Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall WanguiG
Sandton, South Africa
23 Aug 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Nice Birthday Dinner”
Lovely old charm restaurant well known for its meat variety....great service...recommend good choices for food if not sure what to have...slightly pricey but worth it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall rosse534
Bryanston, South Africa
06 Aug 2019

“Best dinner around”
Had dinner there the food was fantastic and the service was awesome would go back anytime lookin forward to the next dinner there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall DaleRSA
Bryanston, South Africa
15 Jul 2019

“Not what I expected”
I visited in 2018, during the week. The service was 5 star and I loved the decor and feel of the restaurant.Food let us down a bit with the lamb shank tasting very bland...My wife had a steak and also found it a bit bland.Wine selection was good and we enjoyed the owners homemade ice cream which lived up to it reputation and was delicious(he's apparently been making it for decades).I have had a number of friends and family go through to Wombles multiple times previously and they've all found the restaurant wonderful. So I do think that we went on a rare off day. With that in mind, I plan on returning to Wombles in the coming weeks and hopefully amending my review to reflect a more positive score.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall thumper234
Johannesburg, South Africa
10 Jul 2019

“A great family owned steakhouse”
Wombles is one of the best steakhouses in Joburg. It is family owned which means the service, menu & staff are personally committed. I have been going to their restaurants for over 7 years, and would rate it higher than any of the other corp owned steakhouses, like Butcher shop.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall LlewellynPatrick
Sandton, South Africa
03 Jul 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Best Steakhouse in Johannesburg”
One of Zimbabwe's great exports. I have been going to Wombles since they were in Borrowdale, Harare. It is my wife's and my go-to place when we want bone marrow on toast and steak tartare in 2019. That said, I have never had a bad steak of any kind at Wombles. I prefer to be seated in the salon area overlooking the car park - it's far more intimate.The service is always great. A lot of attention early on in the process, and then one is left alone towards the end of the meal to savour one's dessert and after-dinner liqueur. It's so good I have to go to Wombles once every 2-3 months.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Belinda B
Alberton, South Africa
03 Jul 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great food and service”
The food was very tasty, the staff were super friendly and clued up. The interior made you feel like you were at some fancy game farm. All round a really good experience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall tntaglia
Wahroonga, Australia
21 Jun 2019

“Great food and service”
The fillet on the bone was amazing! Service was excellent all evening, attentive and friendly. We visited on a Wednesday and it was not too busy, will definitely go again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Ramack
Johannesburg, South Africa
15 Jun 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Nothing to write home about..”
I chose this restaurant for a special dinner with foreign guests. The food was generally enjoyable but the service was clumsy - the waiter spilled wine whilst pouring and didn't even bother to clean it up. The restaurant was also very noisy for a weeknight and ultimately failed to provide the elegant, business ambience that we sought.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall itguyjhb
Pretoria, South Africa
14 Jun 2019

“Superb dining experience”
After numerous recommendations, I decided to give Wombles a go. Just off William Nicol, you find this gem. The welcome at the door was warm and we were shown to our table. I felt at home. We were given a chance to peruse the wine menu and opted for the Rupert and Rothchild Classique wine. The maître d gave us a run down on the daily specials & recommendations. Opted for the following:Starters: Duck Liver Pâté (8.5/10)Mains: Lamb Shank (9/10) and Beef Fillet Stroganoff (7/10). Served with veggies.Dessert: Pavlova (8/10) and Malva (9/10)The service was outstanding. A big thanks to the service crew of making this day special.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Love_morenzu

11 Jun 2019

“Excellent”
An environment fit for a business or a leisure dinner with family and friends or with clients - try out the fillet and the starters and you will seek accommodation there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Wombles Steakhouse
Book a Table
Contact Wombles Steakhouse
Contact Us
Address
Hobart Grove Shopping Centre, Shop G9 & G10
88 Hobart Road
Bryanston
2191

 

View map
Food Served
SteakhouseGlobal/InternationalGrillsPastas
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Friday: Lunch & Dinner
Saturday: Dinner only
Sunday: Closed
Facilities
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Weddings
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT