Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall ellenmelonhead

15 Apr 2019

“Best Ethiopian in Cape Town”
My husband and I visit Madam Taitou regularly and make it a point to take all of our out of town guests here as well. It’s in a touristy part of the CBD but the good and ambience are worth it!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall wimnam
Windhoek, Namibia
14 Apr 2019

“What an experience”
You come here not just for the food, but for. The experience. You truly feel like you are in another world! The food was absolutely delicious and I can highly recommend paying them a visit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall hello_tia
Luanda, Angola
03 Apr 2019

“Amazing!”
I went to this place and really had nothing to expect. From the outside it looks like you are walking into Newt Scamander’s backpack. It looks like a savanna and you eat in these very nice tables which have very comfortable pillows. The food is spectacular too. Highly recommend this place!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall mamacarocuisine

18 Mar 2019

“Loved it”
First time in an Ethiopan restaurant. Half shop half restaurant. A really nice decoration and ambiance. And the food was fresh, home made, tastefull.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Lydia N
Thatcham, United Kingdom
09 Mar 2019

“Brilliant food, great service - awesome decor and cool vibe”
Not as hard to find as many people say, we didn't struggle at all. Welcoming vibe and amazing decor - we loved this placeWhile initially sat in a sharing booth with two other pairs, we'd arrived quite late in the day and quickly had it to ourselves.Food very tasty with a wide range of dishes housed within the sour bread 'plate'. Would be back if we're ever in CT again!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall chrisf9872019

28 Feb 2019

“Yummy”
Delicious Ethiopian food, in a unique setting! Loved it as it was something slightly different for Cape town. Great service too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall DebsB
Portadown, United Kingdom
25 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Something different”
This was near our hotel and not having ever tried Ethiopian food, we decided to give it a go. When we walked in, I hardly even thought it was a restaurant, it looked more like a cross between a shop and a florists. So much to enjoy visually, an eclectic mix of artefacts and parephenalia, all squashed into homely little nooks seating four to six people. We chose mota chicken and a veggie sampler. We ate with our hands and enjoyed our meal but neither of us were too fussed on the injera sour dough bread, it just left such a sour aftertaste and also looked like we were eating a bandage!We had a fun time here and it was good to try something new.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Mobileineurope
Aalborg, Denmark
24 Feb 2019

“Excellent lunch”
We stumbled upon this little gem as the last restaurant visit of our Cape Town experience. The decor is magnificent - like Africa totally geared up. The service was impeccable and the food SO delicious. The dishes are Ethiopian, something we never tried before and it was surprisingly different and extremely tasty. Highly recommendable!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall travelator_se
London, United Kingdom
17 Feb 2019

“You won’t forget it”
What an experience! I’ve never tried Ethiopian cuisine before but what a meal! Hands only with no cutlery allowed, the meals are all served on huge platters for sharing. We tried the lamb, vegetable sampler and chicken. It was amazingly seasoned and the flour base (kind of similar to a roti) went great with it! And all at an extremely reasonable price, costing us less than £15 for a platter for three.The interior is like an over decorated African household, with some tables upstairs with plants and vines everywhere! It’s really an experience I would highly recommend. Lovely staff, unique cuisine and quite an immersive environment. Like all places in CT - book ahead to avoid disappointment!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall RaymondF917
Cardiff, United Kingdom
14 Feb 2019

“Wonderful experience”
The three of us had never experienced Ethiopian Food. The restaurant was highly recommended by several locals so decided to give it a try. So glad that we did. The decor is wild, quirky, totally stand alone. Lots of what we were told were authentic Ethiopian items on display. Many for sale.For the first time in ages, we did not have a clue what to order. Our very helpful waitress made some suggestions. They all sounded great, so we ended up ordering the Sergenia. This is described as a typical festive platter with portions of all of the dishes.The platter was large, and the food was truly amazing. I could not possibly recommend any individual item. I could not remember what was what. I'll have to return again to try and sort out a few items, without exception, every thing we ate was tasty.The idea is to use the wraps to scoop and mop up the food. If this is not to your liking, cutlery will be provided, but you won't have as much fun as we did.Don't be shy to ask your very friendly server to recommend you what to eat, and you won't be disappointed. We certainly weren't. All this for a ridiculously low cost of £20 +,tip.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Madam Taitou
Book a Table
Contact Madam Taitou
Contact Us
Address
77 Long Street
Cape Town CBD
8001

 

View map
Food Served
AfricanBreakfastLight MealsVegetarian
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday: 11:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Take Out
Child Friendly
Functions
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT