Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
  • Media Reviews
Overall julians869
Cape Town, South Africa
11 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great Quality Meal”
We ordered the meat combo to share. All the different cuts were prepared to perfection. The service was mostly good, although one of the waiters was not on the top of his gamer. The issue with the waiter was rectified immediately
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Carol Charmaine E
Granada, Andalucia, Spain
11 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Excellent service at Cattle Baron”
On my husband' s 78th birthday, 20 December (2019), we celebrated at Cattle Baron, De Waterkant. Talk about five start service. From the sparkling glasses to the well informed waiter, the evening was above average. Our meals were faultless with generous portions and the suggested wine was top class.My chicken schnitzel was soft and delicious. I received three schnitzels, and with the baked potato, creamy sauce and free sides of butternut and spinach, I battled to finish. My husband enjoyed his pasta carbonara.When this branch stopped offering buffet meals, we stayed away for a while, but we are back!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall HesOnlyGotOneEar
Bradford, United Kingdom
31 Dec 2019

“Chateaubriand”
We stayed in the Capital Mirage Hotel which is housed in the same building. The Chateaubriand was world class and half the price of the UK. Service was great and value for money was phenomenal.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 101stuartd
Green Point, South Africa
01 Dec 2019

“Perhaps the best value steak restaurant chain around”
Excellent meat, good solid pleasant service and just a great solid no frills genuine good steak restaurant. Their chili sauce is tremendous, and the blackened pepper fillet is superb. Great value and will always return.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall fmq2018
Waterford, Ireland
14 Sep 2019

“Simply Terrible”
If I could give this restaurant 0 stars I would. We had the misfortune of 2 dining experiences in different chains of Cattle Baron during our time in South Africa. The first was in Storms River, the second was unintentional (we were staying in the Capital Mirage Hotel and didn't realise that the rooms service came from this restaurant when we ordered). During our 2.5 weeks in South Africa, these 2 occasions were the only time the dining experience/ food was less than excellent. Cattle Baron is not fine dining, I understand that, but when you get a cold "toastie" where only the bread is partially toasted and mussels in a stodgy, lumpy, lukewarm sauce, it turns your stomach. AVOID.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Graeme L
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
14 Apr 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“REDEMPTION AFTER A VERY DISAPPOINTING MEAL/OUTING LAST TIME”
After a very disappointing meal last time and reviewed accordingly decided to go there last night after 2 sms offering a few specials on Saturday night and we were not disappointed. I had the 300 gram rump rare for R139.00 it was cooked to perfection and very tasty. My had the 800gram pork spare ribs which she raved about!!! Needless to say it was to many ribs for her but a doggie bag was taken. The service was very good and we will go back again due to the convenient location parking available and a great meal last night!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall sharenwalter
Cape Town, South Africa
15 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Best sirloin”
Perfectly grilled, succulent juicy sirloin with a great grilling sauce , the Chips are thickly sliced and crispy and the mushrooms are the best I’ve ever had. One of my favorite places and certainly worth returning to over and over. Would most definitely recommend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall TomThoresen
Oslo, Norway
30 Dec 2018

“Very tasty meat”
Very pleasent visit on a Sunday evening. Food very nice and staff helpful and easy going. Great atmosphere.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall hennik2017
Cape Town, South Africa
27 Dec 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Early dinner in a relaxed atmosphere”
We were pleasantly surprised with the service and the food.Even after informing the waiter that we were going to use the entertainer voucher he was still very friendly and helpful.We order hamburgers - what a feast - juicy patties - served with all the trimmings on a sesame bun with a generous helping of chips. The complimentary two vegetables rounded this perfect meal off. It still gets better- we were having our dinner during Happy Hour and also qualified for 2 drinks for the price of one.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall charlesaY2722GH
Cape Town, South Africa
03 Oct 2018

“BEAUTIFUL RESTAURANT.”
Beautiful restaurant and fantastic views.Menu is affordable and food is excellent.Lovely fireplace as a winter warmer.Management and staff very friendly.A must to experience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Cattle Baron Grill Room & Bar - De Waterkant
Book a Table
Contact Cattle Baron Grill Room & Bar - De Waterkant
Contact Us
Address
40 Chiappini Street
Cnr Chiappini & Strand Street
De Waterkant

 

View map
Food Served
SteakhouseBuffetLight MealsSeafood
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Friday: 11:30 - 22:30
Saturday: 17:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 11:30 - 21:30
Facilities
Child Friendly
Outside Catering
TV/Sports
Takeaways
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Weddings
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT