Weather
OverviewMenuReviews
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Grant G
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
26 Feb 2019

“Best Dumplings in Town”
On my recent visit back to SA, I Had to stop by for dumplings at Watami. Nothings changed, still brilliant food especially the dumplings.Will return, for sure.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Vicky T

09 Feb 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Very Bad Service”
Food is not bad but very bad service from the owner. Had to wait at least 30mins before we got our bill, next time we will just leave without paying!!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall DazzaB777
Johannesburg, South Africa
04 May 2017

“Mistaken identity”
This place seems to have held promise in days gone by. However now seems to have declined to a mixture between Asian fast food and smart dining. Beers and wine stuffed in a fridge that is on the eating floor. Cheap advertising of specials lessens what once was however specials are good and fair. Food is good along with variety offered. Seems like you score during the day and if you are a pensioner. Could come back but not on a first date.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall NickyN315
Johannesburg, South Africa
03 May 2017

“The Best Sushi on the East Rand”
We have been going to Watami ever since it was based inside Greenstone. The new location is great and the food is Awesome, still the best sushi around. Friendly staff and great selection on their beverage options, loved the Chinese beer.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Michael L
Johannesburg, South Africa
09 Feb 2017

“Great value fresh Sushi”
Friendly service with good value fresh Sushi, variety of specials and discounts on offer nearly every day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Iand2965

01 Nov 2016

“I love it”
I've been comming here for a couple of weeks in a row and I must say the food and service quality is ALWAYS exceptional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall BinBoksburg
Boksburg, South Africa
16 Sep 2016

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Interesting Sushi combinations”
We visited Watami with a Groupon voucher. Service was prompt. First time for us to taste fried chicken and fried salmon "sushi". Sushi in a sugar cone was also a surprise and tasty. We also enjoyed the green tea.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall shalznair
New Delhi, India
07 Sep 2016

“Not Good”
Very poor ambience. Infact very sad if I may sayWe were looking for a quick bite and stopped by this restaurant. Even a Chinese customer who sat next to me was heard complaining about the Sushi that had no fish, just a big chunk of rice rolled in seaweed. It seems like a poorly managed place overall. Definitely not worth the money. Needs major renovation and training to staff. The waiter just memorises the order and keeps repeating before taking the order and as I predicted he mixed up the order. Food is really bad. We regret coming here at all. Please avoid.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall jennyi96
Johannesburg, South Africa
01 Jun 2016

“Simple restaurant”
Simple Chinese restaurant with reasonable food. Good specials occasionally offered on Groupon. Service is very average and typical of a Chinese restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 90dude1
Edenvale, South Africa
23 Mar 2016

“For your regular suhi fix.”
Watami is our regular sushi hang out, not only is the sushi awesome, it is consistant and in the three years plus the I have been dining there, I have never had a bad experience. Other than sushi, the prawn balls are a must. Just the place to either is on the sidewalk or in the resturant enjoying a glass of wine and naturaly the food.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Watami Restaurant
Book a Table
Contact Watami Restaurant
Contact Us
Address
Stoneridge Shopping Centre
Modderfontein Road
Edenvale

 

View map
Food Served
AsianChineseJapaneseSushi
Average Price$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday:
11:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
TV/Sports
Outside Seating
Smoking Section
Outside Catering
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT