Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Sarah W

09 Aug 2018

“Disappointing”
Where do I begin. My friend and I had a great meal here about 2 months ago and were keen to come again. We're students so this was meant to be a treat. The portions were smaller, the garlic and chilli that accompany the pizza on the side were dry and appeared stale. Overall it was very underwhelming. The meal was expensive yet the pizza was definitely below average. There weren't enough toppings on my pizza and it was slightly cold. I had to drench my pizza in olive oil to compensate for the lack of cheese.There was also a hair in the pizza that clearly wasn't mine (it was blonde, I am a brunette) when I brought this up with the manager, he claimed it wasn't from the kitchen and therefore not their problem, even though it was on the pizza when it was brought to the table. After eating I whole large pizza I was still hungry, it was just completely unsatisfying.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall rainbowtiger2017
Stellenbosch, South Africa
07 Aug 2018

“Great night out in Stellenbosch”
From the moment we arrived we felt welcome. Our waiter was vigilant and friendly. The pizza was delicious with lots of toppings and a crispy base. The nutella hot chocolate tasted just like Nutella and was perfect for a cold evening. When it came to dessert we ordered tiramisu and apple pie. We were notified promptly that the apple pie crust was not as the chef would like it and advised to replace the pie with tiramisu. Due to a shortage of tiramisu we were given a cheesecake, tiramisu and Panna cotta on the house to share as a group. This was more than generous, we were understandably delighted and found all of the desserts to be delicious, fresh and well portioned. All in all the staff went above and beyond to make the night special and we will definitely be back again :)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Bankiesa
Somerset West, South Africa
26 Jul 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“The food is very good, but the restaurant is very noisy and the entrance door, with no wind lobby, is NOT EXCEPTABLE”
We were two couples who booked a table for last night (Wednesday 25 July). A long story short:1) The food is good2) Service good and friendly3) But we think that R40 corkage , is steep, if taken into mind that the no 1 Trip advisor restaurant in Somerset West, that is also a very, very popular Italian restaurant, is not asking a corkage fee …3) BUT our biggest problem was the entrance door, a few meters away from the tables..As a matter of fact, banging a few times to the table next to the door. WE could just not understand, that there is not a wind lobby.The owners have spend so mush money to fit everything in the restaurant, and SLIP UP terribly with the entrance.Will we visit the restaurant again..For sure, if the sort out the entrance, and scrap the corkage..
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall DanielSTB
Stellenbosch, South Africa
09 Jun 2018

“WARM HOSPITALITY AND GOOD FOOD”
We entered a very welcoming restaurant with friendly, professional staff and a relaxed but not noisy atmosphere. The tables and whole restaurant was very clean and tidy, and the food outstanding,and good value for money. It is an ideal venue for families and groups of friends, or also couples. I can truly and strongly recommend Col'Cacchio and its friendly owners, who show a personal interest in their guests.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colcacchios, Owner at Col'Cacchio, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Hi Daniel. Thanks so much for your kind words. I will relay the message to our team as we all work together to ensure the best possible experience for the customer. Hope to see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Rene V

01 Jun 2018

“Friday night dinner”
Have not been here before not sure why? Off the main road. Parking a little tricky on Friday night but well worth it. Pizza had a lovely crispy thin crust. Had the Asian Pork pizza with red onions and red pepper. Delicious!! Especially if you add a little fresh chili ( provided as a side) Also the pulled lamb pasta! Wow! Worth going back for. Very busy on a Friday night. The food is good and the service was reasonable. Will definitely go back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Marius R

19 May 2018

“Romantic Lunch”
Had a romantic Saturday lunch beautiful setting great food service excellent wide verity on menu to select from.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall fitxifitxi
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
16 Mar 2018

“Wide variety”
There are more options to eat but definitely the one I reccommend is pizza. If you're vegetarian you're in the right place as there are lot of different options. We celebrated a birthday there and the service was very friendly.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 171amandah

04 Mar 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“The service and the food are equally poor”
I ordered wine - which took ages to arrive. Then I ordered penne with a prawn sauce...Prawns, not shrimps. When I eventually was served, I had a hard time finding anything resembling a prawn. When I complained about the stone hard morsels they said were prawns, I was informed about the preparation process...They get the prawns frozen, they defrost it and shell it. Then they cook it and freeze it again to defrost it before cooking it again as part of the pasta...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall jaimemoag
Stellenbosch, South Africa
23 Feb 2018

“Just disappointing...”
Me and a group of 5 friends visited Col’Cacchio last night. I was the only one who didn’t order the ‘student special’ except for one friend who only enjoyed a beer. The specials were fine, pizza was average. Service was slow, drinks took about 15 minuets and arrived bit by bit. The restaurant was not busy at all.I ordered the ‘build your own salad’ and started off by ordering the ‘base’ first, I asked to have rocket only which was priced at R25, our waitress then told me that it wasn’t possible and I had to choose between ‘basic lettuce rocket’ and ‘cos lettuce rocket’ and I assumed she meant that they add cos or basic lettuce with the rocket as a base. I chose cos lettuce but then when the bill came I was charged R25 for rocket and on top of that another R22 for cos lettuce which I didn’t even want in the first place. I asked to add bacon, feta, roasted butternut and avo. The waitress then asked if I didn’t want to add cherry tomatoes as well which I replied to that I didn’t like them raw, she then offered that the kitchen can roast them for me and was very happy to do so, I then agreed to add them, if they were roasted.My salad came, no feta, raw tomatoes which I then didn’t eat, barely a half of what seemed to be a very small avo, and the worst part was that the bacon and butternut was finely diced pizza toppings and almost impossible to eat with a fork. They made no special consideration for the salad to make the toppings bigger and salad proportional, they just used pizza toppings that were ready made.Don’t offer a build your own salad section if you can’t do it properly! When I complained to who I think was a manager about the size of the butternut and bacon in my salad he blamed it on head office and left.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall vincenth1959
Harrogate, United Kingdom
15 Feb 2018

“Good Pizza”
Good choice of Pizzas and wine. Half and Half pizza possible. Situated in a small square off a small shopping complex. , so well sheltered.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Col'Cacchio - Stellenbosch
Book a Table
Contact Col'Cacchio - Stellenbosch
Contact Us
Address
Simonsplein Centre
Plein Street
Stellenbosch
7600

 

View map
Food Served
ItalianHealthPizzasVegetarian
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday:
09:00 - 23:00
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
TV/Sports
Outside Seating
Smoking Section
Functions
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT