was absolutely over priced and terrible! We raised it with the waiter and management didn’t even bother to come see. The service was absolutely terrible!!
0 0
Overall Laurette-Lynn Eyssell
07 Oct 2017
 
Food
Service
Ambience
Value for Money
My husbands comment: Feeling really cheesed off. These guys advertise rugby etc outside. We booked our table... After ordering our meal we ask the manager to put the sound up. He says NO. He is not allowed to but we can go and sit in the smoking area and watch the game there. Without any further explaining or listening, he leaves us sitting. Problem is: I DONT SMOKE. I can think of a lot to say. One thing: Ocean Basket is opening up right next to you shortly. Good luck for your future if you don't check you customer relations. I immediately phoned the rest of our group and told them to eat elsewhere.
Me: Ate here on our first night and it was great. Leaves a bad taste in the mouth on our last night though... and by the way other people left at half time with us and manager did not even care to greet.
0 0
Overall Derek Gallagher
18 Jul 2017

Food
Service
Ambience
Value for Money
Not the best seafood I have eaten
0 0
Book a Table at The Galley Beach Bar & Grill
Book a Table
Contact The Galley Beach Bar & Grill
Contact Us
Address
17 Compensation Beach Road
Ballito

 

View map
Food Served
SeafoodBreakfastGrillsLight Meals
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Child Friendly
TV/Sports
Take Out
Smoking Section
Wi-Fi
Secure Parking
Disabled
Outside Seating
Pet Friendly
Load Shedding
Awards
Best for After Work Drinks in KwaZulu Natal
Best for Cocktails in KwaZulu Natal
Best for Families with Kids in KwaZulu Natal
Best for Scenic Views in KwaZulu Natal
Best for Banting in North Coast (KZN)
Best for Coffee in North Coast (KZN)
Best for Crafts & Draughts in North Coast (KZN)
Best for Healthy Food in North Coast (KZN)
Best for Live Sports in North Coast (KZN)
Best for Sundowners in North Coast (KZN)
Best for Burgers in Ballito
Great for Breakfast in Ballito
Great for Steak in Ballito
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT