Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Susandra v

13 May 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Awful Mother's day celebration lunch for R395 per person: what a rip off”
We will not recommend LeSi restaurant to anyone. It was supposed to be a nice Mother’s Day celebration. This was the worst restaurant experience of our lives! It was not so much the fact that the restaurant opening was late, and we had to wait in the cold for more than half an hour. We were there 10h45 - in time - as indicated on the booking. We finally got at 12h30 our “welcome drinks” aka hot un-bubbly champagne. After we had to ask or rather begged five times for the so-called “welcome” drinks. The waiters were not organized and our waiter was not a "singing waiter". I've taken a photo of my plate of inedible “food” and is sharing this with you. We could not eat the stuff: it was so bland and tasteless. We left LeSi restaurant very hungry! In a nutshell, we got for R395 per person: overcooked chewy, tough beef, tasteless fish something, overcooked bland “veggies”, pathetic beetroot something (cheapest “dish” of it all) and a very small “dry” undefined “dessert”. We also felt sorry for the other customers because how can one complaint in front of their mom what should have been a nice Mother's day lunch.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anette B, Manager at LeSi Restaurant, responded to this review.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy the Mothers day experience. A lot of guests arrived early and because of this we opened the venue early. By 11:00 the restaurant was full of guests already.We have since then come up with a different approach to ensure that the guests that arrive early will be comfortably accommodated.The large amount of guests that arrived early and the need to accommodate the guests did hamper our final planning and communication, but we did get the situation under control very quickly.Not all our service staff are performers, we do have a few that are not. This is done to ensure that service continues even when the production is on.I did see the photo, and not all the items available is represented in the photo.We are always trying to find ways to improve our services and products and appreciate your feedback. All the matters you raised has been discussed and solutions found.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Ockert M
Pretoria, South Africa
06 May 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Entertained by the serving staff in a wonderful setting.”
The waiting staff was attentive and friendly and certainly worked to earn the 15% they automatically add to the account. Their singing was entertaining and did not deter them from paying attention to our needs during our visit. We were treated to hors de ’oeuvre consisting of cream cheese on slices of bread and a pepper salsa (the pepper salsa was a theme with all the starters). For starters we had the Chicken Liver Duo and crumbed black mussels. The chicken liver duo consisted of a raspberry and apple chicken liver pate which was pleasant and served with zambezi mild chili. This was paired with a serving of cajun grilled livers, with melba toast which was very flavourful and tasty. The mussels were baked with a lemon zest infused bread crumbs topping and served in their shells. The crumbs tasted oddly sweet (similar to sweet biscuits) and did not work well with the mussels. The garlic white wine dressing was nice however was unnecessary stodgy. Before the main meal we received a coffee sorbet as a palate cleanser, which unfortunately tasted like crystalized frozen (weak) coffee. For mains we enjoyed the slow roasted lamb shank and rib eye. The lamb was cooked off in a red wine jus, served with a cream risotto and a medley of fresh seasonal vegetables drizzled with a red wine reduction. The lamb was divine, it was soft and fell off the bone. The vegetables were fresh and well prepared however the risotto was overcooked and clumpy. The Rib Eye was perfectly prepared as ordered and served with oven roasted bone marrow, roasted potatoes baby onions and seasonal vegetables. All dishes were beautifully presented and fresh however in general restaurants use Restaurant Week to create spectacular dishes to showcase the chef’s superb abilities at creating dishes which are inspired and unique as well as tasty. It is unfortunate that LeSi decided to offer dishes off their standard a la carte menu, which at the end of the day is comparable with dishes at other restaurants which are a lot more affordable and equally enjoyable if not better.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anette B, Owner at LeSi Restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you so much for your comprehensive review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the overall experience and we hope that you will visit us soon again.You are always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Naude_Marelize
Pretoria, South Africa
05 May 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Restaurant week”
We attended as part of the Autumn Edition of Restaurant Week 2019. We've been participating in Restaurant Week for the last few years and LeSi didn't disappoint. The food was good and the portion very big - the husband was happy and couldn't even finish dessert. By the end of the night when the hype around the singing was over the service was a bit slow (the waiters are the performers and the cleaners it seems). The singing was very nice and an exciting experience. The music is loud which didn't bother us, but choose a table outside if you want something a bit more intimate or romantic. The menu offers a variety of options that suits every need.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anette B, Owner at LeSi Restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you for the feedback and thank you for taking the time to review us on your experience at LeSi,It is great to see that you enjoyed your experience, and we will definitely give attention to the closing service.Thank you again and we hope that you will visit us soon again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall itguyjhb
Pretoria, South Africa
04 May 2019

“Restaurant Week”
As part of the restaurant week, I decided to choose Lesi Restaurant. Secure parking is offered at Casa Toscana hotel. Warm welcome at the door and shown to our table. The waitress handed us tablets to view the various menus - amuse bouche, starter, mains, dessert and truffles. The Spier Merlot wine complimented the mains very well. Amuse bouche - 4/10Starter - Carpaccio - 6/10Mains - Lamb Shank - 7/10Dessert - 5/10Ambience - 8/10The live entertainment (singing waiters) were quite good!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Lebohang M

15 Apr 2019

“Good...but”
The restuarant had a good ambiance but the food was average and the service terrible,many waiters but not available when needed.We were celebrating a special event which was not acknowledged like it was done for the other patrons.Very unimpressed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anette B, Manager at LeSi Restaurant, responded to this review.
At Casa Toscana we always try to make sure that we offer a quality experience in everything that we offer, from the production of the singing waiters, the quality of the catering and of course the service of the waiters. The service from the waiters does become challenging when the production is on as during those 10 to 15 minutes the waiters are busy with the production. We di have systems in place to ensure that during this time service still continues. This is the first restaurant of this type, so we are continuously innovating. Part of the innovation is making sure that the whole experience is a positive one.Thank you for your feedback, we will definitely give attention to points that you raised.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Q7613KUmandys
Pretoria, South Africa
14 Apr 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“An experience to repeat”
Thoroughly enjoyed the food, the setting and the singing waiters. Opted for the seven course meal. Way too much food. Will do mains and dessert next time.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anette B, Owner at LeSi Restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you so much for the fantastic review. It is great that you enjoyed the experience and we hope that you will visit us again in the near future, you are always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall SuedeBruyn

09 Apr 2019

“Mom's 80th birthday lunch”
Friendly & helpful staff from when we booked until we left LeSi. Music was outstanding, venue excellent, food awesome ... and THE BEST haloumi cheese starter in the universe!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anette B, Owner at LeSi Restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you so much for the fantastic review. It is great that you enjoyed the experience and we hope that you will visit us again in the near future, you are always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Johannes v

08 Apr 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Best of the best”
This is not only a cullinary experience but excellent service paired with very talented singers. Fantastic setting, very romantic.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anette B, Owner at LeSi Restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you so much for the fantastic review. It is great that you enjoyed the experience and we hope that you will visit us again in the near future, you are always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Sharon A
Johannesburg, South Africa
04 Apr 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“A WOW experience”
What a lovely evening. Great food, wonderful ambiance, friendly waiters with amazing voices. I highly recommend an evening at LeSi. A little pricey and a pity that all meals are the same price.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anette B, Owner at LeSi Restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you so much for the fantastic review. It is great that you enjoyed the experience and we hope that you will visit us again in the near future, you are always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall erasmus123

26 Mar 2019

Service
Value for Money
“Singing Waiters exceeded all expectations”
The overall ambience of Lesi Restaurant, the friendly staff with the awesome performance of the singing waiters - Henrico, Onike, Karen and the others - just want you to come back again and again. The food is excellent made with that bit of extra care!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anette B, Manager at LeSi Restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you so much for the fantastic review. It is great that you enjoyed the experience and we hope that you will visit us again in the near future, you are always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at LeSi Restaurant @ Casa Toscana Lodge
Book a Table
Contact LeSi Restaurant @ Casa Toscana Lodge
Contact Us
Address
Cnr Darlington & Meiring Naudé Roads
Lynwood Manor
Pretoria
0081

 

View map
Food Served
Fine DiningBreakfastContinentalItalianMediterranean
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday
07:00 - 22:00 (kitchen closes)
Facilities
Child Friendly
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Dancefloor
Smoking Section
Functions
Weddings
Accommodation
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT