Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall traveltheworld1113
Northampton, United Kingdom
15 Feb 2019

“Pleasant evening”
The restaurant was fairly busy with a good atmosphere overlooking the beach. We had the kingclip which was very nice. The service, however, was rather slow and the waiter asked for an extra tip over and above the gratuity they automatically put on. We didn’t think this was appropriate behaviour.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MundoVida, Owner at Mundo Vida, responded to this review.
Good morning Traveltheworld1113,We thank you for your kindly for your review. Your feedback helps us to improve our offering to customers.We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your Kingklip and apologise for the slow service that you received when dining here. Our aim is to give all customers the same level of service and attention and we are sorry that we did not deliver on this aspect of your experience.We are concerned about your comments regarding gratuity as it is company policy to leave tipping to the discretion of the customer and NOT to add gratuity to any customers bill, be they foreign or local patrons. Please could you send us your contact details so we can discuss this matter further.Regards from the Mundo Vida team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall VanessaNarotam
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
13 Feb 2019

“Excellent seafood, gorgeous sea views and great service every time”
Mundo Vida is a firm family favorite. It’s often our Sunday afternoon lazy lunch spot with a beautiful sea view. The ambience in the restaurant is bright, airy and cheerful and the welcome and service always match. This time my daughter requested two starter duck spring rolls because she loves it! Needless to say it was gone in a very short time. My favorite new starter is the Spanish mussels - which is a very generous serving for R95. Its served in a saffron sauce with pieces of chorizo. Our other favorite is the fish cakes - again it’s a really good size - 6 fish balls in a serving. For mains we share the Deluxe Seafood medley which includes crayfish, langoustines, prawns and fish - all prepared in our choice of Peri Peri and we get more Peri Peri on the side! With some garlic and lemon butter sauce. We also order the full chicken cut up and prepared Peri Peri. We very rarely deviate from this standard order because it’s such a winner. Joni and her team are attentive and efficient.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MundoVida, Owner at Mundo Vida, responded to this review.
Good Morning Vanessa,Thank you for your kind words. Your feedback helps us to improve our offering to customers. We are so happy that you and your family enjoy dining with us regularly. Regards from the Mundo Vida Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall PHM_Law
Richards Bay, South Africa
11 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Pricey but picturesque”
Undoubtedly the draw to Mundo Vida is the spectacular sea view. Literally only meters away from the Indian Ocean this upmarket restaurant in Umdloti is perfectly situated for a romantic or special celebratory dinner. The food is delicious and well portioned (and not tiny servings) and the menu is creative. For this though be prepared to spend a little more on the experience. For a couple expect a bill of ~R 400. Service is so-so and there is room for improvement here.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MundoVida, Owner at Mundo Vida, responded to this review.
Good morning PHM_LawWe thank youfor your kind words and for reviewing our restaurant. We apologise that the service was not up to standard and will make sure to improve in the future. Your honest feedback helps us to improve our offering to our customers. We hope to see you back again. Regards from the Mundo Vida team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ZuluVin

10 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Beware: check their prices when you order or you can be in for a very rude shock”
This is a good restaurant usually offering good food and good service (when all the staff arrive at work) - Friday 8th February was one of those days when the few service staff were under considerable pressure despite many empty tables.The shock came with the bill that included the Springfield Estate Miss Lucy wine charged at R299.00 per bottle. (Springfield published retail price is R114.00) Quite apart from the fact that Mundo Vida obviously purchase their wine at discounted wholesale prices, this obscene mark-up of at least R185.00 represents a profit in excess of 262% Unfortunately, my guests who are very close friends arrived at the restaurant a few minutes before us and mentioned they had taken the liberty of ordering the Miss Lucy wine and as a result I did not see the wine list. The repeated order for 2 more bottles was done by one of my guests to which I did not object because I was blissfully unaware of the outrageous pricing.Obviously, price-control is in no-one’s interest but I do believe that the sale of any supplier's product is seriously compromised when a restaurant owner abuses the popularity of good wines such as those of Springfield Estate. Rather pay the corkage because they cannot complain about free no-cost profit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MundoVida, Owner at Mundo Vida, responded to this review.
Good afternoon Mr Meagher, We are based in Umdloti and therefore do not buy directly from the wine farm – we, (as do most KZN restaurants) buy our wines from extremely reputable wine distributors who, like us, have overheads and understandably mark up on wine estate prices to cover these costs, so the prices that you have found online bear no relation to what we pay for our wines. Incidentally, was that price ex-farm or did it include the transport costs from the Cape to Durban?The local wine distributors do have recommended retail prices that they supply restaurants to assist the restaurant trade in their pricing structures – we do follow these guide lines.I think, perhaps, you are forgetting that our wine list price includes Vat of 15% which in this particular case amounts to R 299 less 15% = R 260 = the amount that we are actually charging – the balance of R 39 is paid to the government.We realise that it is often an awkward situation when a guest orders the wine before the host even arrives – at which stage the wine has probably already been poured and the wine list may already have been removed from the table and the host is not even aware that the wine that has been ordered is an exclusive wine in the higher price range. All our wine prices are clearly marked on our wine list – we do have an extensive wine list with a very broad range of prices. We try to accommodate a wide range of tastes and budgets. It is unfortunate that your guests did not order, for example, our house wine, First Sighting Sauvignon Blanc, a beautiful, easy drinking, award winning wine @ R 140 – with this particular wine we receive a good discount from our suppliers which we pass on to the customers – so this wine at Mundo Vida is priced lower than other comparable restaurants.We are aware that that your guests possibly did not check the price before ordering the wine on your behalf and we are very sympathetic that your bill was no doubt was much higher than you had anticipated. We hope that this helps to clarify the issues that you have raised in your review.Best regards, Joni Wilkinson (owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall NatashaDawson
Johannesburg, South Africa
28 Jan 2019

“Superb find”
I’m so glad I got to try this fabulous Umdloti restaurant. The setting is lovely, upstairs with an uninterrupted view of the sea. I loved the turquoise, grey and white setting. I had the seared salmon with an almond crust. The perfectly cooked salmon is served on a sweet potato purée that is a perfect balance. The plating is beautiful and I can’t think of a more perfect dish. Great service, a bit pricey but absolutely worth every cent.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MundoVida, Owner at Mundo Vida, responded to this review.
Hi Natasha. So happy you enjoyed Mundo Vida. Thank you so much for wonderful compliments. Best regards. Joni
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall spokenpriestess

17 Jan 2019

“Very disappointed in the non-service I received”
I visited Durban last week & on my last night at Umdloti I decided to treat myself to dinner. I received nearly no service with my waiter, George, not coming to my table resulting in another waiter who sat me down taking my orders. That, after he initially wouldn't take my orders saying that my waiter would - something that would never happen at La Casa Nostra just up the road. The seafood, however, was really fresh - that's the only thing that consoled my night. Oh, the manager walked past me twice checking on other tables past me but only turned on his third trip back to my section asking in passing if I'm alright. Perhaps being alone at a restaurant doesn't warrant good service according to Mundo Vida.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MundoVida, Owner at Mundo Vida, responded to this review.
Please accept our deepest apologies for the disappointing experience you had at Mundo Vida last week. Please send me your email address and telephone number so that I can contact you and try to make amends. Please email me: info@mundovida.co.za as I'm sure you would not like to give me this information on such a public platform as Trip Advisor. Deepest apologies. Joni Wilkinson owner Mundo Vida restaurant
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JaxOld

13 Jan 2019

“Tasty Vegan Meals”
We were very excited to see that Mundo Vida offer vegan meals, and we were even more excited when the food arrived! Generous portions of very tasty and flavoursome meals that blew us away. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals and the service was outstanding!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MundoVida, Owner at Mundo Vida, responded to this review.
Hi. So happy you enjoyed Mundo Vida. Thanks much for the wonderful compliments. Best Regards. Joni.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Billyw0501

10 Jan 2019

“Mrs”
Had the best meal a Mondo Vida in Umdloti. The staff are very pleasant. It's also the first restaurant that I have been to where the message of good food has been relayed to the chef and where we have been thanked for the tip. To top it all was the take away container. Well done guys, keep up the good work.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MundoVida, Owner at Mundo Vida, responded to this review.
Hi. So happy you enjoyed Mundo Vida. Thanks for the wonderful compliments. Best regards. Joni
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MikeAtty
Hilton, South Africa
08 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Prices for a seafood platter are ASTRONOMICAL”
Mundo Vida has a great setting. Right across the road from the beach. On a beautiful day with the shutters open there can be few better settings on the North Coast.We booked at Mundo Vida for our year end function. The meal was good, the service great and the wine plentiful.BUT, we did feel ripped off with the cost of the Deluxe seafood medley for two. R1 200,00! I expect to get a serious seafood platter for this price. As you can see from the picture it was pretty tiny. Two minute crayfish, two langoustines, four Queen prawns and a small piece of line fish We would have been better off ordering a prawn and calamari combo or just about any of the other seafood dishes.We also had some seared scallops to start which were delicious and ended off with a chocolate and nut slice and a chocolate and berry maison. All really tasty.So, overall my gripe is NOT about service, it is NOT about taste, it is NOT about the starter or dessert but it is about the seafood platter.I'd heartily recommend Mundo Vida but...BEWARE the Deluxe Seafood Platter.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MundoVida, Owner at Mundo Vida, responded to this review.
Hi Mike. We are sorry that you were disappointed in the quantity of seafood on our deluxe seafood platter Unfortunately langoustines are incredibly expensive so any dish that includes langoustines will be pricey. Apologies again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Georgeous010
Alberton
07 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Birthday Dinner”
Wow what a wonderful time we had, from the waiter to the Head Waiter to the Owner, they were chatting and serving us delicious food and service we were about 11 people and my brother recommended the place. We enjoyed ourselves so much that my husband, son and his fiancée went there the next day for lunch and we had burgers, well what can I say, I only eat home made burgers, I had the pulled pork burger and it was out of this world - fabulous flavor.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MundoVida, Owner at Mundo Vida, responded to this review.
Hi. So happy you enjoyed Mundo Vida. Thanks so much for wonderful compliments. Best Regards. Joni
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Mundo Vida
Book a Table
Contact Mundo Vida
Contact Us
Address
1 South Beach Road
Umdloti Beach

 

View map
Food Served
SeafoodContemporaryGlobal/InternationalGrills
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Mondays - Saturdays:
Lunch & Dinner: 12:00 - 15:00 and 18:00 - 21:00
Sundays: 12:00 - 17:00 (Lunch only)
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Functions
Wi-Fi
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT