Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall andriesd2016
Nelspruit, South Africa
13 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“my wife 50th birthday”
we received the best service and excellent food. The venue are perfect located with a good view over Nelspruit, we will go there again soon. thank u.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall mzwa1004
Nelspruit, South Africa
13 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Splendid!”
It is my favourite eatery in the city of Mbombela. I always make sure to take my friends, especially from out of town, to Zest. We have never been disappointed. Wide selection of wines and the food is succulent always! The location is also super! So secluded and yet a stone's throw away from the buzz of the city.Good service always!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall jacolienn
Nelspruit, South Africa
12 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Fantastic Zest!”
This is my favorite restaurant for special occasions. Wedding anniversary of just a Sunday morning breakfast - it is always very special. Their food is outstanding! If you want to spoil yourself and someone special - this is the place to go. The drive out to the restaurant is a beautiful road between orchards and mountains. Very special! Try it you won't be disappointed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GT L, Owner at Zest Restaurant, responded to this review.
Hi JacolienThank you for the positive feedback, we always want to make every visit a special treatRegards GT
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall haraldmossbacher

30 Jan 2019

“Just nice”
The restaurant location is just great. The food devine and good service.If I’m visiting Nelspruit again I know my dinner restaurant already now.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall kzumbi504499
Nelspruit, South Africa
06 Nov 2018

“Perfect”
Just perfect! The setting is great, the views are great, the facility is neat and tidy, the amenities in good order. The food was phenomenal and the service was great. Need to market it more, it's almost unknown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Bongitole
Johannesburg, South Africa
10 Oct 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Sunday lunch for 6 people in the Nelspruit countryside and the menu has improved a lot”
Loved the country feel to this restaurant and lodge. It has 2 distinctive outdoor areas, one of which overlooks the swimming pool. Had relaxing pre-lunch drinks here which made a big difference from overlooking a Johannesburg car park..... Service was slick and unobtrusive and the menu has improved since our last stiff visit 3 years ago. The wine and spirits list is comprehensive, it's actually one of the more superior ones I've seen. Every drinks category is catered for from Louis Roederer Cristal Champagne at the top end to a craft beer or gin or a superior brandy. I liked the explanations next to the Champagne, Sparkling wine and MCC categories - very helpful to guests who don't know the difference. I thought that the MCC selection needed my help in that South African MCC's have come a long way in the past 15 years and can hold their again against a plethora of champagne choices. Perhaps MCC is not a popular choice in Mpumalanga? Cremant which is cheaper than Champagne and which is just as good is a possibility to add to the comprehensive menu. The amuse bouche was lamb samoosa and hummus and salmon dips with sliced bread. I appreciated that younger visitors are well catered for - from spaghetti and burgers to toasties, crumbed chicken breast strips and BBQ pork ribs. A nice selection of starters from wild mushroom and sundried tomato risotto to lamb ribs, calamari and chorizo, not to mention snail gnocchi and warthog carpaccio which I'll have on our next visit. The grilled pear and crispy bacon and candied walnut salad also appealed to me. Mains choices are well balanced - 2 fish choices, Moroccan chicken as well as duck, rump, fillet and prime rib as well as Pork belly are all on the menu. For vegetarians there is vegetable lasagne - perhaps there aren't many visiting vegetarians? Our group ordered a good cross selection of their menu - lamb ribs for starters, kiddies riblets, the kingklip with an excellent risotto, the 250gr beef fillet, a lamb burger, the lamb neck curry as well as sides of spinach and garden greens. We didn't hold back on dessert either - creme brulee, pannacotta, and chocolate fondant - they were all delicious. My only criticism is that I don't recall seeing a good selection of wines by the glass - its the one thing I love the most about Cape Town - they have amazing wines by the glass but I imagine that there are more serious wine and MCC drinkers in that Province.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Ruan95
Pretoria, South Africa
10 Oct 2018

“Excellent”
What a great place! We had dinner at Zest last night and I was pleasantly surprised by the standard of service and food!! I would definitely recommend Zest and would return! Prime rib was amazing!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall badplaasmarketing
Badplaas, South Africa
27 Aug 2018

“Business client year end”
Poor service with a large crowd. Unhelpful waiters. Very disorganised. Perhaps a better dining experience for a small party of people. Average food, had better previously.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GT L, Owner at Zest Restaurant, responded to this review.
MorningIf you can let us know when you had this poor year end experience in August ? It is always better to bring any service or food problems to our attention on the day. Can be rectified or fixed on the day, but appreciator your feedback. Just need a date of this function as a referenceRegardsGT LundieOwner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Izak_Fick
Nelspruit, South Africa
27 Aug 2018

“Visiting friends are always pleasantly surprised with the excellence of Zest's food”
We have visited the restaurant a number of times and Zest has become our first choice for really good food. Especially when you have visiting guests with an experience in good food elsewhere, Have never been sorry for any of many vists..
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Maree-Louise V
Nelspruit, South Africa
27 Aug 2018

“Delicious and tranquil experience”
We went to Zest for a celebratory luncheon and was not disappointed! Portions are good and the atmosphere was so relaxing. Its a must venue for any special treat or occasion!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Zest Restaurant - Nelspruit
Book a Table
Contact Zest Restaurant - Nelspruit
Contact Us
Address
11km from Nelspruit on the R37
(Lydenburg/Mashishing Road)
Nelspruit

 

View map
Food Served
ContemporaryFine DiningFrenchMediterranean
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Sunday: 09:00 - 15:30
Tuesday - Saturday: 09:00 - 21:30
Facilities
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Disabled
Smoking Section
Functions
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT