Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Masibonge M

15 May 2019

“The Kitchen Party is a scam!”
Do yourself a favour and do not bother with the Kitchen Party, it’s a reason to get payment, cancel the event and then keep the monies. I’m highly disappointed with the lack of professionalism and lack of urgency with which I have been treated!I made a booking for 2 persons for the Kitchen Party that was due to take place on the 14th of March (note that full payment is due in order to secure the booking).I was then informed that the Kitchen Party was cancelled and I could opt for a refund or secure a booking for the next Kitchen Party scheduled in June.Subsequent to that it was communicated to me that for auditing and control purposes they were required to refund the monies, and my bank details were requested, which I provided (this was on the 4th of April).I followed up on the status of the refund a week and a half later and was referred to the Director for Food and Beverages, who then referred me to The Front office manager (Chad Louw). Who after 5 days, responded to the email requiring a bank letter as proof of my banking details (of which I sent).11 days later, I was informed my refund was awaiting approval from the finance department (that was on the 30th of April). Needless to say I have not received my refund, Chad has not replied to my emails sent subsequently or returned my calls. What a scam!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at oneNINEone Restaurant, responded to this review.
Hi Masibonge,it is embarrassing to admit that you had to turn to TripAdvisor to get this actioned. On behalf of the entire team, I would like to sincerely apologise for the tedious process you had to endure. As communicated to you, your refund will be delivered to you personally. Best regards,The onenineone team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall xoxo_kir
Johannesburg, South Africa
14 May 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Disappointing Mother's Day Brunch”
We booked for the Mother's Day Brunch on Sunday. The Menu was a misleading. It advised that there would be Oysters "to be enjoyed with a glass of bubbly". But apparently the glass of bubbly was at an extra cost and not even included.They advertised eggs "with the luxurious flavor of truffle" but this was pre-poached eggs that they kept warm and were overdone and if you asked for the truffle they poured oil on your egg.They advised that there would be "soft flapjacks made to order", in reality they had changed this to waffles instead. The "mouthwatering selection of homemade ice creams" was just a Vanilla and Peanut Butter ice cream.The Restaurant did nothing special for mother's day. Not even a small gift/ chocolate/ flower. For R550.00 that is incredibly disappointing. I have paid less and gotten more at different hotels for mother's day where they included bubbly and a small gift.Small things like this go a long way.I will definitely rather support other establishments that put in a bit more effort.To top it off this international hotel chain does not accept Diners Cards!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at oneNINEone Restaurant, responded to this review.
Hi Kristen,It is very concerning to read about your experience. On behalf of the onenineone team, I would like to apologise for a misleading offering. As we truly take it very seriously to continiously improve, your feedback was escalated to the management of onenineone. Despite all, we thank you for choosing to dine with us!Best regards,The onenineone team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall S'nenhlanhla N
Durban, South Africa
20 Mar 2019

“Horrible dining experience”
My friends and I decided to have dinner on Monday night, we were a group of 6 but only 3 of us were eating. We arrived and were greeted by a waiter Inno who was proactive in getting us a table seeing as how I guess they don't have a hostess. She got us menus and water for the table. That's pretty much where any kind of good service stopped. We asked for champagne on the list and it took almost 30 minutes just for her to get back to us as to whether or not they had it, to the point that my friends just ordered a bottle of Red wine instead (P.S, we still dont know if they had champagne) and that bottle of red wine she brought us was the lady one, no heads up about that. Our food literally took an hour if not more and during this time our waiter was nowhere to be seen and no one was giving us sny kind of heads up as to why there was a delay, we had to ask. Our food eventually came and I had ordered the lamb and asked for it to be medium. It was well done. I tried to eat it but I literally couldn't. I didn't even get a steak knife. I told our waiter and all she said was sorry. At this point I asked for the manager/supervisor and he came and told him what had happened and he offered to re-do the meal but at that point I was to angry to sit for another hour for food so I declined. After that nobody came to clear our table, to the point that my friend piled the dishes and glasses together on the side of the table in hopes that it would catch someone's attention. Two of us got up to go to the bathroom and when we came back, we found another manager and our friends complaining again because orders were wrong and service was slow. We asked for the bill 3 times. You would think that after 2 complaints someone would pay attention to us but no. Eventually us girls just got up and left and the guys waited for the bill because we were fed up. That's not how you treat paying guests. It was disgusting service and I will not be dining with you any time soon if ever again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at oneNINEone Restaurant, responded to this review.
Good morning S'nenhlanhla,It is very concerning to read that our team have potentially lost a customer as we couldn't manage to give you the desired dining experience. Despite all of this, we sincerely appreciate you pointing the specifics throughout the evening that added to this evening's overall experience. This will be communicated to management and addressed in detail to prevent such an experience from happening again.Thank you for dining at onenineone and providing us with your feedback.Best regards,The onenineone team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Gelo595
Parkhurst, South Africa
17 Mar 2019

“Very Disappointing”
Highly disappointed in what we received at one nine one. Beyond disappointed to be more precise. I have had the benefit of enjoying many a tasting menu with wine pairing, and this was the only restaurant that failed at creating this experience, and failed dismally. What’s more is that it’s far more expensive than the ones which blew me away! A romantic dinner, was surrounded by people in sports clothing working on their laptops, and casual co-workers having a pint after a hard day- what you would expect at your local pub. Not in a 5 star hotel fine dining restaurant. There was no sommelier, in fact, the waiter hardly knew what wine he was serving. Some of the wines were not in stock, and were replaced with wines I could get in a jiffy at the last minute in pick and pay when entertaining friends at home. We then ordered a tequila, and we received plastic shooter glasses, and something that once resembled a lemon... enough said. The food itself was presented beautifully, but most certainly was NOT an experience - bland, tasteless. It was basically smaller portions of menu items, and not what you would expect from the menu you read beforehand. All in all, I am extremely disappointed in what was received, and would strongly recommend that anyone who is interested in an experience like this, do more research and find a place that can actually offer what they advertise. This was terrible. The cost was double, yes, double what we usually pay, and for that I expected to be blown away. I was blown away, but in a negative way. Please conduct proper research before being tantalized by what they say they can offer, because they can’t and you will pay far more than you need to for a sub-par experience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at oneNINEone Restaurant, responded to this review.
Hi Gelo,It is deeply concerning to read that the experience didn't live up to your expectations. On behalf of the entire team, we would like to apologise for the experience and take it very seriously if our guests are not blown away in a positive manner like you explained. Your feedback will be communicated to the relevant department to investigate in detail to prevent another experience to replicate yours. Best regards,The onenineone team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall tshidi-explorer
Cape Town Central, South Africa
15 Mar 2019

“Delicious duck, yummy side dombolo!”
I highly recommend OneNineOne - it's just cool, from the decor to the professional staff, through to the yummy food. I enjoyed the awesome side dombolo and the duck was stunning!! I dug into the other plates around the tabke and loved the ever so tender lamb - it was all mouth-watering, with great attention to detail. Cheers to an awesome spot and an awesome team that expertly preps delicious food in full view of the guests!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at oneNINEone Restaurant, responded to this review.
Hi Tshidi,Thank you for your wonderful review! We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon in the near future.Best regards,The onenineone team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ajk0gl

20 Feb 2019

“Great business lunch offering”
The revamped restaurant provides a very pleasant and calming experience for a tasty lunch with business principles in mind: efficient, value for money and yet professionally prepared and served.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at oneNINEone Restaurant, responded to this review.
Good afternoon,Thank you for taking the time to share your onenineone experience with us. We are truly delighted to read that the lunch offering and its accompanying elements met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!Best regards,The onenineone team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Candice M
Arusha, Tanzania
15 Jul 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Restaurant week menu!”
I came for lunch for the restaurant week menu. It was delicious and I managed to have most of the restaurant to myself. Service was great and food was delicious. I would come back!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia B, Marketing & Communications Executive at oneNINEone Restaurant, responded to this review.
Good day Candice,What a pleasure to read that you had a memorable dining experience at oneNINEone. We truly hope to welcome you back in the near future.Best,The team at oneNINEone.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Duvern R
Johannesburg, South Africa
19 Jun 2018

“Wonderful Food”
One of the nicest restaurants in Johannesburg. I'm usually not a fan of restaurants in hotels, but oneNINEone is worth a visit. The food is always excellent. Lovely menu. Service is not great thoguh.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia B, Marketing & Communications Executive at oneNINEone Restaurant, responded to this review.
Good morning,We are delighted to find that we managed to exceed your hotel restaurant expectation. We are working hard to steer oneNINEone away from the standard in-hotel restaurant expectation and, for this reason, your feedback is truly valuable.Best regards,The team at oneNINEone
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Cathryn M
Johannesburg, South Africa
25 May 2018

“Dining week 2018”
Food ok. Fish overcooked. Dessert not popping with flavour. Not the exceptional quality I expected. Service was great though.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall TwoTastyTummies
Johannesburg, South Africa
28 Nov 2017

Food
Service
Value for Money
“If you have a food emergency and in dire need of a great foodie evening, call oneNINEone immediately.”
We enjoyed their 3-course menu that they created for Restaurant Week SA 2017, where we were able to choose between EARTH (vegetarian dish), SEA (seafood dish) and FIELD (chicken or beef dish) for starters, mains and dessert, but dessert had no seafood, which makes sense as we have never seen a seafood dessert.We started with EARTH (Baby Beetroot, Celeriac, Gorgonzola, Baby Carrot, Beurre Noisette, what a mouthful ay) and FIELD (Chicken Liver Parfait, Smoked Chicken Breast, Corn Forms, Mushroom). The FIELD had delicious elements, but the chicken breast was a bit dry for us. As for EARTH, it just stood out with the amazing pairing between the baby beetroot and gorgonzola, an absolute match made in heaven.For mains, we ordered SEA (Line Fish, Octopus, Mustard Seeds, Tamarin, Baby Brinjal, Tomato) and FIELD (Rib-Eye, Biltong Pap, Swiss chard, Bone Marrow, Horseradish). Now let us tell you, these were both fantastic. The mustard seeds and baby brinjal in the SEA dish were like nothing we have ever tasted, a big thank you to Chef Xavier for introducing the unique flavours. The FIELD was perfection. A very heavy and rich dish, but everything on the plate was pure indulgence and complimented each other so well. Not a big fan of pap, but this was one of those times that flipped your whole perception of a dish around.Dessert was EARTH (Carrot, Saffron, White Chocolate, Pecan, Churned Buttermilk) and FIELD (Strawberry Varieties, Wheatgrass, Almond). EARTH was like a deconstructed carrot cake with warm buttermilk to ensure it wasn't dry, this is what we call comfort. The FIELD was an interesting one, with the wheatgrass kind of giving you the idea of mowing the lawn while eating strawberries, not our type of dish though.It is always great when you are served with true friendliness, makes the world's difference. They did everything a great waiter should. Serve and clear dishes quickly, be friendly and talkative when talked to, check up on you and made sure we had everything we need. The one odd thing was the number of people checking on us. As we were eating, our waiter and the floor manager kept on coming by to ask how our meals are. This is not that bad, but it is a bit overwhelming.Romantic, semiformal and just plain relaxing was the feels we got from them. oneNINEone is beautiful, a wide open and arty restaurant with comfortable seating and an open kitchen for you to gawk at as the head chef prepares dishes.oneNINEone is pricey, we won’t lie. But having good food, great service, and the perfect atmosphere is definitely worth paying the extra buck for in our opinion.TTT’s rating out of 5: Food - 4 | Service - 4.5 | Atmosphere – 5 | Value – 5oneNINEone gets a 'Fist Bump' from Two Tasty Tummies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at oneNINEone Restaurant
Book a Table
Contact oneNINEone Restaurant
Contact Us
Address
191 Oxford Road
Rosebank
Johannesburg
2132

 

View map
Food Served
Global/InternationalBreakfastContemporarySouth African
Average Price$$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Breakfast
Monday - Friday: 06:15 - 10:30
Saturday & Sunday: 06:15 - 11:30
Lunch
Monday - Saturday: 12:00 - 15:00
Closed between 15:00 - 18:00
Dinner
Monday - Saturday: 18:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
Outside Seating
Disabled
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Accommodation
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT