Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
  • Media Reviews
Overall JanineB1813
Cape Town, South Africa
19 Nov 2018

“Expensive with low delivery on expectations”
Friendly staff with comfortable atmosphere. However, I ordered my steak medium rare, and had dished salad and onion rings on the plate when I realised my steak was actually well done. They took it back to the kitcheb to remake, but took forever to bring it back, by which time my husband had already finished his food. Additionally, they didn't replace the salad and onion rings, which I still had to pay for even though I hadn't eaten it. So, very disappointing and rather overpriced for what we received. We won't be returning unfortunately.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall sjfr0st
Constantia, South Africa
04 Nov 2018

“Cold latte”
We have had a long association with Jake's. Meal was tasty. Everything went south when it came to ordering coffee No sweetener. When asked why , we were told because it is unhealthy My husband was given a few sachets by Thai Cafe in Steenberg Village, when he went in search of sweetner so he could order an Americano.My latte was like warm. I mentioned this to the waiter who said he would ' heat it up". I expected another latte, as is the norm. But no , my latte was 'Heated up " in the microwave. My tongue is burnt.Won't be going there again.The resturant was empty considering it was the beginning of the month.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Bongitole
Johannesburg, South Africa
21 Oct 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Jakes aims to please everyone, and has succeeded - superb service as well”
Its modern, innovative menu is what made us big fans - no one has been excluded. If you can't find something that appeals I'd be surprised. There's a breakfast, lunch, kids, a canape, a small plates and 2 set menus that are reasonably priced in addition to the main menu. Starters featured some good crowd pleasers - chilli poppers, Panko prawns and a sushi bowl. I appreciated that Jakes caters for the gluten free brigade, vegans and vegetarians - there are 5 choices here. There's also a good choice of Moroccan flat breads as well as some Poultry choices - just not sure why Beetroot Woolloomooloo was under poultry as it sounded like it was vegetarian? And if you don't feel like herb and nut fillet or pork belly or lamb curry there are burgers, sliders and snags. (a snag is an outdoor cooked sausage e.g. chorizo/bratwurst combined with fried onions, tomato sauce or sweet mustard). Fish lovers have line fish, Norwegian salmon and fish and chips to choose from. We never had room for dessert but the Vietnamese coffee and the deep fried ice cream along with the cinnamon doughnut holes appealed for our next visit. Jakes wine list is superb because its modern and doesn't dwell on one region but embraces them all - from Steenberg to Noordhoek to Robertson, Stellenbosch, Hemel en Aarde (Hermanus), Elgin, Durbanville, Tulbagh and Paarl. So whether you're an MCC/champagne fan or a Chardonnay lover or a red blend afficionado or you hanker after a Mourvedre - Jakes has it on their wine list
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Liezl709
Cape Town, South Africa
03 Oct 2018

“Always a winner”
Love this restaurant. Beautiful setting, great vibe, fantastic food and service. Highly recommended.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall mullchantal

21 Sep 2018

“Jolly Jake's”
Husband and I had a quick lunch at Jake's today. We shared the mixed platter starter and the sliders. The prawn and dim sum was divine. As was the sliders. Everything else was OK. Service was really nice. Quite a lovely lunch. Thank you.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall larrith
Cape Town, South Africa
28 Aug 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Exceptional service”
Wednesday night & inside was full. We were a bit reluctant to sit outside in the cold, but with heaters, blankets & an attentive waitress we were very comfortable. The food was delicious, well-served, and reasonably priced. A stunning family evening, and will be back soon!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall travellersG
Cape Town
27 Aug 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“A favorite for consistency”
This is a great place for a date night or to meet friends. Jake's is not too swanky but also not too casual. The atmosphere is perfect...the service is sometimes a little slow but not so much that I would mark the restaurant down for this. The food is always great and the menu has nice variety. It's a good place to chill and have a really nice meal ~ an easy and central destination for Cape Town people from different parts of the city to meet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall lisadR2241HG

27 Aug 2018

“Deeeeeelicious burgers!”
If you're thinking about going to Jake's on a Tuesday night for their burger special.... just do it! We took some family and friends there last week and the food was amazing. Generous portion and cooked to perfection. Even though the restaurant was full, the service was excellent and the food arrived in good time. We sat in the undercover enclosed patio and even though it was a cold wintery night we were all warm enough under the heater. Definitely worth the visit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Bruce E

12 Aug 2018

“Always excellent”
I have been here multiple times with family, friends or date night with my wife. The service is always excellent, the food top notch, drinks selection awesome and desserts lethal! I've been here to try all their menus... Breakfast (Shakshuka eggs 5*), brunch and dinner. Will be returning many times in the future.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JamieP2581

23 Jul 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Worth it!”
We went to this restaurant on Saturday evening. It was a bit of a drive from the Northern Suburbs, but was worth it. Everything about it was top-notch. The ham and cheese balls were really good and the steak was amazing. The chef's recommendation of a caramel volcano for dessert was a perfect end to a lovely evening. Our waiter James was attentive and helpful. His service was outstanding. We will definitely return.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Jake's in the Village
Book a Table
Contact Jake's in the Village
Contact Us
Address
Shop A5, Steenberg Lifestyle Centre
Steenberg Road
Tokai
7945

 

View map
Food Served
Global/InternationalAsianContemporaryLight MealsMoroccan
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Restaurant:
Monday - Saturday:
Lunch & Dinner
11:30 - 22:30

Bar:
Monday - Saturday:
11:30 - 00:00
Smoking Area
Facilities
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Smoking Section
Functions
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT