Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall cha_nicho
Cape Town
06 Feb 2019

“Souk has the look!”
Great venue, looks amazing!On the balcony in summer it gets hot with no aircon, big NO NO, and the roller blinds are broken... if you're selling a bottle of spirits for R16,500, why is it broken? :(The platter for 3, Delicious!!!The music, A-M-A-ZINGThe vibe, FabulousThe male wait staff, some have body odour issues. Not cool when they lean over you while you're eating...eeek!That aside! The service was not lacking at all.It would be nice to make tapas platters and have more cider options.Great night had by all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Guide718098

30 Dec 2018

“Entertainer met with distain”
We recently visited Souk because we saw it on entertainer. Initially I really liked the look of the place, quite classy and it had a great balcony looking out onto Long Street. The service however was lacking. Once seated we waited a while and then had to ask for a waiter to attend us. The first waiter didn't know what Entertainer was so he went to call someone who did and when they got there (15min later) he obviously was not impressed that we wanted to use it. We got our "2 for 1 house beverages" which were glasses of pretty good wine but we never saw the waiter again until we asked for the bill. I know it must be disappointing getting people who want to use Entertainer but we always tip on the full bill so I'm not sure what difference it makes to them. If the business has agreed to Entertainer vouchers, it should be impressed on the waiters that patrons should be treated the same. Unless that is the general level of service, in which case that's quite disappointing.Overall, we didn't feel welcome and I don't think we'd go again (with or without vouchers) dispite the interesting looking cocktails.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall sdonica
Cape Town, South Africa
15 Oct 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Nice Chill Spot”
We had a great time. Souk has a club vibe, they serve good food and great music.Very varied crowd, a mix of what Cape Town has to offer.We had dinner with friends and enjoyed great tunes from the DJ.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall tamsyn_a_frankson
Cape Town, South Africa
27 Aug 2018

“A weekday wonderful”
This venue has become a true must for weeknight gatherings. Great food, amazing music (especially Wednesday nights Slow Jam and Jams) and the crowd is funky, looking for a good classy night. Always lots of fun at Souk with friends!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall georgevrio
Wenzhou, China
18 May 2018

“Nice crowd, food and music”
Situated 4-5minutes uber ride from convention centre and the Southern Sun hotel, this place has to offer great music and a brilliantly cooked food.Near it one can find other bars too.Visited with our business partners for a more chilled atmosphere away from boring meeting rooms or hotel bars. We all danced to house music and enjoyed the lovely food plattersOne negative aspect was that the waiters where always on a rush even though the place was not that crowded, thus bringing in wrong orders.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall etlddfm
Sheffield, United Kingdom
24 Mar 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Not really a restaurant”
If you want to eat a meal here then make sure you go when it is warm enough to eat outside on the balcony. This is where you can sit up to the table and eat comfortably. If you have to go inside as we did, you will find low sofas and tiny tables. We ended up having the plates on our laps. The menu describes the dishes as tapas, but they are much too big to be called that. One dish each was plenty. The ribs were tough.When we eventually received the bill (slow service) 10% had been added (itemised as "tips") and we were invited to leave a further gratuity. We didn't, and won't be back.This place is aimed at people who want to listen to the DJs and dance while having a drink and snacks. It is not primarily aimed at diners.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall CTandyou
Cape Town Central, South Africa
05 Mar 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“LATE DINNER AND DRINKS”
The place is lovely and the vibe is there created by various dj's that mix brillantly oldies, pop, R&B and Gqom along with other african musics.The food is very nice, the portions decent.Sad that there are no desserts, that would also fit with some of the cocktails when later on the night for the sweet tooth!.One small negative point : your waiters. They are very rough, not classy and could be a bit more creative when offering the menus and try and recognise your clientele when coming often. Same for the people taking away the glasses, they almost jump on you almost when the last sip is just swallowed....some grace would be appreciated....Other than that good job.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall EmiliaD889

28 Feb 2018

“Amazing Food”
I was unsure of which seafood to go for so I had the option of choosing Tempura Prawns to go with my Seared Salmon Salad.For dessert I had an amazing brownie with a side of Fruit Salsa and Amarula whipped cream.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MadsR211
Hout Bay, South Africa
24 Feb 2018

“Souk is just awesome”
I had the most fab time having lunch at Souk. The staff are so friendly and helpful. They made me feel special. Food so fresh and tasty. I had the Nicoise Salad, YUMMY. The Resturant is beautifully decorated. I will def be back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Sunshine0789
Johannesburg, South Africa
15 Jan 2018

Service
Value for Money
“Night Out”
This is a great place to go for a night out.We booked a table near the dj box. At first there was a bit of a mix up when the hos told us that there were people seated at the section we had booked. This was resolved - but did leave a bit of a sour taste in our mouths.Any way we ordered drinks and danced away. Only issue that the dance floor is quite small. If you're going to have a dj box, then the dance floor needs to be at least double the size they currently have.None the less we had a great time.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at SOUK
Book a Table
Contact SOUK
Contact Us
Address
163 Long Street
Cape Town City Centre

 

View map
Food Served
TapasGrillsLight MealsMediterraneanSeafood
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Tuesday - Saturday: 15:00 - 02:00
Facilities
Take Out
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Dancefloor
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Weddings
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT