Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Nikitab89
Durban, South Africa
27 May 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Birthday Dinner”
So for my sister's birthday dinner this year we decided to visit Butcher Block in Umhlanga. What a wonderful ambiance, good service and amazing food!! The steaks are just great!! The décor is so beautiful and we had such a great evening! They even did a dessert with an happy birthday which made the night even more special.. will definitely be back soon :)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
Dear Nikita, we are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your evening! Thank you for the excellent feedback and we hope you join us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall DamianSadie
Johannesburg, South Africa
10 May 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Steak supreme”
As part of restaurant week in Durban (May 2019) we chose the Butcher Block, and wow what a superb meal we had. Of course it had to be steak, but which one. I ended up with a rump with a bone marrow topping and sauce. It was simply outstanding. cooked to perfection!The staff were all friendly and very efficient. The red wine list was very good.I must say I wouldn't have found it if it weren't part of restaurant week as it is in a corporate office park, which is in a lovely setting.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
Dear Damian thank you for the excellent review We are delighted that you are now aware of our location and will dine with us again soon. Please follow us on Facebook keep updated with all the Specials we have on offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Melville77
Mount Edgecombe, South Africa
03 Apr 2019

“Dinner”
Fabulous dinner - this steakhouse has a wonderful sea view over the Indian Ocean and the village of Uhmlanga. Our waiter Elton was excellent - rib eye steak was good and enjoyed the mushroom sauce- a a must visit steak house in Durban. Make sure you book - recommended time - sun set
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
Thank you Melville77 for the excellent review. We do hope you join us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Brewersfriend
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
19 Feb 2019

“Good food - good service”
Very handy being right next door to the Holiday Inn Express, good choice of food, and well served.Would happily return
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
Dear Brewersfriend, thank you for the positive feedback, we hope you are dine with us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall LOUIS-THE-LAWYER
Johannesburg, South Africa
31 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“View the blue while you chew”
We visited this excellent restaurant in the Holiday Inn Express adjacent to Gateway due to an advertised special: 200g steak & chips with glass of wine for R85, 00. Over & above the good value, the steak was excellent, the wine out of the top drawer & the service simply outstanding, from the matre d Bheki to our waiter Neville Benade - we'll definitely be back! louis-THE-lawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
Thank you for the excellent review Louis - we do hope you join us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall lari_n_01

18 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Leisurely Lunch”
A lovely spot for a leisurely lunch, sipping cocktails out on the deck on a warm, Summer afternoon. They do have good specials for lunch that's worth looking out for. The burgers are also really great- full of flavour, perfectly balanced, and cooked to perfection. Definitely worth a visit for the great location, the lovely ambiance and of course, those delicious burgers!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
Thank you for the excellent review and positive feedback lari_n_01 we do hope you can join us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Hannah T
Epsom, United Kingdom
23 Dec 2018

“Enjoyable lunch”
We came here mid-week for lunch as my husband had been recommended the oxtail here. The restuarant is located in the grounds of the Holiday Inn so requires a special trip, but its worth it (and parking is free unlike other places in Umhlanga). As a result it was fairly quiet at lunch time (but we've been before in the evening and it was packed). The restuarant is well laid out and nicely decorated and had a relaxed feel at lunch.Staff are friendly and helpful and we were made very welcome. I couldn't decide what to eat so went for two starters - chicken livers and the prawn and mango salad. Both were excellent and certainly filled me up! Hubbie was delighted with his oxtail.Overall a very enjoyable lunch.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
Dear Hannah75, thank you for the favourable review, we do hope you join us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall SirTravelaLot77
Zandvoort, The Netherlands
13 Dec 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Better than just a perfect steak!”
You can get great steaks anywhere in South Africa, so when it gets boring, and you want a variation on that price of meat, this is a great place to go. Ask for the specials, or variations. Service is great as well, friendly fast. Only point they could improve is the choice of beers.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
Thank you for the excellent review SirTravelaLot77 - we do hope you join us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Mayo4sam20
Quin, Ireland
22 Nov 2018

“Probably the best meal of my 2 week trip around S Africa...”
Conveniently located adjacent to the holiday inn with ample parking. Excellent service start to finish.Good wine list and a very extensive and varied menu. Our group was very happy with our meal selection. Highly recommended and I will revisit in next trip to area.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
Brian M thank you for the excellent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your dining experience with us and hope you can join us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall thecheechman
Epsom, United Kingdom
15 Nov 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Tasty food, good service”
THE GOOD:Great steaksTasty OxtailTasty foodfree parkingTHE NOT SO GOOD:locationnearby constructionHad not been back here for a while but it was as good and tasty as I had remembered. I had the oxtail which was very tasty and very nice big portion. My wife had the steak which she loved. The service was very good as well. I have previously been here for their ribeye on the bone which I have to say is amazing. Look forward to having that again. The only downside which is not their fault is the construction that is happening around and ruining what use to be a nice view of the ocean. The location is not the best considering the abundance of restaurants on the main street, but to be honest most people would have cars to get around and is well worth a visit, especially with the free parking.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
Thank you for your very favourable review thecheecham. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal and will join us again soon, hopefully the construction in the area will be over soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Butcher Block Restaurant - Umhlanga
Book a Table
Contact Butcher Block Restaurant - Umhlanga
Contact Us
Address
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road
Umhlanga Rocks
4320

 

View map
Food Served
SteakhouseGrillsSeafoodSouth African
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday
Lunch: 12:00 - 15:00
Dinner: 18:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Functions
Weddings
Accommodation
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT