Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall SoniaG1063

09 Sep 2018

“Brilliant food, service and atmosphere”
A group of friends and myself went to butcher block last night for dinner. Our Waiter Nevelle was great! He informed us about all the delicious specials and gave us recommendations. The food was absolutely divine. We all tried the Chefs specialty’s of the steak. The surf and turf is an absolute winner! It was my first time to the Umhlanga branch and the decor and lighting is beautiful!!!! Such a great vibe, food and service! The steaks were done to perfection as I ordered medium rare. The sides were even great!!!! Look forward to our next wine and Dine at this lovely restaurant!!! Would highly recommend.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear SoniaG, thank you for the excellent review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal. I shall pass on your compliments to Neville your waiter. Now that you know where our store is located we hope you come back and dine with us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall saibasa

27 Aug 2018

“Amazing”
Loved the scenery,the staff were friendly and very welcoming. My fiancé was super excited when he saw what was done for him on his birthday. Together with the Romance Specialist they made it extra special.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you for the lovely review Saibasa, we are delighted your fiance enjoyed his birthday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Alison S
Durban, South Africa
15 Aug 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Tasty but expensive”
Tried this restaurant last night - was supposed to be half price ladies night. The bill came to R300 each for a 200g steak, 1 glass of wine and a coffee - for a half price special this seemed expensive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Alison, the half price only applies to the main course but the bill does seem high for one person. Are you able to send me a copy of your bill to robynne@butcherblock.co.za so that I can follow up?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall VonVintlo
Johannesburg, South Africa
07 Aug 2018

“Tasty meals”
Good tasty food, service is excellent, great choice of wines. Well worth a visit. Setting is great, with secure parking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you for the excellent review VonVintlo! Please join us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall John G

10 Jul 2018

“Marred at the door”
The Butcher Block was touted as one of the best places to eat, but we got off to a bad start when we were met at the door by (presumably) the maitre'de, who palmed us off on a waiter while saying "Sorry, there's a bigger party coming in behind you that I need to focus on". Nought marks for welcome!The rest was fine - competent service combined with decent steakhouse fare. While a little pricey, it compares favourably with other well known steak restaurants around the country. Given the off-hand welcome, I'm not feeling motivated to say more.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear John, many thanks for your feedback. I must apologise sincerely for the manner in which you were greeted at our Umhlanga Branch as this is totally unacceptable. I will most definitely be taking this up with the General Manager of the store. It would be helpful to me if your were able to describe the person who was rude to you as corrective action will definitely be taken. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal and do hope that you visit us again and are shown the warm welcome and hospitality which is what what strive to provide to our customers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall leilag56
Cape Town, South Africa
10 Jul 2018

“Pleasant convenient eatery”
Our choices were well-priced, average sized portions, served hot, timely (all 3 order together), and were tasty and well executed. Desserts were what they said they were - no great shakes. Good open-plan venue well lit and pleasant. Very convenient if staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Umhlanga.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Many thanks for your positive feedback Leilag.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall sammyn5
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
24 Jun 2018

“Disappointing”
Bad service and less than average food. Unfriendly waitress with no knowledge of the menu or what is meant to be done. This visit was a waste of time and money. I will not recommend.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Sammyn,We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us. We aim to provide our customers with quality meals and excellent service. I shall pass your comments on to our store management so that your concerns can be addressed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Gail N

19 Jun 2018

“Excellent Lunch”
Had a lunch with five friends on a Saturday afternoon. They have a lunch menu for R75 which includes a glass of wine. There is a choice of six different dishes and we tried them all. They were all excellent and the atmosphere was very relaxed. The service could not have been better and we will definitely return.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Gail,Thank you so much for your excellent review and 5 Star Rating. We are delighted you enjoyed our lunch special and meals on offer. We look forward to you dining with us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall AndySmal
johannesburg
16 May 2018

“Decent meal, could be cheaper!”
Had a quick business dinner ( lamb chops with chips, very nicely cooked, medium as requested ), service was good, though the upselling is a little tiresome. If I've selected what I want already that doesn't mean I might drop it all for something stuffed with cheese and jalapeno?Good beer (rusty trigger from redrock) on tap. Wine list seemed v expensive, larger markups than would be expected. All good if company credit card paying , but didn't seem like great value.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Andy, many thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Lamb Chops were a great choice and we are delighted to hear that they were cooked as per your request. Our waiters are all required to inform customers what specials are on offer, however if you don't want to know then simply let the waiter know and I'm sure they will be happy to skip this process. Our Tap Beer options have proven to be very popular as is our wine list which has a great selection and price range. We are disappointed to her that you feel you did not get value for your money as our meals are of superior quality and are well sized portions, please keep in mind that lamb is expensive. Once again thank you for your review, and we do hope that you will dine with us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall BrendonD122

02 May 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Excellent.”
Great service, great venue and so welcoming for very different type of occasions.To a certain degree,I do hope one day it has a very great way of incorporating a more night life vibe by means of having a DJ that shall fill up the atmosphere.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Brendon, many thanks for the positive feedback on our restaurant. We do hire out the venue for private functions where we are able to provide music however due to the fact that we are located in a Hotel we are limited to what we can offer as we need to be respectful towards the guests that are staying in the hotel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Butcher Block Restaurant - Umhlanga
Book a Table
Contact Butcher Block Restaurant - Umhlanga
Contact Us
Address
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road
Umhlanga Rocks
4320

 

View map
Food Served
SteakhouseGrillsSeafoodSouth African
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday
Lunch: 12:00 - 15:00
Dinner: 18:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Functions
Weddings
Accommodation
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT