Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Monty S
Stafa, Switzerland
20 Mar 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Good fish restaurant with wonderful view”
On the way from Bolder's Beach to Cape of Good Hope we stopped at the Black Marlin Restaurant and had lunch. The restaurant is located outside of Simon's Town and offers a large number of parking spaces. We were lucky and could get the last table on the terrace with a wonderful view. The restaurant is very popular with both individual tourists and big bus trips. We ordered various fresh fish products including the local KingKlip, calamari or salmon. We also ordered snails as a starter. Everything was very well prepared. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The restaurant is recommendable.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Plingelingx

16 Feb 2020

“What a view !!”
The view is outstanding !! Good service. Nice wine. The food is nice especially the shellfish and squid. The location is great even with the wild baboons to watch out for not to get in trouble.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall SueR2479
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
11 Feb 2020

“Ms”
Very disappointing evening.. table of 10 , setting is lovely and picturesque.The food was mediocre, we all had seafood.The most disappointing of all was the refried chips that weren’t fresh and had been refried in oil several times.We did complain to the Manager who brushed it off and said they get fresh chips in each day. This may be so , but the chips are fried several times in dirty oil.Will forward a picture of the meal.Wouldn’t recommend this venue at all.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall zahnb2016
Simon's Town, South Africa
26 Jan 2020

“25years and counting”
The views are always SpeCtAcular. Always. The staff have been there for a long time. I hope they are being looked after since Leadership here seems sadly missing-note NO replys to any reviews here. If you are Blessed to eat here as I've been on many occasions eat fish calamari fish cakes or a platter.Today our friend had a curry and loved it also. Weekends have bus loads of tourists who probably keep the doors open since its far for locals to keep it going. Thank you for still being on Cape Towns food journey as Nothing compares to a glass of wine with this beautiful view-Happiness. And should you encounter Baboons Field Mice Butterflies Dragon flies remember that here we are in nature.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Q8921LSgillianb

26 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Avoid at all cost”
Just had worse ever meal in south africa visited 11 times and 5th time at black marlin,cannot believe how bad it was. Ordered steamed mussels arrived reheated with cold cream and garlic sauce poured over, awful mashed garlic on smallest bit of toast I have ever seen. Totally inedible, waiter got manager over who apologized and said he would remove from bill as if he was doing us a favour. Main course came up with wrong sauce, had to keep topping up our own wine and water though only 2 other tables occupied. No staff seen for 20 minutes though lot's of laughter and talk going on between them, couldn't wait to get the bill and escape. Terrible shame as great position, manager and staff need sortng out after all we are paying for a service we did not get
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Jeng1951
Cradock, South Africa
22 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Lunch stopover”
We took friends from UK on a Peninsula tour and stopped at Black Marlin for lunch. Although the Cape had a storm it was still pleasant outside. Hospitality was +class and food well-prepared and delicious. Excellent Rosé Wine from Muldersbosch accompanied our varied choices of seafood. Always a pleasure to eat at Black Marlin. Not too expensive if you rate what your getting.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall slimshaneylondon
London
22 Jan 2020

“Not bad .... room for improvement”
Staff were very friendly & welcoming. Food was ok, served promptly as the restaurant wasn’t busy. Improvements needed are the cleanliness of the place. Would I come back again, probably not.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Kypreos
Cape Town Central, South Africa
21 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Lovely Spot”
We had a table for 6, the waitress was very helpful very good service,excellent position with a lovely view. Our meals were all fish dishes and we were not disappointed, even though they cater mostly for the tourist, they serve good food good service.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall BraynBev
Paarl, South Africa
19 Jan 2020

“Awesome evening”
Not often do both my wife and i enjoy the food at a restuarant from beginning to end like we did at Black Marlin. Service was good and the view and location amazing.Food portions were generous and delishous. Wife was very happy so so was I.Definately will return.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall bobdebell
Wetherby, United Kingdom
15 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Nice location on the sea front, good food, local wines and beer”
We arrived as a party of seven without a reservation. The restaurant was very busy for Sunday lunches. We were asked to wait a few minutes, and after about 10 minutes we were given a table. The ambiance and decor are more cafe than restaurant standard.The menu concentrates mainly on seafood.We all had fish and chips, some with a calamari combo. The food was very well prepared and tasty, if a little basic on presentation. We enjoyed the meal and would happily go again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Black Marlin
Book a Table
Contact Black Marlin
Contact Us
Address
Main Road
Millers Point
Simon's Town
7975

 

View map
Food Served
SeafoodGameGlobal/InternationalGrillsVegetarian
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
7 Days a Week: 09:30 - 21:00
(Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner)
Facilities
Outside Catering
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Fireplace
Secure Parking
Disabled
Outside Seating
Weddings
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2021 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT