Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall DBBolton
Cape Town Central, South Africa
18 Jun 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Excellent service”
Most Fine Dining restaurants choose to employ great waiters, however Norbert is the exception to the rule. He is just excellent. From the moment he introduced himself, I knew the evening of 15 June 2019 was going to be great. Not only is he extremely courteous and attentive, but highly knowledgeble about his product. Well done Norbert. We highly recommend the Chicken Tika Starter. The Bunagosht lamb curry, as well as the Lamb Biryani with a Romali Roti.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall FoCoNoCo
Fort Collins, Colorado
12 May 2019

“Great North Indian food - not a hotel restaurant”
Bihari has excellent food and a very attentive staff. Portions are generous and the service is quick and friendly. I enjoyed being able to sit next to the kitchen and watch the action (and note the spotless clean kitchen).
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 392asheshr
Johannesburg, South Africa
28 Apr 2019

“Scrumptious Dinner”
We visited Bihari for a Saturday night family dinner for 4 .The restaurant was fairly busy and service was good this evening.We enjoyed the Veg Kaju rolls and absolutely loved the Paneer Sashlik starters.Mains included Daal Makhani and Paneer Makhani , both cooked to perfection and medium strength as per request.Delicious indeed .Accompanied cheese and chilli Naan , cheese and garlic Naan were both good .The Indian Masala tea and Lassie were good too .It was a great night out at Bihari, Newlands .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall PV74
London, UK
27 Apr 2019

“Huge portions!”
This is the second time I have eaten at Bihari in Newlands. The food is tasty, and you can have it spiced in the way you would like. But the portions are huge! This time we ordered one starter to share, a main each, and a naan each. It was still too much! As for the food itself, it was tasty. Tasty biryani (with rose water maybe- a little unusual but not too sweet) and delicious butter chicken. And yummy naans!Service was also friendly and efficient!All in all a good evening :)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Grant W
Johannesburg, South Africa
14 Apr 2019

“Excellent food”
Enjoyed a meal whilst staying at the hotel. Food was excellent, with very big portion sizes. Nice atmosphere - we weren't rushed at all. Very nice evening.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 498gerardc

11 Apr 2019

“Good curry”
Most affordable experience of authentic curries .good experience and-consistent foods . Naan breads excellent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Cape_Town_Trev
Kirstenhof, South Africa
07 Apr 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Excellent curry”
31st wedding anniversary so my wife suggests Bihari. We have been before years ago and again was excellent. Not cheap but good quality. Table reservation done and confirmed by email. Quick confirmation.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall rhodaa218
Claremont, South Africa
05 Mar 2019

“Dinner at Bihari”
Bring your appetite along and don't have too many starters. We had the assorted meat platter for starters and an assortment of curries to share for mains. The food is excellent and the service good. If you are not a fan of hot food, request mild, medium can be spicy. Don't miss out on their selection of desserts.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall matt_reuvers

13 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Best Indian Restaurant in Cape Town”
I have been going to Bihari, as well as getting take aways, for the past 10 years and I can safely say that you will never have a bad meal. Every item on the menu is packed full of flavor and enough food to leave you very satisfied. The service at Bihari is extremely efficient and the staff are all very friendly. Even when we come for take aways, the waiters always take time out to greet us and have a chat with us. I highly reccomend the chicken korma curry and any of the biryani!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Jasonleg
Cape Town Central, South Africa
12 Feb 2019

“From favorite to least favorite - unacceptable service”
We have been loyal guests for years and do takeaways of late twice a week. We always order, they know what we like and we collect within the time allocation given on the phone. Went with my partner who went inside to collect, 45 minutes later after he indicated that he kept asking about our order, was told food is coming. At this point I went inside as I had been getting irritated and he was so frustrated that loyal customers who support them weekly were being ignored and treated rudely. In the end he cancelled the order after a 50 minute wait and they have lost their customers. We used to even have our family Christmas lunch here but as of today never again going to support this business.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Bihari - Newlands
Book a Table
Contact Bihari - Newlands
Contact Us
Address
Southern Sun Hotel
7 Main Road
Newlands, Cape Town
7725

 

View map
Food Served
IndianSeafoodTraditionalVegetarian
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Thursday:
12:30 - 15:30 & 17:30 - 22:30
Friday - Sunday:
12:30 - 22:30
Bar open until 24:00
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
Outside Seating
Smoking Section
Functions
Weddings
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT