Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Ragamuffin777
Hermanus, South Africa
25 Dec 2019

“Sunny SA Christmas lunch”
Delightful country atmosphere; spacious grounds with beautiful treed lawns. When the weather's fine, outdoor tables are recommended. Although not extensive, good quality menu.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall PresentExplorers
Cape Town Central, South Africa
08 Dec 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Beautiful and fun space”
I enjoyed a delicious breakfast early on a Saturday morning. It can get quite busy, so it may be good to book in advance for breakfast or lunch which starts at 12h00. There is free parking outside and one enters through the deli. The menu of the bistro has a considerable amount of meat on it, so great if you love meat. There are a few vegetarian options and I found the staff to be very accommodating offering a vegetarian quiche or watermelon salad as options. There are croissants, hot meals, muesli and yoghurt which were all great.The space is clean as well as the toilets. Staff are friendly and there is seating inside and outside. The bistro overlooks a beautiful picnic area where family and friends gather to lie under trees. After breakfast we spent some time in the gorgeous deli just attached. There are a range of gifts, produce such as rusk, honey, spices, fruit, meat, freshly baked bread, the most delicious milktart, dried flowers, cookbooks, and lots, lots more. Definitely worth a visit. Across the road is the Ludwig nursery which sells a large selection of beautiful roses. Will be back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall lourensm1365
Langebaan, South Africa
01 Dec 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Breakfast”
If you enjoy cold meats or want to try something completely different for breakfast, try the charcuterie, it's divine. Something you will have to travel far for. The pork rillettes is out of this world.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Michaela A
Linz, Austria
12 Nov 2019

“Lovely breakfast/brunch spot”
A lovely little bistro with friendly staff. The grounds around the bistro are very nice and include a garden/picnic area where kids can play, a micro brewery, a well stocked deli, and even a rose nursery. The food itself was very good, all 10 of us agreed, and the place was quite full so it seems very popular. The bonus for me was seeing Milo on the drinks menu which made me very nostalgic and happy. Oh and oysters on the breakfast/brunch menu is never a bad thing either! ;-)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall IldavanWyk
Durbanville, South Africa
06 Nov 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“A mothers' day gift.”
We had lunch at the bistro, sitting under the trees, overlooking the dam with geese.Children were playing and running around. There is so much space; the amount of people does not bother you. Food was excellent, as well as the home brewed beer.I'm sure it will get quite hot in summer, but if you choose the right time of day, it is an excellent place to relax. They are also serving organic food. I hear it is now called "The Stellies Taproom".
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Bredan S
Cape Town, South Africa
25 Sep 2019

“Good Breakfast”
4 adults and 2 kids and we had a very enjoyable breakfast on Sunday 22 September. Staff are attentive and friendly. Food is good and best of all there was a cosy fireplace on a chilly morning.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall johnnye973
Bloemfontein, South Africa
22 Jul 2019

“I’d say good”
Nice and rustic place. Good for business discussions, surely nice for family outings as well. Good restaurant, beautiful garden and surroundings, lovely deli and shop. If I really need to complain, it would be that the place is getting too commercialized, but hey, a growing business is a good business!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall CapeTownAnn
Paternoster, South Africa
13 Apr 2019

“Delicious Food”
We were recommended to this restaurant by a local and were so happy we listened to him. The weather wasn’t great but inside the bistro the fire was glowing and the restaurant felt lovely and cosy. We ordered the pork neck sitting on mash potato and vegetables with an amazing sauce at R120 it was a good sized portion, great value and absolutely delicious. The grenadilla cheesecake was light and airy and one portion to share was perfect . The attached deli has loads of interesting and tasty looking products as well as a few gift ideas too. A great place for lunch.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall David K
Stellenbosch, South Africa
30 Mar 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Friendly service, could do better with the burger”
I had a lovely lunch with my brother here. The staff were very friendly and attentive.I had the Joostenburger, which wasn't bad... however I would have liked it if the burger patty was abit more firm. (It was closer to a sloppy joe).The scenery here is very relaxing and comforting though.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Capetownbrits
Cape Town, South Africa
08 Mar 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Introducing new friends”
As regular visitors to the bistro on our own we love to introduce new people to this unique venue.Yesterday we invited friends for lunch from Val de Vie who had never heard of it!It never disappoints.Good food and wine, lovely well trained staff in beautiful surroundings all at reasonable prices. Long may it last.Do try The Kraal across the N1 their new limited opening restaurant.Fab!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Joostenberg Bistro
Book a Table
Contact Joostenberg Bistro
Contact Us
Address
Klein Joostenberg Farm
R304, Muldersvlei
Stellenbosch

 

View map
Food Served
BistroBreakfastCountryFrench
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday: 08:00 - 17:00
Please note we are closed on Christmas Day and New Years Day.
Facilities
Child Friendly
Fireplace
Outside Seating
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT