Website
Weather
OverviewMenuReviews
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
  • Media Reviews
Overall mdjusa
Raleigh, North Carolina
01 Feb 2018

“Restaurant at Camps Bay Retreat”
Great hotel breakfast. Set in Lush Grounds, the Manor transports you back to a regal time. All meals were outside under The Logia. Dinners were well priced and excellent. The BBQ or braai was so-so. The wine was value priced, They had a variety of Gins. We ordered a cheese platter with champagne to watch the sun set Magical.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 93traceys
Perth, Australia
24 Jan 2018

“Don’t go for the Braai it’s a rip off”
I have to say that what is more disappointing apart from a very average expensive meal is the lack of response from the management of the hotel to my email I sent regarding our poor experience.We stayed at the Crystal apartments and were recommended to go for the Braai and given a menu of what they served which no reflection of what was on offer.For the main meal all we were offered was steak or fish .The size if the steak was very small and limited to what was given to you but what was listed on the website and menu given to us was steak,chops and chicken and fish on request no selection or choice at all .Lots of other issues on the night,all I can say is that there are other nicer and better places to go to especially for the prices they charge.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall brunel_andy
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
20 Apr 2017

“excellent”
Amazing food, great wine at a great location during our stay at Camps Bay Retreat. The standard of the restaurant is as high as of the hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall SLP888
Cape Town, South Africa
19 Feb 2017

“Lovely restaurant...very enjoyable evening!”
My husband went to Von Kamptz to celebrate our 7th wedding anniversary. The venue was such a nice change to the normal commercial restaurants that we usually go to...It was a small restaurant with a gorgeous view and personalised service. We went on their "braai" buffet night. The fillet steak was amazing and the selection of salads was very good. We enjoyed our dessert and coffee in the library afterwards. All in all it was a lovely evening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Loyiso S

16 Feb 2017

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Beautiful venue and views”
Very very beautiful colonial feel at Earl's Duke House and breath-taking ocean views as you walk into Camps Bay Retreat.Went for Valentines Day. Lovely menu, fillet cooked perfectly. It was busy that night so I unfortunately cannot rave or fairly review the service. Will review when I go back on an ordinary day. The amazing staff there kept my phone safe for me when I forgot my phone at the restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall youthinkitisayit
Colchester, United Kingdom
10 Feb 2017

“Second hotel of trip to South Africa”
An oasis of calm after busy Cape Town.We eat at this restaurant where we are staying. We normally look to eat in different places but eat one lunch and three dinners here. The staff and service was first class as was the food.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall makoucafe
Cape Town
11 Dec 2016

“Great location,great meals and lots of history”
No-one can complain about this place it has it all! greast atmosphere amazing meals at reasonable prices. they do a typical South African BBQ every Wednesday and Saturday overlooking the whole of Camps Bay! wow what a great place. staff are great and location is even better. Treat yourself and go here you cannot be disappointed even if you try!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall adrea280
Strand, South Africa
19 Jun 2016

“Supreme dining!”
Thank you for a wonderful dinner and breakfast experience! Beef fillet was excellent and all dishes was tastefully presented! Will definitely return shortly! Well done!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 78PaddyC
Cape Town, South Africa
10 May 2016

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Beautiful setting”
This is a wonderfully situated restaurant where you dine al fresco looking out over gardens that descend into Camps Bay. There is only a small selection of cocktails to sip while you take in the sunset, but they are all excellent. Sharing a jug of Pims is a lovely summer's treat.The menu is compact and the food is beautifully presented. It is generally excellent, although the chicken dish was a miss on the evening we were there. The wine list is also a treat.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Bevan W
Cape Town Central, South Africa
27 Aug 2015

Food
Service
Value for Money
“What a great night!!!”
There are a couple of things about a homely kitchen that makes it special - the fact that you will always be welcomed and that it is normally where the “good stuff” is kept hidden or slowly simmering. The smell of freshly baked breads, sound of mixers and blenders, the look of fresh fish and poultry and the sense of extreme heat. All these hidden and simmering treasures are made with the utmost care and always in abundance, rounded off with “seasoned” timing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Von Kamptz @ Camps Bay Retreat
Book a Table
Contact Von Kamptz @ Camps Bay Retreat
Contact Us
Address
7 Chilworth Road
Camps Bay

 

View map
Food Served
Fine DiningBreakfastFrenchOrganic
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday:
07:00 - 22:00
Facilities
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Fireplace
Wi-Fi
Accommodation
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2018 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT