Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
  • Media Reviews
Overall Jess G
London, United Kingdom
03 Jul 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Best Veggie burger ever”
We were a group of 6 who visited Jakes on a night when burgers were on 2 for 1 offer. We all had different burgers but my veggie burger with Avo and beetroot was absolutely delicious. Everyone on the group raved about their meals. The service was great and the place had a fab vibe especially for a Tuesday night. We had to buy wine from the restaurant which was quite expensive but since we saved on the meals we still had great value for money.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall gastronomie2015
Cape Town, South Africa
04 Jun 2019

“Too busy”
For older people this restaurant is too noisy. Staff great but hamstrung by a very slow kitchen-waiting 50 minutes for a meal is too long! My pasta was sub standard but everyone else was happy when the food eventually arrived. The wine I ordered wasn’t available but the alternative was fine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall EdT04
Cape Town, South Africa
05 May 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Well done Jakes”
Always a nice visit with friends, especially on a Staurday afternoon, love going to this restaurant, for a meal, or even just a snack and some drinks , at the lovely bar.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall propguy2014
Cape Town, South Africa
02 May 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great food and smiling service”
Jakes is a very large and well run restaurant. The atmosphere was not spoilt by the size of the restaurant. The service was friendly and ,efficient .I had a calamari starter that was well presented and tasty. My main was a sirloin steak , the sauce (mushroom) was a bit thin, with chips ,it was large and tender. The dessert was an upside down cheesecake with cream ,delicious. Good value for money, I will be back .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Waxman68

01 Apr 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Best for a birthday meal!”
Our waitress, Edna, was fantastic- great smile, friendly and has a wonderful sense of humour.The food was exquisite.. done to to perfection as requested- The rare rump was really rare!The vibe is relaxed yet has a touch of class without making it feel formal, enhanced by eclectic decor with a steampunk edge. There's nothing negative to comment on as the whole experience was just such a pleasure.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall _hannecorbett
Cape Town, South Africa
26 Mar 2019

“Farewell dinner”
We had a great experience. Food and service by Michaela was superb. Place was recommended to us and we were not disappointed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 318carlk

18 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Excellent dinner for party 0f 10”
Excellent variety on menu and good sized portions. Service was efficient and for a large table, they did well to coordinate our food so that all could eat together.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Geoff U
Cheshire
27 Jan 2019

“Having embarrasment thrust upon one”
We, as a party of five enjoyed an excellent meal, with e very good, unobtrusive, service. Then, acting as host, the interesting bit, settling the bill. Following, about six attempts by two individual staff members, utilisng two different payment machines, my payment card was decilned, six times. The Card in question having never been previously been declined, in several hundred previous outings and several since, left me looking at a large bill without the resources to meet it. Fortunately, between us we managed to raise sufficent cash, by way of a wip-round. Very embarrassing for me, having invited a group to join me for dinner. Hopefully, reading this review will motivate the management of this setting to ensure fo th future that, their elecronic payments systems are consistent with 21st century customer needs and expectations. In the meantime, if visiting this restaurant, incurring a substantial bill and wish to save embarrasment, make sure you have cash or other than electronic means to pay.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 984henryp
Hillcrest, South Africa
03 Jan 2019

“Outdoor dining”
Visited with 3 generations of our family. Sat outside under the canopy. Seating can be uncomfortable on the benches if staying for a long time so ask for the chairs. Service also a little slow but OK. Great gin options and light meals selection. Gluten free a real bonus for one if the family. The kids loved the bean bags and menu selection. Wine prices are OK with a good selection. All in all a pleasant family venue with great ambiance.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JYach
Bengaluru, India
30 Dec 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Delicious . .”
HIWe dined here last night in this charming and very family-oriented restaurantI liked the eclectic decor and the fixturingsExtensive menu that caters to veggies tooGreat service, lovely delicious and tasty foodWorthy of a repeat visit!Well done and thanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Jake's in the Village
Book a Table
Contact Jake's in the Village
Contact Us
Address
Shop A5, Steenberg Lifestyle Centre
Steenberg Road
Tokai
7945

 

View map
Food Served
Global/InternationalAsianContemporaryLight MealsMoroccan
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Restaurant:
Monday - Saturday:
Lunch & Dinner
11:30 - 22:30

Bar:
Monday - Saturday:
11:30 - 00:00
Smoking Area
Facilities
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Smoking Section
Functions
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT