Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Gillian M

16 Feb 2019

“Beautiful views plus great food”
Despite losing our booking we had a delightful evening. We watched the sun go down on the terrace overlooking the vineyards and valley below before having a fabulous meal. I had the whole smoked trout which miraculously had been boned!!! Yum yum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Thomas W
Sarpsborg, Norway
16 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Beautiful!”
Good food, excellent service. Beautiful scenery. We visited in July, and I imagine the scenery to be even more beautiful during the summer season.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall nicolass208
Milan, Italy
15 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“what a disappointment”
having been here throughout the yesrs, we took freinds coming from europe. nice place, amazing view , great table. but the food? became too "cheffy2 , but without solid grounds. the zucchini starter was a disaster , and other dishes were not convincing. why not stay with the classics ?. not sure we will be back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanvB11, Manager at La Petite Ferme, responded to this review.
Dear nicolass208It saddens us to hear that you did not enjoy your return visit to our Restaurant. If you could please send me a personal email to assistantmanager@lapetiteferme.co.za to elaborate on the food being too "cheffy" and what you didnt enjoy about the other dishes. We are genuinely concerned when one of our guests does not have the entire experience of Food, Service and Ambiance on our farm. Looking forward to hearing from you. Warmest regards, Dylan van Blerk Assistant Manager | La Petite Ferme
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall aidy77
Manchester, United Kingdom
13 Feb 2019

“Disorganised, Complacent & ill afterwards”
Visited Le Petite Ferme 12 Feb, was around 17 of us all on different tables as planned. However last of the tables was given away by the staff in error, so was sat 20minutes on the lawn waiting, whilst your front of house just seem to be ignoring the situation. It wasn’t until for the 3rd time of me enquiring as to what was happening did the situation get sorted. We had mix of starters, HOWEVER everyone who had the Tuna was struck down with severe diarrhoea whilst on way home and still the case today. Now I wouldn’t have ever decided to put on here, but I contacted the restaurant to just advise them of our situation and the RUDE RESPONSE from you head chef has left me no choice. Haven’t looked through responses from the head, it would appear he struggles to take criticism without a rude response and that’s what we got back from him on email. At the end of the day your customers who had the Tuna starter were ill, END OF and certainly didn’t expect the rude response received from him. Such a shame because we come to CT many times and year and always recommend LE PETITE FERME TO FRIENDS and family but KYLE [-] HEAD CHEF RESPONSE has most certainly changed That.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanvB11, Manager at La Petite Ferme, responded to this review.
Dear aidy77 Thank you for sharing your side of a situation which, we believe, did not need such a grandiose audience. In hospitality, and many other industries, the customer (our guests) are always right. We will respect the points you have raised, extract the minimal information which we deem to have some value and continue to welcome our guests to our restaurant, give friendly and professional service and serve delicious country style cuisine. We do apologize if you found our Head Chef Kyle's response rude. I can assure you, that the intention of his response was in no way meant to across the way you received and understood the message. Chef Kyle is extremely passionate (As Head Chefs should be) and runs a tight ship in the kitchen. If there is anything else you would like to share with me personally, then please do contact me at assistantmanager@lapetiteferme.co.za Warmest regards, Dylan van BlerkAssistant Manager | La Petite Ferme
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Kabackza
Gothenburg, Sweden
13 Feb 2019

“Lunch with The best view”
You cant go wrong if you go here. We had a fantastic lunch with the most stunning view over Franschoek. The food we hade was excellent.If you like to hike: We actually took a walk up on the road from Franschoek centre, with a winestop at Haut Cabriere(30 min walk) and from there to La Petit Ferme its 10 min walk. And taxi back. All my friends love this place and the view.Book a table in advance if you want to have lunch here.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanvB11, Manager at La Petite Ferme, responded to this review.
Dear Kabackza Thank you for sharing your review of your fantastic lunch at La Petite Ferme. What a special insiders tip to enjoy the great outdoors with a short hike up Olifants Pass, stopping over at the wonderful Haute Cabriere, our neighbours, and then joining us for a long, relaxing & leisurely lunch. And kudos again to book in advance, best way to ensure a beautiful table outside on one of our Terraces or under the Verandah, all sharing a spectacular view of Franschhoek Valley. Looking forward to welcoming you back when you find yourself in Franschhoek Town once again. Warmest regards, Dylan van Blerk Assistant Manager | La Petite Ferme
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Quest50921113161
London, United Kingdom
13 Feb 2019

“What a shame”
I hadn’t been here for some years and somebody told me that it had changed hands. So it was not a surprise tinse that it had been updated and modernised, pleasantly enough but not in any great style.The real sadness as the food which quite simply average. I chose a vegetarian first course which was really lacking in flavour and seasoning, as well as tiny!! My main course again lacked interest and was just ordinary. This is far from the bold, strong flavours that were produced in the past and the cooking lacks passion.Just not special anymore.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall joannaa395
London, United Kingdom
12 Feb 2019

“Very poor food and service”
I was completely shocked by how awful this place was. The setting is undoubtedly stunning with an overview of the Franschoek valley but from the moment we arrived it was clear the restaurant was going to be a disappointment. The bread was stale and the staff were inattentive at best. We skipped the starters because there was literally nothing that sounded edible. Our mains arrived and my husband’s looked like a poor imitation of Kentucky Fried Chicken. Mine was stewed meet with some nice vegetables. It was edible but nonetheless very poor quality. The pièce de résistance was the cheese platter which was three slabs of solid Brie with stale bread. By UK standards, the meal was cheap at £60 for 2 people and we had a bottle of their best wine. I guess this was the blessing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Rsars
Vught, The Netherlands
12 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Beautiful place”
This hotel lies just above Franschhoek and has a beautiful view of the town below. It has it's own vineyard and the rooms we were in was right next to it. We did a wine tasting also, and bought some excellent wines.Absolutely beautiful place.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall hayworthfamily
Surrey, United Kingdom
11 Feb 2019

“Excellent”
We are absolutely flabbergasted by the few reviews down below. We just came back from the restaurant and were absolutely amazed by the ambiance, service and food. Without a reservation the team were able to make us an amazing table and this way we have enjoyed our last evening in the Winelands. Once again thank you for the amazing experience and we will be back soon.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanvB11, Manager at La Petite Ferme, responded to this review.
Dear hayworthfamily We are so grateful and delighted that you took the time to share your amazing experience at our restaurant. The team really do appreciate the positive feedback and it encourages all of us to continue to share this unique & special farm with all of our guests. From all of us at La Petite Ferme, Thank you! Please do let us know when you are in the Franschhoek again. Warmest regards, Dylan van Blerk Assistant Manager | La Petite Ferme
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Weekendsr
London, United Kingdom
10 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Excellent food with stunning views”
We had the wine tasting first which was excellent marizann was lovely, told interesting stories and was so knowledgable. We were bit disappointed when first arrived as had a table inside and it was a beautiful day and we wanted to be outside under the tree with the views. The staff accommodated is and nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DylanvB11, Manager at La Petite Ferme, responded to this review.
Dear WeekendstThank you for sharing your wonderful experience at La Petite Ferme. Marizaan will be thrilled to hear that you enjoyed her tasting. We are glad that we were able to accommodate you outside, gazing at the Franschhoek valley and grazing on, as you say, excellent cuisine. We are truely grateful for such kind words. Warmest regards, Dylan van Blerk | Assistant Manager La Petite Ferme
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at La Petite Ferme
Book a Table
Contact La Petite Ferme
Contact Us
Address
Franschhoek Pass Road
(Lambrechts Road)
Franschhoek
7690

 

View map
Food Served
ContemporaryCape ProvencaleCountrySouth AfricanVegetarian
Average Price$$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday:
Summer November till March
Lunch: 12:00 - 15:30
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Winter April till October
Lunch: 12:00 - 15:30
Dinner: 18:30 - 21:00
Facilities
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Accommodation
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT