Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall brian m
Quin, Ireland
22 Nov 2018

“Probably the best meal of my 2 week trip around S Africa...”
Conveniently located adjacent to the holiday inn with ample parking. Excellent service start to finish.Good wine list and a very extensive and varied menu. Our group was very happy with our meal selection. Highly recommended and I will revisit in next trip to area.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Brian M thank you for the excellent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your dining experience with us and hope you can join us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall thecheechman
Epsom, United Kingdom
15 Nov 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Tasty food, good service”
THE GOOD:Great steaksTasty OxtailTasty foodfree parkingTHE NOT SO GOOD:locationnearby constructionHad not been back here for a while but it was as good and tasty as I had remembered. I had the oxtail which was very tasty and very nice big portion. My wife had the steak which she loved. The service was very good as well. I have previously been here for their ribeye on the bone which I have to say is amazing. Look forward to having that again. The only downside which is not their fault is the construction that is happening around and ruining what use to be a nice view of the ocean. The location is not the best considering the abundance of restaurants on the main street, but to be honest most people would have cars to get around and is well worth a visit, especially with the free parking.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you for your very favourable review thecheecham. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal and will join us again soon, hopefully the construction in the area will be over soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall John R

19 Oct 2018

“Travel dinner”
I was traveling thru Durban and was looking for a good restaurant for dinner. As usual when in a new town I research Trip Advisor for suggestions and selected Butcher Block based on Trip Advisor reviews. What a surprise, i loved it. Friendly, great food, service and one of the best T Bone steaks i have ever had. I don't get it, In one of the other reviews they said there meet was cut wrong and why didn't they advise management. I am giving this business 5 because i loved it & the meal was wonderful.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear John R, thank you for the excellent review and favourable feedback. We hope you dine with us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall AnnaliK2
Centurion, South Africa
15 Oct 2018

“First time visit”
We have threatened to dine at this restaurant for many years. Eventually we got around to doing it. My husband had the calamari and chorizzo starter and I ordered a portion of sweet potato crisps. His starter was tasty, my crisps however were cold and soggy. For mains he had a steak and veggies. I also had a steak with a cheese, avo and prawn topping. My steak was very nice, my husband sadly did not enjoy his steak. Service was great and we can not complain about it at all. The restaurant has a very big menu, maybe we should try them again when we are in Umhlanga. We may enjoy it more next time round.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear AnnaliK2, many thanks for your valuable feedback. We are disappointed to hear that not all the items your ordered were satisfactory. Please can we ask that should you dine with us again and your meal/s are not to your satisfaction this be brought to the Manager on duty and we will gladly replace the meal for you. We do hope that you dine with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall SoniaG1063

09 Sep 2018

“Brilliant food, service and atmosphere”
A group of friends and myself went to butcher block last night for dinner. Our Waiter Nevelle was great! He informed us about all the delicious specials and gave us recommendations. The food was absolutely divine. We all tried the Chefs specialty’s of the steak. The surf and turf is an absolute winner! It was my first time to the Umhlanga branch and the decor and lighting is beautiful!!!! Such a great vibe, food and service! The steaks were done to perfection as I ordered medium rare. The sides were even great!!!! Look forward to our next wine and Dine at this lovely restaurant!!! Would highly recommend.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear SoniaG, thank you for the excellent review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal. I shall pass on your compliments to Neville your waiter. Now that you know where our store is located we hope you come back and dine with us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall saibasa

27 Aug 2018

“Amazing”
Loved the scenery,the staff were friendly and very welcoming. My fiancé was super excited when he saw what was done for him on his birthday. Together with the Romance Specialist they made it extra special.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you for the lovely review Saibasa, we are delighted your fiance enjoyed his birthday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Alison S
Durban, South Africa
15 Aug 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Tasty but expensive”
Tried this restaurant last night - was supposed to be half price ladies night. The bill came to R300 each for a 200g steak, 1 glass of wine and a coffee - for a half price special this seemed expensive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear Alison, the half price only applies to the main course but the bill does seem high for one person. Are you able to send me a copy of your bill to robynne@butcherblock.co.za so that I can follow up?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall VonVintlo
Johannesburg, South Africa
07 Aug 2018

“Tasty meals”
Good tasty food, service is excellent, great choice of wines. Well worth a visit. Setting is great, with secure parking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you for the excellent review VonVintlo! Please join us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall John G

10 Jul 2018

“Marred at the door”
The Butcher Block was touted as one of the best places to eat, but we got off to a bad start when we were met at the door by (presumably) the maitre'de, who palmed us off on a waiter while saying "Sorry, there's a bigger party coming in behind you that I need to focus on". Nought marks for welcome!The rest was fine - competent service combined with decent steakhouse fare. While a little pricey, it compares favourably with other well known steak restaurants around the country. Given the off-hand welcome, I'm not feeling motivated to say more.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear John, many thanks for your feedback. I must apologise sincerely for the manner in which you were greeted at our Umhlanga Branch as this is totally unacceptable. I will most definitely be taking this up with the General Manager of the store. It would be helpful to me if your were able to describe the person who was rude to you as corrective action will definitely be taken. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal and do hope that you visit us again and are shown the warm welcome and hospitality which is what what strive to provide to our customers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall leilag56
Cape Town, South Africa
10 Jul 2018

“Pleasant convenient eatery”
Our choices were well-priced, average sized portions, served hot, timely (all 3 order together), and were tasty and well executed. Desserts were what they said they were - no great shakes. Good open-plan venue well lit and pleasant. Very convenient if staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Umhlanga.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Many thanks for your positive feedback Leilag.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Butcher Block Restaurant - Umhlanga
Book a Table
Contact Butcher Block Restaurant - Umhlanga
Contact Us
Address
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road
Umhlanga Rocks
4320

 

View map
Food Served
SteakhouseGrillsSeafoodSouth African
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday
Lunch: 12:00 - 15:00
Dinner: 18:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Functions
Weddings
Accommodation
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT