Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Fearless04520205957

09 Dec 2019

“Disappointing year end lunch”
As result of a good Christmas in July experience we had ,we booked our year end function at Carvers restourant. This time a totally different experience. We were one of 3 such parties and no other guests so they new how many people to cater for.The starters consisted out of soup only, The fish dish empty, and then, ran out of beef and pork. No lamb. (We started eating late, we were told)Ten % service fee obligatory at a carvery. No choice here, even though we had to whistle and call for the carvers and were unhappy with food. The bill arrived for R7000 instead of R3500. Was corrected.I heard one of the other parties arguing with them, but, chose not to, as I had guests. Not good.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Mandyd1404

21 Oct 2019

“Bar fights and incorrect bills”
It’s sad to even have to tick a circle. This place should be in the negative. Got caught in the middle of a bar fight standing on the steps. The guy who started the fight did not care that I was a woman and hit me too. I have a bruised shoulder and a bruised chest. The owner who is currently busy selling is arrogant and have no respect for woman. He treated me badly and spoke to me in a horrible way on a Friday. We went back on the Saturday to clear up the matter, but he refused to apologize and asked us instead to leave. On our way out a young guy Lourens started the fight and attacked my partner. Five guys then got involved and started hitting my partner. That is where I got caught, but none of the men hitting my partner cared that there was a woman caught in the middle. This is disgusting and this place should be closed down. All of this after I queried my bill on the Friday and the owner Frikkie lost it completely. But then again that is his mentality. The hell with the customer. He is rude and a bully. I will not recommend this place to anyone. The health inspector must schedule a visit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Andyrew5000
Pretoria, South Africa
09 Jun 2019

“A satisfying buffet”
Carvers offers a value for money buffet on Sunday R180 per head, a nice selection of traditional roasts and a fish dish.The food is satisfying and relatively tasty, do not go expecting a gourmet meal or an extraordinary wine selection The veggies were slightly over cooked and rather have a second portion of meat than risk the below par limited dessert selection.If you want a value for money satisfying lunch with the family is the place to go.My main complaint is a service charge on a bill where all the servers do is deliver drinks to the table, also our server got our bill wrong and struggled to bring the correct drinks to the table.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall strooh808
Johannesburg, South Africa
21 Mar 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“It harks bake to a time gone by”
Went for lunch and what a lovely surprise. The restaurant was closed(possibly due to power outage) but the pub was open. It has been operating since 1983 so guess they are doing it right. Had the lamb curry and it was delicious.....only managed a photo of an empty plate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall pillay2015
Johannesburg
12 Feb 2019

“Carvers randburg”
Would not recommend this restaurant. Restaurant is dark and dingy. The buffet was food dished into unsightly glass bowls with no lids. Flies sitting on the food.One of the patrons cut himself, asked for a plaster, the manager told him they didn't have a first aid kit or any plasters for that matter. Don't think it's safe to eat there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall lorealuke
Johannesburg, South Africa
12 Dec 2018

“Christmas lunch”
What a useless place to visit. Food is terrible and service is even worse, food waiters have a lousy attitude, it's almost as if we must beg to be served. When I asked for beef he cut it and dumped it in my plate and the sauce splashed on my dress... I do not recommend this place to anyone. They don't even have a drinks menu. Sad place. Beautiful from the outside but inside....
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall yogibearandmum

20 Nov 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Lunch”
The meats were tough the veg mushy the playes were cold, tinned peaches as part of the dessert! One of the worst meals I have eaten, and the charge including the 10% tip which is included in the bill is R 165/pp. I will not be a return customer.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MattJNB
Johannesburg
11 Feb 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Sunday buffet lunch”
Buffets are recipes for disaster. I've been subjected to more I care to remember across the globe, from black-tie events to conferences to bizarre (for me) breakfast food in Beijing. So I'm biased. Carvers has a really nice venue and location. It's geared towards families and locals so am supporting that view. On the up side must say it is good value for money. Service was fair-ish, but then not much service was required. Buffet after all. I visited before 6 years ago, under previous management then, and the buffet was more expansive, then. Things change. Starters consisted of choice of 2 soups, both suffering the same glutinous thickening ingredients. Next on the buffet bandwidth, 3 decidedly canteen, mostly cook-from-frozen mixed vegs and one strange penne thing. Saved by another 3/4 vegs which appeared to have a cook's hand involved. Mains the usual meats under angry heat lights. Kudu venison was the exotic option and tasty, but buffet-tough. Some basic canteen salads. I didnt check deserts. It's a good place if you want to eat a lot and not fussy. Dont order Irish Coffee, that's worth a post on its own.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall howards1360

28 Jan 2018

“Dissapointing”
Went with family for Sunday lunch. The setting is a nice old Cape Dutch style house.we had the buffet ...really not good..starters were poor, the meats were over cooked and there did not seem to be enough. The deserts were melting in the heat.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Kon R
Johannesburg, South Africa
26 Dec 2017

“How disappointing”
Booked Xmas lunch for 5. Was expecting a festive feel. No music no crackers. A sprig of fern was about it on the table. The waiting staff were friendly and attentive. The food. Starters were poor. A selection of soups ok but then some poor salads which were clearly bulk purchased. Most exotic was cold mussel salad. The mains. The meats were very nice gammon , turkey,lamb and beef. My wife being a non meat-eater took the fish and spent 5 minutes deboning it. The veggies were insipid. Deserts were worse. No Xmas pudding or mince pies or ice cream. Some tasteless grenadilla mousse and a choc mousse as tasteless. Bran muffins and unrisen pastries. Oh and tinned peaches!!!! Apart from the meats all 5 of us were scathing of the quality but it made for most of the laughter at the table. Please Carvers you need to up the game big time if we are going to come back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Carvers Restaurant & Pub
Book a Table
Contact Carvers Restaurant & Pub
Contact Us
Address
51 Mountainview Avenue
Darrenwood
Randburg
2118

 

View map
Food Served
BuffetPub MealsSteakhouseVegetarian
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Tuesday - Saturday: 12:00 - 21:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 17:00
Facilities
Child Friendly
TV/Sports
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Fireplace
Secure Parking
Disabled
Outside Seating
Weddings
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT