Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall inaheunis
Cape Town, South Africa
16 Jun 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Good food. Dinner”
Feedback after a superb Dinner. Good food. Reception and Waiter did everything to accommodate and make our evening good.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall lens994
Cape Town, South Africa
23 May 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Once Bitten Twice Shy”
The Restaurant was fairly empty for a Saturday night, so there was no excuse not to have good service and a good meal, which I was expecting as I was advised to goo to this restaurant by friends who said they had the best meal ever when they went to this restaurant. I was bitterly disappointed with the meal and the response when I reported it to the owner.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Dear lens994, many thanks for your review. I'm truly sorry you did not have a good experience despite your friends recommendation. Sadly I cannot comment as you have not given me much details regarding the poor meal or my response and I cannot recall any negative reports on the food or service this past weekend.We have been open for 9 years and every winter beginning in May the town is extremely quiet so even on a weekend, business can be slow.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall r0adrunred
Knysna
21 May 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Between Average and Very Good”
This is quite a traditional style restaurant but we were very happy to find it open on a Sunday evening when everything else in town was closed. We left having had a very satisfactory meal.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you so much for your review. Glad we were able to accommodate you and that you were satisfied with your meal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall mitzigrob
Villiers, South Africa
16 May 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Rather disappointed ......”
I was looking forward to the "fall off the bone " lamb shank,and found it rather tough to get off the bone.My husband had pork ribs with a nice unusual basting .A tad over priced , especially the lamb .The staff seems to try ,but kept dropping cutlery on the floor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you for your review. Have spoken to the kitchen staff to ensure the lamb shanks are cooked to our normal standard. Sadly with the soaring price of food these days, we are unable to offer Lamb Shank and Pork Belly Ribs at a lower cost. We do run specials on other dishes but our pricing is on par with similar restaurants in the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall kdgarlipp
Pretoria, South Africa
16 Apr 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Enjoyable food”
Although the service is slow the good food makes up for this. Their meat dishes were excellent. However I had to remind the stewardess and manager as to what was included in the meal according to the menu. This was brought after the meal was eaten.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate the feedback and will discuss with the staff both front of house and kitchen to ensure they don't miss any items off the plate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MavisNev
Windermere England
14 Apr 2018

“Excellent”
We always dine at Ye Olde Tavern when in Montagu. The food is always good and excellent value. Two lovely young ladies on their first night waiting on did very well!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and so happy to hear that we have consistently met your expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Jinx L
Montagu, South Africa
02 Apr 2018

Food
Value for Money
“Brilliant food, service and setting”
A glorious garden in the back to relax in, lovely interior, depicting artistic murals of gone by days. Not to mention the great food and good service. We were a table of 14 and they had no trouble catering for us.After a seriously bad time they had to go through, Olde Tavern has bounced back stunningly! Congrats on making it work in spite of the hardships and problems you had to overcome. You make us proud! Excellent food and great atmosphere.Don't miss out.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Credit to all my new staff for trying so hard and working extra long hours, could not have done it without them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall DriesCronje

01 Apr 2018

“Such a disappointment!”
This was the absolute low point of a weekend visit to Montagu. Everythig was terrible. For starters, we waited 75 minutes for our starters, and did not see our waitress in that time. Then they did not have the steaks they recommended we ordered. The replacement steak was terrible, raw and drenched in basting. The other main meal, a chicken schnitzel was one half burned to a crisp and the other half barely edible. There was one teaspoon of mushroom sauce (powder soup?!) and the veggies all went back to the kitchen after one bite. This evening was a disaster. We strongly discourage a visit to Ye Olde Tavern! You can make ten times better food at home.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you for the review. Even the best restaurant are not perfect and sadly this evening we were not at our best. Sometimes, when a restaurant is very busy and pushed to it's limits, the kitchen takes strain and this was definitely one of those nights.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Billy W

25 Mar 2018

“Food”
Ordered two fillet steaks,selection of vegetables and chips.Served two pieces of indeterminate meat, small dish spinach and small dish chips.Conclusion, certainly was not fillet beef, this was almost impossible to cut or indeed to eat.Blamed meat supplier not those in kitchen who you would expect to know what is fillet.Opted for alternative lamb shank which was fine, served with small dish potato and small dish butternut squash.Apart from not serving meat as ordered expected ‘selection vegetables’ to mean more than we received.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you for your review. I do sincerely apologize for the poor quality of meat your received. I did indeed speak with our butcher who said he has already discussed with main supplier about the grade and quality of fillet he had received that week. Our meat is pre-weighed, cut and vacuum packed and if there is any issue's with the quality then we do bring it his attention. We would have been happy to provide extra potato and butternut at no extra cost had we been given the opportunity to do so. Overall we glad you enjoyed the Lamb Shank and service which we appreciate you mentioned at the end of the evening to our hostess.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall lyndz87
Johannesburg, South Africa
21 Mar 2018

“Great good”
Loved the food and service was fantastic!! The bread rolls served as a starter were delicious and fresh!! Highly recommend!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and so glad you enjoyed our freshly baked roosterbrood which we make on a daily basis.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Ye Olde Tavern
Book a Table
Contact Ye Olde Tavern
Contact Us
Address
47 Bath Street
Montagu
6720

 

View map
Food Served
PizzasGrillsPastasSouth AfricanVegetarian
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
7 Days a Week
Restaurant for Dinner from 17:30
Social Lounge and Beer Garden from 15:30
Kitchen closes at 21:30pm
Outdoor and Garden Seating
Facilities
Child Friendly
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Disabled
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Load Shedding
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT