Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall sansmerrill
Cape Town Central, South Africa
22 Mar 2019

“Food for all”
There has always been a restaurant in this spot since the building was erected.It has changed hands a few times but the owners now have remained the same there for some time & so has the standard of food. We were greeted warmly, the service was good & the large choice of food was fresh & very tasty.Definitely worth a repeat visit !
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall kimfrederiksen2018

11 Mar 2019

“Excellent food, very knowledgeable staff”
Went to this restaurant as one in our group wanted Italian. We were not disappointed, excellent food and very knowledgeable staff, Nicole knew the menu and dishes very well. I had the veal schnitzel which was excellent, had the Tiramisu for desert - homemade and very nice although personally I would prefer a stronger coffee flavor (that just me!!!). The other in group really enjoyed the food which range from paste to veal porcini. Will definitely come back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall giampierop856
Lugano, Switzerland
09 Mar 2019

“Revisited / Status upgraded”
As old Capetonians living abroad, we return once/twice a year, never missing at least one evening at Mamma Roma. I noticed that TA had the wrong spelling, but I proposed a correction adding the second M in Mamma. Now let’s talk food. This is a family managed restaurant which is well staffed and properly run. The boss is in the kitchen. Don’t worry if you occasionally hear him in the back raising his voice, it’s all part of the show. He’s just ensuring your order will be 100%. I always go there for real home made lasagne. Definitely the best in Cape Town. There are no specific dishes which need recommending, as all are good! Atmosphere good, reserve in advance. Convenient parking in basement under the restaurant. Lift access. Last night we opted for the TRIO DESSERT. Try it, very delicate and top level. I give Romano and the crew top marks. Well done and keep up the good work.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Capetownbrits
Cape Town, South Africa
08 Mar 2019

“Proper Italian like Mamma makes!”
Always difficult to decide what to choose to eat especially from the blackboard!Lovely friendly staff add to the experience.Long may it last.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall dcgriffin22
Cape Town, South Africa
07 Mar 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“A great restaurant”
The service at this restaurant is great. Jamie, our waiter was lovely and on it - it was a very busy evening but not once did we feel neglected.The food is wonderful - our table all had pastas and everyone was happy with what they ordered. Each dish was absolutely delicious, well seasoned, generous portions and beautiful fresh pasta. Clean plates all round.I can highly recommend the Italian Sausage sauce, it was so tasty. We didn't have a lot of time to stick around for dessert, which was disappointing as the ones we did see looked fantastic. I will be going back for sure! If you want good quality proper comfort food Italian, this is your place.The only thing that confused me was the offer of curry and thai food on the specials board....but each to their own!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall SmartTraveller1944
Cape Town, South Africa
20 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“A lovely restaurant”
In Cape Town, restaurants must have a view. Mama Roma is in a shopping complex in Newlands. It does not have a view, but what it does have is a warm and loving Italian hospitality with excellent food and service, at modest prices.You cannot go wrong here - clients are from the rich and famous, to the ordinary person, and you couldn't tell the difference.You need to book as it is always humming!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 761samb2015
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
13 Feb 2019

“Great food and service!”
Well worth eating here. Its excellently priced, great Italian food. To die for Ravioli and some delicious puddings. Perfectly paced, friendly service. A good wine list with reasonable prices. We really enjoyed our meal here.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Al1bongo
Bolton, United Kingdom
23 Jan 2019

“Fantastic food, ambience and service”
Following a recommendation from our Hotel reception (The Vineyard Hotel) we arrived at the Mama Roma restaurant secluded in a local shopping mall. At the time of arrival the place was full of people so was obviously a very popular venue.Our waitron was very knowledgeable of the menu, wines on offer and very attentive although he was very busy with other tables. The food was delicious, hot and very well presented. I would highly recommend booking a table to avoid disappointment rather than just turning up.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 320alicia
Cape Town, South Africa
16 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Comfort and nourishment rolled into one”
I love this restruant . It has buzz and an air of welcome as soon as you step on the threshold.The menu is Italian with local touches giving one choices that are as good as home made. Recognisable flavours , good sized portions without being excessive and a feeling of freshness and just prepared. I shall return often.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall X1105XOashleya
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
05 Jan 2019

“Another quality Italian Restaurant in Newlands”
We were five of us for dinner this evening at Mama Roma. Saturday evening and the place was buzzing but we had a prior reservation.My hosts live a short walk away from the Mall which houses Mama Roma and are regulars here. BYO is permitted subject to a corkage charge and we took along 2 bottles of good South African wine.Gin and tonics to begin with while we perused the extensive menu and our waiter listed out the “Daily Specials”.Each one of us had a starter and a main. My starter was the Anchovies in white wine vinegar from the “daily specials” while my mains was their home made Lasagne. Our group was unanimous in our views that our respective meals were top notch.Good food and impeccable service is a winning combination.Mama Roma is a family owned business which the present owners bought a couple of decades ago.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Mamma Roma Restaurant - Newlands
Book a Table
Contact Mamma Roma Restaurant - Newlands
Contact Us
Address
5 Dean Street Arcade
Newlands
7700

 

View map
Food Served
ItalianContinentalGrillsPastas
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Saturday:
12:00 -15:00
18:00 - 23:00

Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
TV/Sports
Outside Seating
Disabled
Smoking Section
Functions
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT