Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall JustinFCook

05 Mar 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Romantic Gem in Pretoria”
Had an amazing time at La Pentola. My wife and I decided to good to the restaurant for a date night as a treat. It was a very special evening. The food was such a treat. I can't remember the exact name of my main meal but it was a fantastic flavoured steak that was set on fire by brandy (awesome flavour). We shared two starters - "angel snails" and " aztec mushrooms" both unique flavours that leave you wanting more. There is so much more to say but I think go experience it for yourself, definitely worth it. Visit the union building afterwards for a nice view of the city. Thanks La Pentola and Chef Gaby for a great date night.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ElzCook

21 Feb 2020

“Always a treat”
Well-trained, friendly and informed staff. Amazing food with something exciting for every palate. Lovely atmosphere. Always a treat!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall CherryBlossomGirl88
Manchester, United Kingdom
28 Dec 2019

“Nice food ruined by poor service.”
Nice food ruined by poor service. I had emailed ahead to book and called. When we arrived the waitress was very unwelcoming and said she would ‘check if they could fit us in’ and left us waiting at the entrance. Eventually she moved us to a table crammed right into a corner, even though only 3 of about 15 tables in the restaurant were filled. The table was very wobbly which we mentioned, as we did not want to knock our wine over. The waitress did nothing to help, even though it was so wobbly every time we touched it the glasses nearly fell. In the end we moved ourselves to one of the many other, better, empty tables and wondered why the waitering team had not done this. We asked to try two of the house wines before picking which we would order,And were made to feel like an inconvenience with this request with no recommendations or advice given on what to order. The food that arrived was very nice but not quite as described by the service staff. The evening was unpleasant because of the atmosphere of the waitress even though the food was nice. If we could have tipped the kitchen staff we would have done so.The waitress came over twice to tell us she expected us to tip her, even though she had been rude throughout the meal. I could not wait to leave this restaurant unfortunately. In the restaurant I had visited the night before the food was not as nice as this restaurant, but I gave five stars as we enjoyed our evening because the team were so friendly (and have a food tip). Unfortunately my evening here was not enjoyable.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall FoodConn
Pretoria, South Africa
11 Dec 2019

“Food smothered in cream”
When a dairy allergy is your destiny, then you should rather stay away from this restaurant. Almost every dish is lavishly smothered in a creamy sauce and it is difficult to find a healthy alternative without any creamy component. The food is not that tasty either and sadly this restaurant is not performing as well as expected. The food is rather bland and rather expensive. I won't give it another try....it does not dererve the high ratings given.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall gourmetgranny12

14 Nov 2019

“Great atmosphere”
Have been here a number of times. Never disappointed. Wine pairing/gourmet dinner evenings are great. Staff always friendly.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall CliveR253

07 Nov 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“The Night of the Day the Springboks won the RWC”
We have visited this Restaurant and the branch in Hermanus many times, over many years. Chef Shane's menus are ever changing, ever varied and ever interesting. No matter how much I enjoy my meal, I never have it twice - there is so much equally tempting to try for a 1st time. Maybe I should go more often?The service is friendly, slightly formal (in an informal way), professional, attentive but discreet. The waiters are always able to advise on menu items, describe the specials and completely confuse you as to what you should order.The re-vamped interior of the Pretoria branch has updated and refreshed the look and feel, without losing the Restaurants long and illustrious history in the area.Arrive hungry and prepare to eat a three course meal, explore the wine list and finish with brandy and liqueur.Its taken me far too long to write this message of appreciation, both for this nights wonderful meal and all those I have had at La Pentola over the years.Thank you Shane and your teams here in Pta and in Hermanus, much appreciated.Its a excellent Restaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall VLSteyn

20 Sep 2019

“Great time”
Had a great experience when celebrating a birthday at La Pentola. Warm atmosphere, good service and great food. Definitely will go back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Giselahg_26
Montreal, Canada
25 Aug 2019

“An unforgettable dining experience”
My friends and I visited this restaurant for the 1st time on a Monday (July 8th) and it was not very crowded. We love the service and the food, so we decided to go back on Wednesday (July 10th). However, on that day there was an event called "La Pentola and Cavalli for Gourmet Dinner" and we as tourists did not know about that and we hadn't reservation. But Melissa was extremely attentive and got us the last table available. The dinner was wonderful and delicious and provided us with an unforgettable dining experience. I really recommend this restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall DisTrav

06 Aug 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great menu with superb specials”
It will be hard to find another restaurant offering the taste combinations and flavours as La Pentola. The menu is innovative and offers something for every taste. Make sure to look at the daily specials.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Alejandro G
Montreal, Canada
11 Jul 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“An amazing place, with great food and fantastic service!”
We went to La Pentola on Monday (July 8, 2019) evening. There weren't many people, which was good since that allowed us to have a quiet evening and to exchange with the staff.We had a delicious meal, with African food fusioned with other styles. The ambiance of the restaurant is also very good, and it is located in a quiet area. We had a GREAT service by Melissa, she was very friendly, gave us lots of information, and made our evening fantastic.The experience was so good that we decided to go back yesterday evening (July 10th, 2019). It was crowded! There was a special event, of wine tasting with a 5-course meal. Melissa was INCREDIBLE again. Even with a full restaurant, the ambience was very nice, and the food and wines were DELICIOUS! Also, even with so many guests, the staff and Melissa managed to visit our table (all tables!) from time to time to see how things were going.I recommend this restaurant to everyone visiting Pretoria! The ambience, the food, and the service will make you very happy!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at La Pentola - Pretoria
Book a Table
Contact La Pentola - Pretoria
Contact Us
Address
5 Riviera Galleries
Well Street
Riviera, Pretoria
0084

 

View map
Food Served
Global/InternationalFusionGameSeafoodSouth AfricanVegetarian
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Monday - Friday:
12:00 - 15:00 & 18:00 - 22:00
Saturday: 18:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Takeaways
Smoking Section
Functions
Fireplace
Secure Parking
Disabled
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT