Website
Weather
OverviewMenuReviews
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
  • Media Reviews
Overall alet030
Mossel Bay, South Africa
28 Feb 2021

“Wonderful setting,but noisy”
Were very disappointed as it was very noisy and the place is not up to standard. It has a beautiful setting,and so much potential. We were looking forward to a relaxing evening. Guests were loud talking on their phones and without consideration for other people.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Nozazi
Cape Town, South Africa
30 Nov 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great Place to middle”
I love this place, i have been here a couple of times. The barman knows his stuff, I enjoy the consistence . I noticed a new vibrant, fresh crowd, its great place to meet new people. Gin testing, variety of cocktails and its well priced.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Aeraille
Cape Town Central, South Africa
08 May 2020

“Wonderful Location”
The beautiful drive up to the facility is worth the visit. Parking is monitored by staff. Sansibar has mostly outside seating which extends around to the front of the building and overlooks their natural dam with an astonishing Mountain View. We came for lunch and the menu was complete and reasonably priced. Service was good. There is also a bar inside.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall gert j
Somerset West, South Africa
12 Feb 2020

“Dissapointing”
Million dollar view, unfortunatly the food is not .I remember the good old days with nice food.The current food is average , more like pub style food.The burger is average , the tomato based lasagne style food is too sharp , sour in taste.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall fernandoatik
Brasilia, DF
19 Jan 2020

“Nice sunset”
The place, part of the hotel and Asara winery is simply beautiful. It is particularly amazing with clear skies. The service and food are ordinary tough.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall KerriD204

01 Nov 2019

Service
“Horrified”
This was my second visit to Sansibar at Asara and it definitely left a bitter taste in my mouth. The first visit was good, we did the gin tasting and the service was ok, nothing amazing but ok. I am a serious gin lover and really enjoy the variety on hand at the bar. After a wine tour, with international guests, we recommended to visit for a quick gin tasting before heading home and we were highly embarrassed. Recommending to end the day off here was such a let done. The staff all had such terrible attitudes, the manager Serge was about the only one who tried to assist but was let down by his barman were horrible. I will certainly not be rushing back nor will I ever recommend this to anyone again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Janeypwinkle
Surrey, United Kingdom
08 Aug 2019

“Lovely ambience”
We always pop into this restaurant even when we are not staying at Asara, it’s well worth a visit, great views, relaxed atmosphere, good food and reasonably priced.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall EricaT1443
Durbanville, South Africa
21 Jul 2019

“Gin tasting and lunch”
Booked a table for 8 pax for gin tasting and lunch. Was shocked to hear the tasting was R245pp for 4 small gin tastings!! Lunch was ok but not great for such an establishment. Service was lacking - had to call for waitron.Excellent views and garden.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Kimbo30
Dallas
28 Jun 2019

“You can get full, not stunning, not awful”
It’s possible to do far better at any neighboring establishments. management very indifferent. No tours of vineyard or cellar seem to be available or offered, just tastings. If you love gin, however, it has an impressive selection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall PhilY514
Montreal, Canada
03 Jun 2019

“Amazing gin bar”
Superb decor and setting to enjoy the greatest gins in South Africa. I strongly recommend the gin tasting!My compliments to Thierry and the whole staff!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Sansibar @ Asara
Book a Table
Contact Sansibar @ Asara
Contact Us
Address
Asara Wine Estate
Polkadraai Road
Stellenbosch

 

View map
Food Served
MediterraneanBistro
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday:
12:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Accommodation
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2021 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT