Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall ninakriel
East London, South Africa
05 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Exceptional Indian food”
Everything we had was delicious, and we did share and taste around. Great service and great recommendations. Don't be macho - when they say it's hot, it's HOT.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall mareec0nnell
East London, South Africa
01 Dec 2018

“Ladies night out”
What a culinary experience. We shared the tempura prawn and tempura brinjal starter. Then shared the lamb Rogan josh and chicken and prawn curry. Such delicate fusion of flavours. Excellent service.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Dawie S

17 Sep 2018

“Nice and hot”
Our dinner with friends was great. The restaurant is small and intimate and our service was very good. A quick meal with friends turned into a 3 hour gastronomic trip. I can recommend the butter chicken and the lamb korma (hot). Booking is a must as its a small place.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall DaenaK4

06 Sep 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Best hands down!”
Indian food at its best with the plus of eating in the most stunning themed restaurant! A must, money well spent.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall M2614DTfrankm
East London, South Africa
13 Jul 2018

“Introducing people to RBE”
We introduced a couple new to East London to RBE.The ambiance was great,we felt as if we were on a train trip .we were very happy with the service,attentive but not overbearing.We ordered different dishes and shared,what a pleasant experience.More people should try them for something different
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JudyJcbay
Coffee Bay, Eastern Cape, South Africa
09 Jun 2018

“Relaxed and cosy with delicious curries”
What a pleasant surprise. Lovely, warm and cosy decor. Tables set beautifully, Restuarant was very neat and clean. Calm and relaxing atmosphere. Good service. Excellent curries, we had both a chicken and a lamb which were both had wonderful flavors. Definilty will be back, look forward to trying out other options on he menu.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MaresaG
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
06 Mar 2018

“Finally a decent Indian restaurant in EL!”
What a pleasant surprise to find a decent Indian restaurant in EL!!A lovely little restaurant, reminiscent of one in a high street of a little county in the UK, I was delighted to find a much sought-after alternative in the rather depraved finer - dining restaurant options in EL!I enjoyed the cozy setting, the friendly waiter and the general warm ambience of this place, achieving its attempt to recreate the setting of the Bombay express rail experience.The food can be requested to be anything between mild to Indian-hot, and was a good balance of heat and tastiness.Our starters, the trio of samosas and tempura aubergine, made for a nice modern twist and Masterchef-like appeal. My only gripe was that the crispy Phyllo pastry was let down by the cold fillings.Our mains, the Lamb Vindaloo and Pune prawn curry, were packed with flavor and sufficiently spiced for our Indian-hot palates!The rotis were a bit too thick for our liking, but the side spiced butternut accompaniment was pure yumminess!! I appreciated the waiter's honest advice to preferably order this side dish, rather than the more expensive vegetarian main meal.My only gripe is that the traditional India Chai is not on the menu, which would have been the perfect end to an almost-perfect Indian experience!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Wolfgang M
Berlin, Germany
03 Mar 2018

“Dinner with my son and his wife”
Last night we had lamb curry vindaloo, chicken curry and a prawn and chicken curry. All three dishes tasted very good and we all three were positively surprised at our first visit. Will definitely go back there for more. It’s worse spending a little more and enjoying it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall adalbock
East London, South Africa
22 Jan 2018

“New and Exciting to East London.”
A very up class restaurant for East London . This venue caters for business dinners or quiet family dinners . Not suited for noisy sports tours .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall CaelynJoy
Pretoria, South Africa
23 Oct 2017

Food
Service
Value for Money
“New owners, new experience”
I had such a wonderful time at the Royal Bombay. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was lively. I tried the salad as well as the buffet style meal. It was great value for money and I was really impressed with the way it was presented and tasted! Thanks again, guys. The new owners have really turned it around and made it an awesome place to eat! Keep it up!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at R72 Saloon
Book a Table
Contact R72 Saloon
Contact Us
Address
82 Albany Road
Port Alfred
Eastern Cape
6170

 

View map
Food Served
GrillsLight MealsPizzasSeafood
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Saturday: 11:00 - 22:00
Closed on Sundays
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
TV/Sports
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Disabled
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Weddings
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT