Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall ArthurC448
Ballan, Australia
02 Dec 2018

“Food good, ambience not so good”
This is a very large restaurant. I went early so it wasn't crowded. When full it must be very hectic, although I counted 23+/- staff. If you can try and get a table around the corner from the very noisy kitchen area.The food was excellent - mainly northern Indian based with a few southern dishes. I had a Lamb done Tandoori style - it was very tender. The Naan bread was plentiful and alse delicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Rjr836
Windhoek, Namibia
10 Nov 2018

“A bit disappointing”
When to this hotel seeking an authentic Indian experience was but disappointed. Firstly there was constant loud Indian devotional music (bhajans) playing, which definitely is not ideal. Secondly customers are not allowed to share the main course they order, which is not ideal for couples and so against the essence of an Indian cultural experience. Though the interior design setup is good there are cracks on walls needing some attention. The starters do need to come with a warning cause of the portion sizes. The food overall was tasty but the paneer curry was not that great as the pieces had no taste. It seemed like the pieces were just added before the dish was brought to the table.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Anne Marie N
Durban, South Africa
27 Sep 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“The Tandoori”
Whenever I am in Cape Town I never miss a chance to eat at Bihari. Their tandoori chicken, paneer and mushroom dishes are delicious! Best I have had in South Africa so far as many other Indian restaurants tend to overdo it with the spices (especially the Kashmiri chilli powder). Their naan bread is also fantastic. Thank said, I find their curry dishes are average.It is unfortunate that a recent visit to the restaurant left me utterly disappointed. The conduct of the staff members was wanting. The waiters were talking loudly to each other at the entrance of the kitchen, which was close to our table. They also started to play around which physical pushing and shoving. I had to make a request for the commotion to cease (TWICE). I hope that the management takes note of this and improves upon their service.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Kamal K
Delhi, Canada
16 Sep 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great Indian Food”
Excellent Indian food, Indian decor and service. Whole experience was good. Visited with family, ordered from samosa to curries to kulfi...enjoyed every bit of it..
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Shafeeka F
M'saken, Tunisia
13 Sep 2018

“The Small Things R The Big Things”
A gurlfriend took me to dinner at Bihari on my recent visit to Cape Town. I was advised that the venue was popular and that the food was excellent and that mix ups with orders were common but that the food was great.To start off with there was a misunderstanding with our reservation and we were seated in front of the kitchen as there were no other seating options available. 5 minutes after being seated someone else came to inform us that we were meant to be seated at another table around the corner, which was indeed a better option. The overall atmosphere was warm and cozy against the backdrop of freezing external temperatures. We tucked into mains immediately being hungry and ordered the tandoori prawns in garlic butter and the chicken jelfrezi. Both dishes were good although the garlic butter sauce was extremely disappointing and didn’t taste or resemble anything remotely close to garlic butter. No rocket science involved there. We informed the waitron but she didn’t seem to think it to be a big deal. No apology offered and no make good after we ordered the chocolate avalanche cake.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Bruigom
Durban, South Africa
15 Aug 2018

“Good food but shocking service!!”
Given it was a busy night, seated at a table with no cutlery, waited 10 mins and had to go find someone to serve me. Love the food but this is the second time the service has been wanting...one or two more servers and we have winner!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall lekud
Cape Town Central, South Africa
12 Aug 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Good food offset lack of atmosphere”
This was our first visit - decided we fancied authentic curries on a cold night. Other reviews are spot on - food is generally good, although the processed chicken detracted from the butter chicken dish - order something other than chicken. No atmosphere at all - decor and furniture has probably not been changed since hotel was built 40 years ago! Definitely not the place for a romantic evening. However a good place to go if you want curries, or with a crowd.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall NATO2012
Cape Town Central, South Africa
11 Aug 2018

“Back to an Old favourite - Yummy”
Decided to visit an old haunt for a curry and we were not disappointed. Don’t often venture out the southern suburbs at night.Started with veg samosas which where average. Think the pastry needs to be harder/thicker. Maybe also more traditional.Main course was tandoori paneer and a chick pea curry with rice and a garlic nan.The tandoori paneer was the best I have ever had.Service was prompt you can see the chefs hard at work in the open kitchen.The tandoori paneer was the best we have ever had.Will be back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall RudiBosbouer
Cape Town, South Africa
08 Aug 2018

“Damn nice food!”
Our dishes consisted of butter chicken, paneer, butter naan, etc and it was some of the best Indian cuisine I have ever had.Service was terribly good too :-)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall davidsW7459UY
Cape Town, South Africa
27 Jul 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Quality Indian Food”
Bihari has a warm atmosphere and the service is sharp. The menu offers a wide variety but in my experience it is best to avoid ordering anything as mild, as it actually lacks flavour, not just kick. Personal favourites are the Fish Tikka and Chicken Breyani but you cant go wrong ordering any of their more popular dishes. There is a broad vegetarian offering too and it's good. Be sure to order their Naan breads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Bihari - Newlands
Book a Table
Contact Bihari - Newlands
Contact Us
Address
7 Main Road
Newlands

 

View map
Food Served
IndianSeafoodTraditionalVegetarian
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Thursday:
12:30 - 15:30 & 17:30 - 22:30
Friday - Sunday:
12:30 - 22:30
Bar open until 24:00
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
Outside Seating
Smoking Section
Functions
Weddings
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT