Call
Email
Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall DudleyFeebish
Cape Town Central, South Africa
23 Feb 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Best Belgian waffle ever!”
Chatting to a local in Montague, I was advised that Ye Olde Tavern is the best restaurant in Montague and is highly recommended.Although it’s nice and cosy inside, if it’s a warm evening, I suggest that you sit outside in the garden area. If you get cold, they provide blankets.They have a really comprehensive menu. However, when the waiter arrived to take our order, we were told to ignore the extensive menu and we were restricted to order from a truncated version in the cover of the menu. Quite frankly, I have never heard of such a thing before.I had the lamb shank which was delicious and, as promised, was slow cooked and fell off the bone. The plate was decorated by a delicious sauce, but that’s all it was – a decoration. What a pity. The accompaniments consisted of a small bowl of mash (quite delicious) – but no sauce – and two small ramekins containing the usual butternut and cream spinach. With so many wonderful vegetables to choose from, I cannot understand why restaurants persists in serving butternut and cream spinach. And to top it all, it was cooked to death.One of us ordered the fillet steak. He ordered medium rare and got medium despite the definitions on the menu as to the meaning of medium, medium rare, etc. The steak was sent back and, to the credit of the owner, it was replaced immediately. Again, the ubiquitous dull butternut and cream spinach accompanied the meal. The chips were soggy and not light and crisp as they should be. The saving grace was that the steak was outstanding, both in quality and flavour.One of my guests ordered the chicken curry. Although good in flavour, the portion was small and consisted for the most part of potato. The hero of a chicken curry is, of course, chicken. This dish would have been a winner if only there was more chicken and less potatoAs a dessert I ordered the Belgian waffle. Now, the service to begin with was appallingly slow despite the fact that there were two young waiters fretting around. We waited forever for our food to arrive. Sadly, we waited even longer for the dessert to arrive with the usual promises that “It’s coming now-now”. After an agonising 40 minute wait (no exaggeration), I was about to leave the restaurant when my waffle with ice cream finally made its appearance. At this point, all my reservations about the meal and poor service simply melted away. This was, without a doubt, the most delicious Belgian waffle I have ever eaten, including in Europe. Utter perfection. All they have to do is sort out the service and vegetables and offer whatever is on the menu and you have winner.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall John S
United Kingdom
20 Feb 2018

“Great service and good prices”
We only needed a light supper but nothing was too much trouble and we still received excellent service. The inner courtyard is a delightful oasis on a warm evening with discrete lighting and a lovely atmosphere.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Gansyandd
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
19 Feb 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Warm welcome”
Lovely staff and a warm welcome. Outside area very pretty. Recommend lamb shank and sauce for steaks. Corkage fees very reasonable - 15R. Charming.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 1902alexander
Golfe-Juan Vallauris, France
14 Feb 2018

“Good service and perfect beef fillet”
Ye Olde Tavern had at the time of our visit a limited menu due to training of new staff in the kitchen and waiters. We expected to be irritated by this, but no worries. Fillet and fish were quickly served and of high cq good quality. Service friendly (brother of owner and junior waitress with spectacles). Unfortunately the Pinotage was out of stock. Quality of vegetables could be increased. Lots of succes to these guys!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Akexander thank you for writing such a lovely review - it has been a very trying time over the past couple of weeks and now finally we are back on track with a full complement of new staff - yes we will have a few glitches which is to be expected but we are really working hard in every aspect to make all our diners feel at home and enjoy their experience of dining with us. Happy to note that you enjoyed your food, the service and again thank you for putting it in writing - much appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Theodine J
Montagu, South Africa
31 Jan 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“AMAZING FOOD AND TASTY FOOD”
We enjoyed our meal at Ye Olde tavern with our adult kids. The food was delicious and tasty and the service outstanding. Price of food is very good for the quality compared to other similar restaurants. Ambiance of the restaurant is cosy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
This is such a positive review - thank you for taking the time to post it - it is very much appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Karen Platou J
Sandefjord, Norway
27 Jan 2018

“Nice !”
Very nice restaurant with a beautiful back garden . The food was excellent , the menu had everything ! But they were out of stock on many of the wines we selected. And this is in the midle of the wine district ! Funny .....But absolutely a place to eat, and with kids as well as they had a kid menu..
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Your review is very much appreciated - happy to know that you enjoyed your evening in the garden as well as the the food - sorry about the wines not being available - possibly close to stock take that we were so low on wines but thank you for highlighting this we have now taken note and will endevour to keep our wine stock up to date!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall RODDERS28
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
22 Jan 2018

“Extensive menu but not exciting”
A very pleasant restaurant with some good old favourites to choose from However I have always maintained that quality can sometimes suffer because of the vast number of dishes on the menu and I certainly felt this was the case My Beef and Ale pie was good but the chips looked tired and the Spinach was very average There are better places in Montagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
Thank you for posting your review - your comments have been noted!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall David M
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
19 Jan 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Stunning garden”
lovely restaurant serving wonderful food, we sat out back in the garden, the area was wonderful relaxing and conducive to enjoying great food.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
So pleased that you enjoyed the garden setting and the meal - happy that you had such a lovely evening!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall May M
Kenmore, Scotland, United Kingdom
18 Jan 2018

“Atmospheric”
Lovely place fantastic food and gorgeous court yard creating a romantic atmosphere lovely host and staff.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
What can one say when we receive such a lovely review except thank you so much - it is very much appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Bronmantel90
Cape Town, South Africa
16 Jan 2018

“Just really lovely.. delicious food that caters for everyone!”
Discovered this charming eatery on our retreat to Montagu. As a banterer, it's hard eating out at restaurants as your options are so limited - not so at Ye Olde Tavern. I'd recommend the Chicken A La King to everyone, banting or not banting. Too delicious to pass up!The interior emanated timeless elegance - hopefully next time we visit we'll get a spot in the courtyard! Service was good too, no complaints on that front.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review.
01 Jan 1900
I was so pleased to read this review - thank you for your compliments on the Chicken A LA King dish - it is extremely popular and I am so happy that we were able to cater for you as a banterer! Overall a lovely review - thank you so much yet again for taking the time to place your review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Address
47 Bath Street
Montagu
6720

 

View map
Food Served
PizzasGrillsPastasSouth AfricanVegetarian
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
7 Days a Week
Restaurant for Dinner from 17:30
Social Lounge and Beer Garden from 15:30
Kitchen closes at 21:30pm
Outdoor and Garden Seating
Facilities
Child Friendly
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Disabled
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Load Shedding
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT