Website
Weather
OverviewMenuReviews
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
  • Media Reviews
Overall stevoX2019BN

12 Dec 2018

“Pretty restaurant, poor food”
The restaurant is truly stunning, but burgers tasted like poorly thawed undercooked frozen patties (x2 patrons). When this was brought to their attention and the dish returned (and not refunded), their response was quite unapologetic and they never returned with the bill and so we had to chase down a waiter, who then charged the wrong amount and again needed to be tracked down. Plenty of better options are available in the area.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 987Kat
Kirchheim unter Teck, Germany
12 Nov 2018

“Decent food but not very attentive service”
We went to Sansibar for dinner one night and overall it was okay but service was very unattentive which irritated me as otherwise staff from the hotel was very attentive and friendly.The place was pretty packed so we expected some waiting which was fine. After placing our orders, our drinks came and unfortunately never were filled up the entire evening. We had to grab our bottle of wine from the cooler placed somewhere ourselves and ordering another bottle of water was tricky, as nobody seemed to care about us.Food was good, nothing to complain here.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ChloCh

25 Sep 2018

“Great food and friendly service”
We ate dinner here when we arrived late to Stellenbosch and it was our favourite meal while visiting the area. Absolutely delicious food and very friendly and helpful staff.The Hot Chocolate Pot was an absolute highlight and highly recommended for any chocolate lover. We even came back on our last night to enjoy another one. They also have an beautiful bar with big open fireplace and comfy furniture which had a great ambience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Danielle P

10 Jul 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“New experience”
We did a gin tasting and all I can say is WOW. This was a fantastic new experience with a wide variety of gins and we loved every moment of it. We even had the opportunity to make our own little cocktail (shaken not stirred) and it was fantastic.The presentation of the drinks as well as the food was beautiful and I would definitely go again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Aeraille
Cape Town Central, South Africa
08 Jul 2018

“Very Satisfied”
After a disappointing visit to Spier we arrived at Asara Estate for lunch. We were directed to a tarred parking space by an attendant, and directed to reception. The estate has a small Deli and Sansibar, a lunch venue. The main dining room is only open in the evenings. There is seating inside and on a lovely terrace some of which is covered, but the views are superb. We were met at the entrance and offered a selection of seating. We selected pizzas which arrived promptly and were excellent with thin crispy bases and quality toppings. The service is excellent and enthusiastic.After lunch we selected a pastry to share at the Deli and were greeted with polite and efficient service, as well as a delicious pastry but the choice was quite limited.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall FranceJ19

01 Jul 2018

“Beautiful views, comfortable setting and perfect to celebrate life with friends”
Good food and comfortable setting with a beautiful view on a cool winters day. The pizza was delicious and the gin selection unrivalled! Service was somewhat slow but understandable due to the size of our group (10 people). I can definitely recommend wine tasting at the cellar - excellent selection of top wines.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall clintonc536
Somerset West, South Africa
10 Jun 2018

“Gin Experience”
We visited Sansibar yesterday, we will most definitely be returning. With 350 different Gins from around the world. We will be returning soon. This trip was well worth it. The waiters explained the gins and food paring excellent.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Kimmysa
Somerset West, South Africa
25 Mar 2018

“Loved the Gin Bar!”
Highly recommend this fabulous restaurant. We stopped here specifically because it is a wine tasting estate with a Gin bar. We were not disappointed! We had an awesome table with a spectacular view. The service from Marc was excellent and the food very tasty. But the best part of Sansibar is by far the spectacular Bar! The Bar staff are brilliant and we enjoyed an excellent Gin shooter! Definitely coming back!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MayoPandM
County Dublin, Ireland
08 Mar 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Really poor experience.”
Booked and paid deposit for inside table at 8, arrived and we were offered seat outside, cold, and eventually seated at 8.35Both ordered pizza....wood fired.....terrible experience in both cases. Cardboard base and ingredients did not match menu descriptions.Pleasant staff " appreciated" feedback and took away half eaten product and naturally charged the full price.Dont make our mistake and I how this saves you from one!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall woodieslocksheath
Southampton, United Kingdom
04 Mar 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Stunning........breathtakingly stunning location”
This was another of our lunch-time "walk-ins" (no reservation) and we were lucky as we had a table overlooking the dam.....just fabulous!The Sansibar is the "less formal" restaurant at Asara but nevertheless the standards are of the very highest order especially the staff who were attentive but not over-bearing.Wanting a light lunch (were going out to dinner later that day) we went for a bottle of wine accompanied by two pizzas and they were just great - real "Italian wood cooked" ones of the most generous proportions.A really nice lunch enjoyed in surroundings that are up with the very best in the area.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Sansibar @ Asara
Book a Table
Contact Sansibar @ Asara
Contact Us
Address
Asara Wine Estate
Polkadraai Road
Stellenbosch

 

View map
Food Served
MediterraneanBistro
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday:
12:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Accommodation
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT