Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
  • Media Reviews
Overall 318carlk

18 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Excellent dinner for party 0f 10”
Excellent variety on menu and good sized portions. Service was efficient and for a large table, they did well to coordinate our food so that all could eat together.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Geoff U
Cheshire
27 Jan 2019

“Having embarrasment thrust upon one”
We, as a party of five enjoyed an excellent meal, with e very good, unobtrusive, service. Then, acting as host, the interesting bit, settling the bill. Following, about six attempts by two individual staff members, utilisng two different payment machines, my payment card was decilned, six times. The Card in question having never been previously been declined, in several hundred previous outings and several since, left me looking at a large bill without the resources to meet it. Fortunately, between us we managed to raise sufficent cash, by way of a wip-round. Very embarrassing for me, having invited a group to join me for dinner. Hopefully, reading this review will motivate the management of this setting to ensure fo th future that, their elecronic payments systems are consistent with 21st century customer needs and expectations. In the meantime, if visiting this restaurant, incurring a substantial bill and wish to save embarrasment, make sure you have cash or other than electronic means to pay.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Henry P
Hillcrest, South Africa
03 Jan 2019

“Outdoor dining”
Visited with 3 generations of our family. Sat outside under the canopy. Seating can be uncomfortable on the benches if staying for a long time so ask for the chairs. Service also a little slow but OK. Great gin options and light meals selection. Gluten free a real bonus for one if the family. The kids loved the bean bags and menu selection. Wine prices are OK with a good selection. All in all a pleasant family venue with great ambiance.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JYach
Bengaluru, India
30 Dec 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Delicious . .”
HIWe dined here last night in this charming and very family-oriented restaurantI liked the eclectic decor and the fixturingsExtensive menu that caters to veggies tooGreat service, lovely delicious and tasty foodWorthy of a repeat visit!Well done and thanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JanineB1813
Cape Town, South Africa
19 Nov 2018

“Expensive with low delivery on expectations”
Friendly staff with comfortable atmosphere. However, I ordered my steak medium rare, and had dished salad and onion rings on the plate when I realised my steak was actually well done. They took it back to the kitcheb to remake, but took forever to bring it back, by which time my husband had already finished his food. Additionally, they didn't replace the salad and onion rings, which I still had to pay for even though I hadn't eaten it. So, very disappointing and rather overpriced for what we received. We won't be returning unfortunately.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall sjfr0st
Constantia, South Africa
04 Nov 2018

“Cold latte”
We have had a long association with Jake's. Meal was tasty. Everything went south when it came to ordering coffee No sweetener. When asked why , we were told because it is unhealthy My husband was given a few sachets by Thai Cafe in Steenberg Village, when he went in search of sweetner so he could order an Americano.My latte was like warm. I mentioned this to the waiter who said he would ' heat it up". I expected another latte, as is the norm. But no , my latte was 'Heated up " in the microwave. My tongue is burnt.Won't be going there again.The resturant was empty considering it was the beginning of the month.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Bongitole
Johannesburg, South Africa
21 Oct 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Jakes aims to please everyone, and has succeeded - superb service as well”
Its modern, innovative menu is what made us big fans - no one has been excluded. If you can't find something that appeals I'd be surprised. There's a breakfast, lunch, kids, a canape, a small plates and 2 set menus that are reasonably priced in addition to the main menu. Starters featured some good crowd pleasers - chilli poppers, Panko prawns and a sushi bowl. I appreciated that Jakes caters for the gluten free brigade, vegans and vegetarians - there are 5 choices here. There's also a good choice of Moroccan flat breads as well as some Poultry choices - just not sure why Beetroot Woolloomooloo was under poultry as it sounded like it was vegetarian? And if you don't feel like herb and nut fillet or pork belly or lamb curry there are burgers, sliders and snags. (a snag is an outdoor cooked sausage e.g. chorizo/bratwurst combined with fried onions, tomato sauce or sweet mustard). Fish lovers have line fish, Norwegian salmon and fish and chips to choose from. We never had room for dessert but the Vietnamese coffee and the deep fried ice cream along with the cinnamon doughnut holes appealed for our next visit. Jakes wine list is superb because its modern and doesn't dwell on one region but embraces them all - from Steenberg to Noordhoek to Robertson, Stellenbosch, Hemel en Aarde (Hermanus), Elgin, Durbanville, Tulbagh and Paarl. So whether you're an MCC/champagne fan or a Chardonnay lover or a red blend afficionado or you hanker after a Mourvedre - Jakes has it on their wine list
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Liezl709
Cape Town, South Africa
03 Oct 2018

“Always a winner”
Love this restaurant. Beautiful setting, great vibe, fantastic food and service. Highly recommended.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall mullchantal
Cape Town Central, South Africa
21 Sep 2018

“Jolly Jake's”
Husband and I had a quick lunch at Jake's today. We shared the mixed platter starter and the sliders. The prawn and dim sum was divine. As was the sliders. Everything else was OK. Service was really nice. Quite a lovely lunch. Thank you.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall larrith
Cape Town, South Africa
28 Aug 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Exceptional service”
Wednesday night & inside was full. We were a bit reluctant to sit outside in the cold, but with heaters, blankets & an attentive waitress we were very comfortable. The food was delicious, well-served, and reasonably priced. A stunning family evening, and will be back soon!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Jake's in the Village
Book a Table
Contact Jake's in the Village
Contact Us
Address
Shop A5, Steenberg Lifestyle Centre
Steenberg Road
Tokai
7945

 

View map
Food Served
Global/InternationalAsianContemporaryLight MealsMoroccan
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Restaurant:
Monday - Saturday:
Lunch & Dinner
11:30 - 22:30

Bar:
Monday - Saturday:
11:30 - 00:00
Smoking Area
Facilities
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Smoking Section
Functions
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT