Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall headteacherhils
Croydon UK
10 Aug 2019

“Ok, but have eaten better in the city”
Our waitress Shazzie was extremely jollly and hospitable. Unfortunately we were seated in the mall out the front of the restaurant rather than inside, which perhaps clouded our judgement.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall wine_bunny
Cincinnati, OH
23 Jul 2019

“A gem hidden is a mall”
While staying at the Vineyard Hotel, we looked for restaurants in walking distance and MR's was one of them. To our delight, they had a blackboard listing of appetizers, entrees, and desserts as well as delicious offerings on the menu. Every single dish we had was great. We returned 3 days in a row! The oxtails were a highlight as well as the rib wing- charred and done to perfection. The vegetables that come with all entrees are plentiful and the mashed potatoes very tasty. The chicken livers in peri-peri sauce were excellent. Each dinner was a culinary delight and quite affordable-even with a bottle of nice wine. The proprietress Christina was a pleasure to talk with and made you feel like you were in her living room. Don't miss.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall AllisonCdR
Somerset West, South Africa
22 Jul 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Family Italian restaurant to suit all ages”
We dined there on Friday evening, to celebrate a grand daughter's 21st birthday and the evening was described as good fun, with 'awesome' chicken breasts, fun gnocchi and delicious crumbed veal chops. Excellent knowledgeable service, good wine list. Cosy and comfortable. Good value.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall gibbhelps
Cape Town, South Africa
20 Jul 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Two visits in two weeks says it all !”
Once as a couple & later with a guest. This has been our preferred restaurant for many years where the warm welcome matches the excellent fare. The calamari tentacles in Cajun sauce are scrumptious as was the fresh Asparagus. On both occasions my wife opted for the small but delicious east coast soles. Our friend went for the fresh Kingklip pronounced as good but a tad overdone. Previously had the fillet steak with pepper sauce just mouth watering ! This time selected the veal with Porcini mushrooms............normally their veal is great but this time sadly it had been over worked being too thin & consequently losing flavour & texture, the sauce also seemed uninspired & overpowered by the Porcini mushrooms. A first disappointment in many years ! Agreed that the place was absolutely packed despite the early hour & mid week so we had to sit in the courtyard, on commenting to Christina she laughed gaily & said "Well now at last you dine Al Fresco" A delightful lady.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall WendyWorcester
Worcester
11 Jun 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Well worth a visit”
Wonderful restaurant, great food, terrific staff and a very good atmosphere. A true taste of Italy, try it, you will return again and again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MinervaKaliamne

08 Jun 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Excellent food and service in a welcoming atmosphere”
A friend and I visited Mamma Roma on a weeknight, and it was an absolutely delightful experience. The ambience is cosy. This isn't a "cheap and cheerful" place, but neither did it feel at all stuffy or pretentious. Even though it was relatively busy, we received exceptional service: our waitron made thoughtful recommendations, and he was attentive without being overbearing.Then, there was the food... We both opted for the fresh asparagus starter, served with lemon juice, butter, and parmesan. Simple and delicious. For mains, I had a pasta dish that was adapted to my tastes according to our waiter's recommendation, with porcini mushrooms, prawns, and a bit of chili. Each element was perfectly cooked, and the flavours of the dish were balanced to complement rather than overpower each other. My friend had a veal dish. Now, I'm not usually a fan of veal, but this was so good that I'd consider ordering it the next time I visit (and there will certainly be a next time). We were also surprised with a lovely serving of vegetables to share. Dessert was nice.I strongly recommend this as one of the best Italian restaurants I've visited in Cape Town. The only "problem" for me is that it's across the road from a restaurant that's been one of my very favourites for over a decade now, and it'll be a difficult decision between the two the next time I'm in the area for dinner. (This is the best kind of "problem" to have, when two such exceptional restaurants are so close to each other.)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall divacape
cape town
27 Apr 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Mamma Roma one of the best Italian eateries.”
The place was packed out on a midweek night and I got a great table on the top section which was with a fabulous waitress whom had been with the family for 18 years - it showed. I had looked at the menu before we went and my mind was set on the Calamari tubes with feta, sundried tomatoes and chilli . However I was not in the mood for pasta so I asked if it could be made as a main course without the pasta and that was no problem. I had it with a side salad. Hubby ordered the lamb shank which looked great from the table next door and he was very happy with it and ate it with chips . (His mind was previously set on having a sole but unfortunately they had not had sole available for several days.) My daughter ordered the tuna which was sliced and served med. rare (her choice) with a side salad (also her choice). Son in law wanted something on the menu that was not served in other restaurants. I suggested the lamb ribs as its something one doesnt see at many restaurants. He wasnt ecstatic about it but nevetheless did not complain. His came with pasta. All the main courses were served with fabulous spinach (the nicest I have had ) with no cream and a second vegetable. We ended the meal with a dom pedro with whisky. This restaurant has been around for many many years and we had been to it several times in the past but had forgotten about it of late. Now that its back on our radar we will certainly be going again and We all recommend it highly.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Bubblalubs
Cape Town Central, South Africa
24 Apr 2019

“Easy to see why it’s still a firm favourite with the locals after all these years”
A proper Italian trattoria, run by a warm Italian Family; who’s hospitality and Italian flare fun through to their gracious and smiling staff. Fantastic menu - too many temptations that it took me ages to decide what to eat. As it was Italian I thought best to check out the pasta on my first visit (I’ll be back to work my way through the menu!). The carbonara was faultless- absolutely delicious and generous portions. Can’t wait to go back!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Henry V

13 Apr 2019

“In my top 3”
Best, friendliest spot if you looking for comfort food. Their food is amazing and consistently good.Owners Mario and Christina, and daughter Marissa are always on hand to greet and serve you.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall davlorbrad
Cape Town, South Africa
24 Mar 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Celebratory Dinner for Family”
Family of 8 readily accommodated for first class dinner. We chose upstairs (but wheelchairs can be accommodated downstairs). Busy Friday evening but very competent waitron, perfect recall of selected menu - food delivered simultaneously, exactly as ordered. Generous portions. Reasonable corkage charge. Booking required for peak times.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Mamma Roma Restaurant - Newlands
Book a Table
Contact Mamma Roma Restaurant - Newlands
Contact Us
Address
5 Dean Street Arcade
Newlands
7700

 

View map
Food Served
ItalianContinentalGrillsPastas
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Saturday:
12:00 -15:00
18:00 - 23:00

Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
TV/Sports
Outside Seating
Disabled
Smoking Section
Functions
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT