Weather
OverviewMenuReviews
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Annamaria H
Park Ridge, Illinois
18 Jul 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great dinner!”
The seafood was outstanding as were other items on the menu. The service was wonderful as well. We arrived a few minutes before the restaurant opened and the staff seated us anyway which was very nice of them. Highly recommend!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Yvonne B
Cape Town, South Africa
03 Jul 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Saturday night”
Nice comfortable restaurant with great service and wonderful food. Parking is a nightmare. Suggest that u book as it is always full
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall D4644NYwilliamh

02 Jul 2019

“Millers Thumb”
Great fish 90/100. Service slick. Well priced and friendly. Lively. Mixture of local, tourist and business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall at-atrunner
Sheffield, United Kingdom
11 Jun 2019

“Great seafood”
Starters: Oysters were fresh and sweet; we wanted to order more but they were sold out by our second round! Tomato soup and grilled calamari were excellent. Mussels weren’t so great; we had fresher and tastier elsewhere in Cape Town. Mains: Fish were fresh and king prawns were big, juicy and fresh. Mozambican curry was good as well, but we would prefer the fish and king prawns the next time we visit. Service was lovely and attentive. Ambience is homely. We will recommend to our family and friends, and return the next time we are in Cape Town!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Sharon R
Tucson, Arizona
08 Jun 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Tasty fish and other options”
Delicious fish options which change daily. The owner explains the fish and options available. Two nice suitable glasses of wine. Vegetables thinly sliced was a great choice. Peri-peri butter and blackened fish were excellent choices. They are able to prepare vegetarian dishes and there is even meat options on the menu. I would have the great starters - salad and tomato soup but skip dessert.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Debra D

02 Jun 2019

“Last night in Cape Town”
Amazing fresh fish prepared simply, but perfectly. Cozy cottage feel with very good service. Would love to return someday.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall OscarYorkshire
Yorkshire
24 May 2019

“Fantastic fish!”
Wonderful find in Cape Town- friendly welcome, good atmosphere and simply the best fish. The focus is on what's available fresh and then you choose how you'd like it. My cajun kingkilp was superb- spicy but not overwhelming the fish itself. Starter of squid was also the best I've tasted- soft and delicious with no overcooked toughness. Service was perfect with everything explained by the boss. Great value, great food and excellent wine- what more do you want?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall James H
Oregon, USA
19 May 2019

“Fun place and good food.”
The food was good, we found the seafood better than the beef options but all was good. Met the owner and she made us feel very much at home with nice conversation.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Cathryn D
Mindelo, Cape Verde
14 May 2019

“Delicious Food”
Just as the other reviews indicate, the food is great! The owner stops by your table to give you the run down of the fish specials which was very helpful since we weren't familiar with all the different types. Everything we had was excellent. Make a reservation if you can! We walked in at 530pm and got lucky because they had 1 table left!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ADBarr
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
09 May 2019

“Absolutely superb!”
This establishment is certainly the best kept secret in Cape Town. The food is sublime, service wonderful and the entire experience was brilliant. From the moment you walk in the door you know that this place is special.Food: Starters “ the best tomato soup in the world” certainly lived up to its name - the color, presentation and taste were fantastic.Mains- Fish is a must and it there are 4 options on how it can be prepared and last night they had two extra options. I selected the Cardinal and waiter recommended it be prepared Cajun style. Result = BrilliantMy friend had the Carpenter prepared in a Mediterranean style also excellent.The hostess (owner/manager) was welcoming and shared both the specials and recommendations. She displayed pride in what they deliver in a way that you wanted to taste it all.Our waiter was excellent - attentive but giving us enough space to chat.Overall - one of the best dining experiences I have had in long time anywhere in the world.I will definitely be back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Miller's Thumb
Book a Table
Contact Miller's Thumb
Contact Us
Address
10b Kloofnek Road
Gardens
8001

 

View map
Food Served
SeafoodCajun/CreoleGlobal/International
Average Price$$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Lunch Tuesday to Friday
Dinner Monday to Saturday

Telephone bookings only.
Facilities
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Smoking Section
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT