Call
Email
Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Davect2013
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
17 Aug 2017

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Winter Special”
My wife and are visiting our grandchildren in Montagu and heard about The Old Tavern's winter special of 3 courses for R120. So we gave it a try. You have a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains and 3 deserts along with a glass of house wine. The food was well cooked and tasty. Certainly worth the cost. The only complaint we had was that we were a little rushed and would have liked to have more time between courses. Although married for 40 something years, believe it or not we are still able to talk to each other.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall killinj
Worcester, South Africa
14 Aug 2017

Food
Service
Value for Money
“What a meal”
We enquired around Montagu where we should eat and all referred us to Ye Olde Tavern. My wife & I both tried the lamb shank with mash & pumpkin and the venue & the food lived up to expectations. The "griddle cakes" or "rooster koek" rolls were really superb and a great start to a good dining experience. As it was August, there were enough heaters to keep venue pleasantly warm. The staff were really friendly and attentive. Prices are also realistic. The food was piping hot and the meat of the shank fell off the bone. The portions were more than adequate. All round a great experience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall kiko A
Hall in Tirol, Austria
02 Aug 2017

“Nice Restaurant”
For us it was number 2 in town. If you like meat its a good choice. The Pasta is not recommandable. Overcooked noodles and suspicious Sauce. The mushroom soup as starter was delicious and the steak as Starter also. Worth to try!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
11 Aug 2017
I appreciate you taking the time to write your review - I apologise if you felt that the pasta dish did not meet with your approval but am happy to note that you enjoyed the rest of your meal and that you rated the restaurant 4 out of 5 - thank you - your comments are very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Rudi B
Cape Town, South Africa
28 Jul 2017

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Best food in Montagu”
We were on a business trip and had to stay over for the night. Ye Olde Tavern is definately the best place to eat in town. I an recommend their Bobotie, Pepper Steak and starters. It is very generous portions with value for money. This is my 1st choice next time when I go to Montagu.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
01 Aug 2017
So nice to read a review ticking all the right boxes! Thank you for posting it and we look forward to your return visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 427Shaz
Cape Town, South Africa
16 Jul 2017

“Great dining”
This is not just a restaurant.It is in a delightful old Victorian House and tastefully furnished with photos of yesteryear.You are welcomed as a guest . One of our party is a vegan and in discussing his options ( not necessarily on the menu) with Sonja, all I heard was" sure, we can do that for you" and she did and all the food was delicious. A lovely touch was; to thank you for coming you were given a chocolate send off. A special place with good old South African hospitality.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
24 Jul 2017
Thank you for such a wonderful review - it was an absolute pleasure having you dine with me - all your comments are very much appreciated - pleased your enjoyed your truffle!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Candice d

08 Jul 2017

“Delicious food, warm ambience”
We stopped here for an early supper for the family. Perfect selection of delicious fare with warm, friendly and hospitable waitresses and owner. Food was delightful, tasty, homely comfort food. Would highly recommend.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
12 Jul 2017
Your review is very much appreciated - thank you for taking the time to post it! Delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Ye Olde Tavern!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Lara S
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
02 Jul 2017

“Best spot in Montagu!”
Whilst staying at The Vic 1906, it was recommended that we have dinner at Ye old tavern. The restaurant is beautiful and warm inside. The food was delicious and the they have a great local wine list which is very reasonably priced! Definitely a must!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
07 Jul 2017
This is a very nice review in every aspect - it is very much appreciated especially the 5 * - thank you so much for taking the time to post it!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall hewittwilliamt
Montagu, South Africa
28 Jun 2017

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Very pleasant experience”
The meal was very good although one member of our party was disappointed with his potato and coconut soup. The rest of the party had the two for one pizza special which was great and very reasonably priced. The total bill including tip and drinks worked out to R150-00 per person. Not bad at all. I had a local american style bottled craft beer which I enjoyed. The others all had house wine by the glass and I heard no complaints. There is plenty of street parking and the car is generally safe in this country town.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
07 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review - it seems that a good night was had by all - the only downfall being the potato and coconut soup which is not everyone's cup of tea!! Happy that you enjoyed everything else and that you found the prices reasonable!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Johan M
Brackenfell, South Africa
26 Jun 2017

“Average”
Refered to us by a local as one of the best, but our food was cold and not as succulent as we are used to. About the same experience as with a Spur, just more expensive and food less than in that sort of restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
07 Jul 2017
Sorry that you were not happy with your meal - please accept my apologies!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall RaquelleA
New York City, New York
19 Jun 2017

Food
Service
Value for Money
“lovely ambience, average food”
Thanks to Sonya, the owner, who found us a table (and hotel rooms) at the last minute on Wacky Wine Weekend. Sitting in the garden was great, but the food (lamb stew) - although very generously portioned - was only average, likewise for the wines.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
07 Jul 2017
Thank you for writing this review - it was a pleasure to have been able to find you accommodation! As for your meal and the wine being average - a little dissappointed for your sake - please accept my apology!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Address
47 Bath Street
Montagu
6720

 

View map
Food Served
PizzasGrillsPastasSouth AfricanVegetarian
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
7 Days a Week
Restaurant for Dinner from 17:30
Social Lounge and Beer Garden from 15:30
Kitchen closes at 21:30pm
Outdoor and Garden Seating
Facilities
Child Friendly
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Disabled
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Load Shedding
© 2017 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT