Website
Weather
OverviewMenuReviews
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
  • Media Reviews
Overall Kimbo30
Dallas
28 Jun 2019

“You can get full, not stunning, not awful”
It’s possible to do far better at any neighboring establishments. management very indifferent. No tours of vineyard or cellar seem to be available or offered, just tastings. If you love gin, however, it has an impressive selection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall PhilY514
Montreal, Canada
03 Jun 2019

“Amazing gin bar”
Superb decor and setting to enjoy the greatest gins in South Africa. I strongly recommend the gin tasting!My compliments to Thierry and the whole staff!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Gallivant_with_G
Cape Town Central, South Africa
20 Apr 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great location and good food - Great venue for relaxed get togethers”
Sansibar is located at the Asara Wine Estate and HotelGreat venue for relaxed get togethers The casual/informal restaurant offers great wood fired pizza, ribs, burgers, chicken and fish options. The menu is short but comprehensive and offers options for all tastes. Staff are efficient and friendly. Get there early evening for sundowners and enjoy the view before dinner. Order pizza twist starters with your drinks.For mains the pizza is always good, I have also had the ribs which were great.Leave space for dessert - You have to try the Apple Tart Tatin and the Wood Fired Baked BananaI'm definitely going back to try the Sansibar Gin Lounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall eonayt

08 Apr 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Beautiful view, but that's about it.”
Whilst busy exploring new places in the Winelands we decided to tick Asara off our list this past weekend.I've been wanting to try out Sansibar at Asara for such a long time now especially for their infamous Pizza and array of Gins!On Saturday afternoon we headed to Asara for a late lunch a few Gins (or so we thought). The beautiful tree-lined road leading up to Asara already made my expectations even higher only to be let down as soon as we entered the Sansibar. Not a single employee in sight, no hostess. We wandered around aimlessly for about 5 minutes until I asked a waitron if we can take a seat, to which he answer only if we have a booking (which we didn't).I then asked if they have an available table only for a couple of drinks and he said we can choose a seat - which we did, and he disappeared. I got up to ask for menu's after a couple of minutes to be presented with only one. After about 10 minutes a waitron pitched, after seeing our confused facial expressions (502 different Gins on the menu, how can one chooses) he asked if he could come back later. We declined and asked for suggestions which we ordered. The Gins were good, but we opted for lunch elsewhere with better service. We had to pay at the counter as our waitron has yet to check on us.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall mrabotha
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
24 Mar 2019

“Dinner for two”
While staying at Asara we went for dinner at the Sansibar Bistro. What an experience. We sat out on the patio. They lowered the shade to keep the cold out. They gave my wife a blanket to wrap around her. The waiter was very polite and the food was great. Only place I have encountered that serve chipotle. Yes, they are special and good.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JustaTravelJunkie
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
10 Feb 2019

“Good for lunch or dinner”
Eat here 3 times on a recent stay. Fairly casual style of dining, but good menu choice and well cooked and presented. Service is generally good. Lovely setting which eclipses everything else.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall anetclinical
Cape Town Central, South Africa
07 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Good food with Good Service”
Went for a late afternoon lunch after wine tastings. The well trained staff were professional and friendly. The food was good and the pizza can be recommended. Lovely deck with a view over the dam.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Eline H
Bergen
21 Jan 2019

“Food with a view”
Lovely food and a beautiful view at the vinery and lake! They also have very good cocktails. Excellent service.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall W7334SVdanielo

06 Jan 2019

“Great Food with a view”
My girlfriend and I came to Sensibar for lunch and were very impressed with the service. The great food and amazing view from the deck.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall samandgabysmum
London, United Kingdom
03 Jan 2019

“Great view, good food”
Went for lunch and absolutely loved sitting there with the view. The food is good but nothing memorable. The Parma ham and gorgonzola pizza my son found too salty. The baby roast chicken was great. Other food was fine. Expensive for what you get (would be half the price in Java/Basic Bistro in Stellenbosch) but I guess you pay for the view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Sansibar @ Asara
Book a Table
Contact Sansibar @ Asara
Contact Us
Address
Asara Wine Estate
Polkadraai Road
Stellenbosch

 

View map
Food Served
MediterraneanBistro
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday:
12:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Accommodation
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT