Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall 261peteri
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
06 Mar 2020

“Somewhat Disappointing”
We felt that this place would be an excellent restaurant but it turned out to be unremarkable. The Beef Spring Rolls were only OK, the Zucchini Fritters had far too much salt in them and the Chicken Satay was also only moderate. The service, however, was very good.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall quinntenc
Pretoria, South Africa
09 Feb 2020

“Fine dining Christmas dinner”
We booked and were treated to a classy fine dining experience with a touch christmas baublesThe experience good and the food 8n general was very goodService was great as wellAs with any fine dining a touch on the pricey side but worth a try
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Rambisox
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
01 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Very enjoyable”
We only had fat fried chips with sauces, coffee and cake as non residents, but were met with friendly staff and a very enjoyable experience. Food really good and we also found the ruins of the old church below the restaurant interesting. Very nice setting. Will recommend and visit again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall stefanSittingDown
Sitting Down
08 Dec 2019

“Great restaurant in the centre of Stellenbosh”
Part of the Oude Werf hotel, the restaurant is open to non residents. Good choice of quality dishes & as you would expect an excellent wine list. You can dine inside or out & the service is excellent.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 475graemej
Johannesburg, South Africa
08 Aug 2019

“A definite “do again when here””
Dinner at the Oudewerf restaurant was amazing. The trio of oxtail,bobotie & chicken vol-au-vent was outstanding as was the chicken,leek and mushroom pie. The hot apple and toffee dessert with vanilla ice cream was the perfect end to this meal. Excellent service, thank you Siya and we even got a glimpse into history. We were able to view the granite foundation, pillars and an early grave of the original 1686 church that was the original building on the site. This is viewed through a window situated under the restaurant kitchen.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall SimonALeicester
Leicester
26 Apr 2019

“Smart restaurant in one of Stellenbosch's oldest buildings”
We met friends here (who live locally and recommended this place). Service was ok bit I got the impression because we were not spending large that the staff were not too attentive to us. Decent food and at a very good price too. You can go downstairs where there is a window you can look through to view preserved remains of a Stellenbosch street of a couple of hundred years ago, interesting!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Sauvarin
Guernsey, United Kingdom
10 Feb 2019

“Delicious”
The style of food in this restaurant is very tasty 'Home' cooking. We both had the black mussels as starters. Absolutely delicious. For mains we had the Chicken, leek and mushroom pie - again delicious. The serving staff were very good, lots of personality and attentive. Chefs were great and very appreciative of being thanked for their cooking skills.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall HunterBloemfontein
Hermanus, South Africa
03 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“What a delight! And affordable, to boot”
We have had many pleasant meals here over the last 25 years, so we came with memories of great soups in the late 1990s, an excellent Christmas lunch early in this century. So on this rainy summer Sunday, this was where we went when we were passing through town. The burger I had was second only to one that I tasted in Bogota in 2018: here it is a delight of mushroom, fresh tomato and onion, a tangy sauce and a patty that was as juicy and substantial as any I have seen, with a potato rosti completing the stack. My wife had a pork loin chop that she thinks has no equal. Then the Amarula creme brulee, garnished on the side with an exceptional mix of mint leaf, strawberry and grenadilla. Wow. I was impressed. Affordable, but real quality, with lots of thought obviously behind the way the food was prepared and presented. Yes!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MitchellvanVliet
Dublin, Ireland
03 Jan 2019

“A couple of nice lunches”
We stayed in the hotel and for lunch we had different dishes, which were all good. Enjoyed the wrap, the chicken burger and the chicken salad.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Mataforgana
Tallinn, Estonia
01 Jan 2019

“Average food”
Took this resto as all others were booked on the 1 of January. The service was friendly but not too attentive - they forgot a part of our order nor did they provide a knife for the steak. The food was average, nothing too tasty. Wine list was extensive. Probably wouldn’t go again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Oude Werf Restaurant
Book a Table
Contact Oude Werf Restaurant
Contact Us
Address
Oude Werf Hotel
30 Church Street
Stellenbosch
7600

 

View map
Food Served
South AfricanBreakfastCape MalayLight Meals
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Breakfast:
Monday - Saturday: 07:00 - 10:30
Sundays: 08:00 - 10:30
Lunch:
Daily from 12:00 - 18:00
Dinner:
Daily from 18:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Outside Catering
Smoking Section
Functions
Fireplace
Secure Parking
Accommodation
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT