Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall paulrB3740CF

07 Aug 2019

“Lunch and dinner”
We have been for lunch and dinner in the last 2 weeks and it was superb. Excellent staff great location and a fantastic menu. Will return and a most for anyone visiting the area
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joni W, Owner at Mundo Vida, responded to this review.
Hi Paul, Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your compliments - much appreciated. So happy that you enjoyed your meals at Mundo Vida. So look forward to hosting you in the future. Best Regards. Joni Wilkinson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Chris N
Cape Town Central, South Africa
01 Aug 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Some of the best seafood I have ever had!”
What a wonderful experience. We were here with friends and family and had such a wonderful time. I tried a few different dishes and couldn't fault a thing. The prawn platter was amazing. The staff was also very friendly and very accommodating to ensure my 2 year old was comfortable and well looked after. We were here on holiday but if we back again, I will definitely visit them again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joni W, Owner at Mundo Vida, responded to this review.
Hi Chris. Thanks so much for taking the time to send us such wonderful compliments - much appreciated. So happy that you enjoyed Mundo Vida. We so look forward to hosting you next time you're on holiday in the area.Best regards. Joni Wilkinson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall BarryStrick
Cape Town Central, South Africa
24 Jul 2019

“Consistenly good, casual you superb”
Second visit to Mundo VIda in 2 months and again excellent friendly service, very good food, easy parking and great views. Exaclt what a good "upscale" casual seaside restaurant should be. Highly recommended, looking forward to my next visit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joni W, Owner at Mundo Vida, responded to this review.
Hi Barry. Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your wonderful compliments - much appreciated. So happy you enjoyed Mundo Vida. So look forward to hosting you again when you are next in Durban. Best regards. Joni Wilkinson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Q3380OAmicheller
Johannesburg, South Africa
05 Jul 2019

“Very average lunch experience”
Despite raving reviews, we had a rather lack luster average dining experience at Mundo Vida. The sushi was on the pricey side. The fishcake starter was really disappointing with pilchards instead of fresh fish. The view is to die for though. Service was slow and our waiter rather obnoxious when we asked how some of the dishes were prepared. Maybe we were just unlucky.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Andrew2105
Ballito, South Africa
28 May 2019

“What a treat”
Excellent friendly service dealt up a truly magnificent meal. Calamari and oysters as starters were superb, duck and salmon to follow was outstanding. Prices very reasonable except for malt whiskey to conclude the meal which was extortionate at R115/tot. But corkage at R65/ bottle very reasonable.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joni W, Owner at Mundo Vida, responded to this review.
Hi Andrew. Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your compliments - much appreciated. So happy you enjoyed Mundo Vida. Best regards. Joni Wilkinson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 834colinb
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
20 May 2019

“Dinner by myself”
I flew into Durban on business and wanted a good, quick and no fuss meal. I popped into Mundo Vida and they delighted me with their quick and cheerful service. I ordered the Bacon & Camembert Burger with shoe string fries. I think that this was the tastiest burger that I have ever eaten. I will definitely be back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MundoVida, General Manager at Mundo Vida, responded to this review.
Good afternoon 834colinb,Thank you so much for taking your time to review our restaurant.We are so glad that you enjoyed your burger and the rest of your dining experience with us.Honest feedback helps us to maintain a high standard of food and service.We hope to see you back on your next business or leisure trip to DurbanRegards from The Mundo Vida Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Andrew_SouthAfrica1
Durban, South Africa
19 May 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great View and Seafood”
Don't be put off by the location of this venue (it's above a petrol station) - the views from upstairs are great. Had lunch at Mundo Vida recently and was really impressed with the staffs knowledge of the menu, they were all very friendly too. The menu is very diverse catering to meat, seafood and vegetarian lovers. I ended having the Prawn & Calamari combo which was really good. My partner had the calamari in a cream sauce which she enjoyed too. The prices may be higher than other places in the area, but for a treat it is still worth it. Its a great way to spend a lazy afternoon watching the ocean.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MundoVida, General Manager at Mundo Vida, responded to this review.
Good afternoon Andrew_SouthAfrica1Thank you for taking your time to review our restaurant.Your honest feedback helps us to improve our offering to our customers.We are happy that you and your partner both enjoyed your meals as well as the service you received from our waiters.We hope to see you back at Mundo Vida in the future.Regards fromThe Mundo Vida Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Christie C

03 May 2019

“Perfect amd delicious”
The menu is just amazing, something for everyone. So much choice and not a big enough stomach to try everything. Almond crusted salmon, gamberi pasta, pulled pork burger, lamb croquette, salmon poke bowl.... YUM! The staff were incredibly professional too. Only downfall is the big Total garage sign, blocking the view. Management ahould negotiate to have it lowered!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MundoVida, General Manager at Mundo Vida, responded to this review.
Good afternoon Christie CThank you for taking your time to review our restaurant.your honest feedback helps us to improve our offering to customers in the future.We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us.We do apologise for the unsightly Total Sign!!! Unfortunately the management from Total Garage have been very difficult with this issue and they refuse to move the sign. we have approached them numerous times over a 10 year period to do so.We hope to see you again in the future.Regards from The Mundo Vida Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ryanm77330
Durban, South Africa
21 Apr 2019

“Asian pork belly win”
One of those good restaurants that, when you are at, you wonder why you don't come more often. I appreciate how clean the table settings are, the good views (if you are lucky), and how user friendly the online menu is (don't you get irritated by the ones that are pdfs that you have to download and clutter your phone memory with?). My starter was described as gravadlax, but I'd say it was a ceviche salad made with a plain cured salmon on the side. Japanese pickled ginger and gravadlax would be a bad combo, but whatever this was, it was good. But could still do without the pickled ginger. The pork belly was really so good. I can't think of one I've enjoyed more. A great balanced dish. Family members enjoyed the buddha bowl, deep fried prawns, and a great looking steak, but the spatch chicken not so much, no sign of grilling, unlike the perfect crackling on the belly.The service was mostly fine, patchy, but then there were about 4 different waiters.I didn't enjoy the R45 surcharge for extra avo on a salad in lieu of feta!Still, I want to go back for belly!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MundoVida, General Manager at Mundo Vida, responded to this review.
Good afternoon Ryanm77330Thank you for taking your time to write a review on our restaurant. Your honest feedback helps us to improve our offering to future customers.We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us.Thank you for your compliments about the pork belly, its one of our signature dishes and we really pride ourselves in this dish.We do apologise that the Spatchcock Chicken Peri Peri was not up to the standard of the rest of the meal. We will work on improving this dish to avoid future disappointments.We also apologise that you were charged so much for extra avocado, its far too expensive and will be rectified.We hope to see you dining with us again in the future.Regards from The Mundo Vida Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall maxime b
Randburg, South Africa
23 Mar 2019

“Last night in Umdloti”
We had a lovely night at Mundo vida, great service, starters came fast as well as mains. The line fish was delicious. Great vibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MundoVida, General Manager at Mundo Vida, responded to this review.
Good Afternoon maximeborcherds,Thank you so much for taking your time to review our restaurant.We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience while dining at Mundo Vida.We greatly appreciate your kind words. Honest feedback helps us to improve our offering to future patrons.We hope to see you back at Mundo Vida.Regards From the Mundo Vida Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Mundo Vida
Book a Table
Contact Mundo Vida
Contact Us
Address
1 South Beach Road
Umdloti Beach

 

View map
Food Served
SeafoodContemporaryGlobal/InternationalGrills
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Mondays - Saturdays:
Lunch & Dinner: 12:00 - 15:00 and 18:00 - 21:00
Sundays: 12:00 - 17:00 (Lunch only)
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Functions
Wi-Fi
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT