Website
Weather
OverviewMenuReviews
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Nedamame

27 Nov 2017

Food
Service
Value for Money
“There are two Quarterdeck Restaurants”
It's a bit confusing, the Tripadvisor map points to the Portswood Hotel at the VA Waterfront but the pictures and some of the reviews are of the Simonstown restaurant, 50 kms away. I'm not sure if they are part of the same franchise or have the same owners, but we went to the one at the Portswood Hotel which seems more upscale than the Simonstown restaurant.The restaurant is inside the hotel, so you don't get a view of the harbourfront. There is seating inside, but we ate on the patio, near the pool.They have about 5 different Cape Malay curries on the menu. We didn't have any curry, instead we ordered the Cape Malay Sampler, an appetizer-sized plate, which consisted of samoosas (not a typo, it's how the South Africans spell samosa), spring rolls, meatballs, breaded cheese & breaded prawns. Served with different sauces, like chutney, cucumber & yogurt. Very delicious. We also ordered the bobotie: mince meat with Cape Malay spices, some almonds and raisins, topped with egg omelette. It was served with two different kinds of rice, a small piece of roti and some Indian papadum bread. We really enjoyed the bobotie, it was a nice-sized portion served in a small casserole dish. Well spiced and tasty. Would definitely recommend it to anyone!Total for 1 Cape Malay sampler + 2 main dish bobotie + 1 bottle of sparkling water was 485 ZAR.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Sylvia M

21 Nov 2017

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Lots of Curry!”
The restaurant is small. The staff is friendly and service is good. Food is native but waitress clearly explained what we were eating. Quantities are good and variety is good.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall dianem163
Kingsford
11 Oct 2017

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Yummy”
We dined here twice and all I have to say is very good Cape Malay food. Everything we had was delicious and the staff are outstanding. Make sure you give this place a try it’s inside the PortsWood hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Dianne R
Cape Town Central, South Africa
02 Aug 2017

“Curries good!”
Choices of typical Cape Malay food was good. Had a wonderful experience at the restaurant. Attentive, helpful and the food was wonderful.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Shamiso Alice M
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
20 Jul 2017

“A feast for Queens”
My daughter and I went for lunch at this place. I must say words will not do justice to the food. We had an assortment of Cape Malay Curries which were amazing. this food was divine and the portions were big, we could not even eat dinner after this. this was a lovely experience and my advice go on a very empty stomach, you will not regret it. I had the best strawberry Daiquiri ever.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall DougA943
West Chester, Pennsylvania
10 Jul 2017

“Good Cape Malay food”
Large portions of Cape Malay seafood. Tasty, a bit spicy. The breakfast there was also very good, especially the omelets!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Michele G

08 Jul 2017

“Specialty curry, not so convinced”
Lovely ambience and friendly helpful staff. Had chicken and prawn curry which was good. However, given this restaurant advertises as specializing in Cape Malay flavours I was disappointed. I have had better Cape Malay curries at other restaurants in the area.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall John G
Sydney, Australia
23 May 2017

“Great food”
The restaurant has a wide choice of meals on offer and great staff. The food and service are excellent.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Graeme H
Sydney, Australia
01 Mar 2017

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Nice food and good service”
This restaurant was in our hotel The Portswood and we decided to have dinner here rather than venture out into the town. It was a very nice experience. It was not busy and we were served promptly with nice food. Worth having dinner here if you are staying at The Portswood.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall travelbelle88
philadelphia
27 Feb 2017

“Excellent Cape Malay food, huge portions, great price, good service, and lovely decor”
Excellent Cape Malay food, huge portions, great price, good service, and lovely decor. The Chef's Feast is a terrific deal- the Savoury Malay Platter is a great and substantial starter, with divided plate of samosas, meatballs, breaded prawns, etc. and nice dipping sauces. The chutney is thick and delicious, like Mrs. Balls. The main course selections (pick 4) are enormous and delicious. The 2 portions of bobotie and 2 portions of lamb pumpkin bredie were enough for 2-3 people, half of which I couldn't finish, even though they tasted great. The traditional Malva pudding dessert was excellent. My son also loved the Penang Curry selection. A must-visit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Quarter Kitchen at The Portswood Hotel
Book a Table
Contact Quarter Kitchen at The Portswood Hotel
Contact Us
Address
The Portswood Hotel, Portswood Square
Portswood Road
Waterfront

 

View map
Food Served
Cape MalayBreakfastIndonesianLight MealsSouth African
Average Price$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday: 06:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
TV/Sports
Outside Seating
Smoking Section
Wi-Fi
Weddings
Accommodation
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT