Website
Weather
OverviewMenuReviews
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall 953zeldad

22 May 2021

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Chicken Dish”
I thought the chicken had a bit of a smell and should have sent it back. Unfortunately I ate half of it and the next day I had a runny tummy. So did my sister in law who had the same dish. Asked about the puddings which were non existant. Spoke to the owner who has an attitude problem.Won't go back there again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Dan H
Cumbria, United Kingdom
24 Mar 2021

“An Experience. Never Again.”
21/03/21. Never again. The slowest service I've ever experienced. As a hotel and restaurant manager from the UK, I understand the difficulties of running a business, and I'm usually very lenient. However, the two of us sat for almost one hour waiting for two simple dishes; French toast and an omelette. Management were running around looking flustered, and the waiting staff were clearly frustrated and arguing with one another. Our waitress gave no apology for the wait, didn't check whether we enjoyed our meals when taking our plates, and didn't even speak to us when giving us the bill. I spoke to two other tables by us and both had been waiting more than 45 minutes for service. Genuinely an appalling experience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Spangbob
Johannesburg, South Africa
14 Jan 2021

“It is a disgrace to call this a bakery”
Hoping for a relaxing tea time snack, we chose to get take away cake from Doppio Zero. The cakes looked great and the service was adequate. We take it home and the cakes are completely stale and inedible. We had ordered chocolate cake, cheese cake and carrot cake. These cakes are not hard to make and so we expect them to be fresh but they were not, as we would soon find out. We called the restaurant in order to complain, and unfortunately the manager could not care at all and so told us that it is possible to have a 2 day old cake in the display as it is "impossible to finish a cake in a day." Now this is unacceptable as it does not say in the cabinet that the cake you are about to by could be from the day before. And so we now know that doppio zero blatantly lie to their customers just to make money, and these cakes aren't cheap. Overall we are disappointed at best and you cannot call doppio zero a bakery. We did not get any redo of our cakes even with a slip and with the cakes in hand to show. Do not go to doppio zero for cake.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Silvanm796
Johannesburg, South Africa
14 Dec 2020

“Poor service and hair in my food”
We visited the restaurant for breakfast on the 14 December 2020. Our food took around an hour to arrive. On top of it my breakfast had hair on it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MeghannF18
Pinetown, South Africa
31 Oct 2020

“I visited Doppio Zero on the”
I visited Doppio Zero on the 31st of October 2020. I was incredibly disappointed with the service. I really wanted to spoil my gran with a beautiful lunch, but the service was incredibly poor, we waited 15 mins just to try and get a menu after being seated. Eventually then we got someone’s attention, he was rude and dismissive. Then we were asked whether we wanted big or small bottles of still water, we asked for big, the waiter (actually the manager) then told us they had no big bottles as they were downstairs, I wondered why they couldn’t go downstairs and fetch one? We were never checked on and had to constantly beg for any service whatsoever. It was hugely embarrassing for them and myself. I would think again before visiting this restaurant, unless you’re happy begging for service that you’re paying for.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 315jody
Durban, South Africa
28 Oct 2020

“Lovely venue for breakfast”
Good food and good service, love the menu with healthy options of juices. The view is stunning if you sit outside on the balcony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall SusanA3093
Pretoria, South Africa
04 Oct 2020

“I rated this restaurant in”
I rated this restaurant in 2017 as 10 out 10!..... BUT NO MORE!!!As Time sharers at t Cabanas we tried for a whole week to hve their lovely fish cakes and NO!!!.... NO FISHCAKES FOR A WHOLE WEEK!!! After t mishap of t fish cakes, we ordered Pizza... no pizza dough!!! Then we ordered Thai curry... sorry NO Thai curry!With two laid back managers what can you expect???.... poor , no SERVICE FROM the waiters, except William who tried his best!! We wont go back!!! Why are you having food on t menu BUT IT IS NEVER AVAILABLE???!!BAD BAD MANAGEMENT!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Jax295-louw

23 Sep 2020

“Visited Doppio on a Saturday”
Visited Doppio on a Saturday evening and on a Monday. Food was great both times, service was slow on the Monday but great on the Saturday. (I think they were perhaps understaffed on the Monday) Excellent kiddies menu with a wide variety. We had pasta, pizza and gnocci. The food was tasty and well prepared. We also bought a take-away coffee with croissants one morning, all great!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall RonK2855
Cape Town, South Africa
20 Sep 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Casual”
A goog quality casual restaurant with decent pizza nd pasta dishes. The service was attentive and friendly the food of good quality. I shall come again. The only unfortunate thing was that we made a reservation but when we arrived it was not done.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Nicole K
Gauteng, South Africa
08 Aug 2020

“Disappointed and won’t be back”
This used to be our favourite place for pizza’s but since lockdown we have tried twice and story but your pizza’s are no good. WhatsApp order not being taken. Phone in and the person cannot hear you to take an order. It took 10 mins to try place an order. You need to get your act together or you will lose down. Trying to support local businesses.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Doppio Zero - Umhlanga
Book a Table
Order Food at Doppio Zero - Umhlanga
Order Food
Contact Doppio Zero - Umhlanga
Contact Us
Address
Shop A21, Pearls of Umhlanga
Cnr Lagoon Drive and McCausland Crescent
Umhlanga Rocks, Durban

 

View map
Food Served
ItalianBakery / PatisserieBreakfastHealthTapas
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Sunday & Monday: 07:00 - 21:00
Tuesday - Thursday: 07:00 - 22:00
Friday & Saturday: 07:00 - 22:30
Facilities
Child Friendly
Deliveries
Takeaways
Secure Parking
Disabled
Outside Seating
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2021 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT