Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
  • Media Reviews
Overall Liam S
Bellville, South Africa
16 Aug 2019

“Half-Done”
We had a big family event here a month ago. We had high expectations as we know the owners have high standards, but the restaurant staff couldn't care less. They were out of 2 of their main dishes on the menu; then we then waited for more than an hour for our food. After about 45 min they brought us sorbet to make up for the long wait... C'mon. We were only 1 out of 2 tables; and they never apologised. Then when our food came it was a 50/50 outcome. Half the food was AMAZING such as they're lamb... Half were completely screwed up such as they're chef's special T-bone - which were all well-done instead of medium. When complaining to the waiter she said that she'll tell the chef. And then just never returned. She only brought us the bill which surprised us with a R450 charge for a Chef's Special T-bone - undiscloved until then. The normal steaks are priced R200-R300. This could have been a pure 'fancy' way of doing business, but it only emphasised the whole experience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall GeorgeS5116
Tampa, Florida
15 Apr 2019

“Over rated”
We were recommended this place and told one should make a reservation 1 week in advance. Was not necessary that night. Our dinner was not very good but the service was excellent. Wish we had eaten in Paarl.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall VSPNorthWest
Nantwich, United Kingdom
02 Mar 2019

“great food”
Formal restaurant with top quality food and service although no very busy .Service staff were very friendly and atttentive .Good for special occasion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Cassandra595
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
15 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Still Rocking”
We had dinner and two breakfasts here. Nine years ago the food, wine list and service was excellent and I’m happy to say nothing has changed. We can’t recommend the hotel itself as a holiday destination but the salads, buffalo mozzarella, pork belly, kingklip, pannacotta and bread pudding were all delicious. Eggs Ben, croissants and all the usual breakfast goodies were excellent. Thanks Chefs.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Kevin D
Brighton Uk
06 Jan 2019

“Good range of dishes”
150m to your room after a good meal is always better than driving several ks :-) . Steak was a cut we did not know but was excellent. Wine list was good.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear Kevin D, Thank you for your kind words and your feedback on Bosman's restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. . Kind regardsThe Grande Roche Management Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Eddy1001
Berlin, Germany
23 Dec 2018

“Top Food, Service ok, but very much time needed for preparation”
We, a family of 4 (kids 12, 18), have been here at Xmas (December 23) and enjoyed the food, view, kind of hotel. The food is excellent, but 2 things are not good (and we know restaurants all over the world): service is not keeping an eye on the costumers and it needs to much time for preparing a course (because the kitchen is optimizing itself). Good location, there are better ones in the area. We had a 30 drive from Lanzerac!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear Eddy 1001, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Grande Roche Hotel and Bosman's Restaurant. We appreciate the positive review about our food and constructive feedback about service and food delivery in Bosman’s Restaurant. Your constructive feedback is much appreciated and we will use it to implement the necessary policies. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind RegardsGrande Roche Management Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Camper817643
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
23 Sep 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Worth every cent”
Very friendly to solo diner. Had the 7 course tasting menu, very expensive (1190 rand + tip + drinks+ water = 1650 total), but worth it. Lots of small dishes so not too filling, the paired wines to go with it would have been too much for me to drink so had a couple of glasses but was given some extras, wine a bit disappointing but food and ambience outshone everything. Restaurant is a smart, long, chandeliered room with good views over Paarl (ask for a window table if your dining companions are boring!). Service brilliant but sedate (3 hours total for meal). If you are eating shortly after sundown and the weather is good get there early and sit on the veranda for a spectacular sunset view of the mountains.Stand-out courses amongst an excellent series were the refreshment before the meat course of a raspberry and strawberry sorbet, the springbok meat course, and the banannas flambeed at the table for dessert. Disappointing was a fish course that was overly salted for my taste and a mushroom amuse boche where the pastry could have been flakier.If going for the 7 course tasting menu, don't take the cheese option - you will want to sample both dessert courses!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear Camper817643Thank you for your feedback on your experience in Bosman's Restaurant. It is our passion that guests leave the Winelands with happy memories and always return wherever possible. We do hope that it will be possible for you to return to us one day. Kind regardsThe Grande Roche Management Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 501PaoloC
Bologna, Italy
04 Sep 2018

Food
Service
Value for Money
“perfect evening”
here fo dinner. great location and very professional and welcoming staff. we had an aperitif sitting on a sofa in front of a fire place then moved to the table where we had the degustation menu.7 course meal with pairing wines for all courses: food was nicely cooked and very well presented. you can see that the chef is Austrian cos there are a lot of European influences and that's not necessarily a bad thing. I just expected more fantasy in every dish. anyway, nothing to complain and the sommelier was great for all the dinner. definitely an experience and I'd love to come back again to South Africa just to eat at this place.don't forget it's a formal restaurant so no shorts or open shoes (for men of course)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear Paolo CThank you again for your kind words and your feedback on Bosman's restaurant. It is our passion that guests leave the Winelands with happy memories and always return wherever possible. We do hope that it will be possible for you to return to us one day. Kind regardsThe Grande Roche Management Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ARCHIE0410
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
22 Jul 2018

“High expectations....”
I had high expectations from the website, however the food was good but just not what I was expecting. The vegetarian offering was limited and what I was served was FINE but not worth the hefty cost. May be for meat eaters it would be a different experience but for me it was no more than fine. The restaurant is also randomly located in the hotel reception. The lights don’t dim so it lacks atmosphere of a fine dining restaurant. My table was the closest to the reception desk, so during dinner I was distracted by guests checking in, only a couple of feet from my table. Huge potential but it needs some dividing screens for privacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Sales and Marketing Administrator at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear Archie,Thank you for your review and your feedback on Bosman's Restaurant.We take pride in the food we serve, and we are most disappointed that we failed to impress you. your constructive criticism is much appreciated, and we will use it to implement the necessary policies.May you return to us in the future and enjoy a better experience of the Bosman's Restaurant.Kind Regards,The Grande Roche Management Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall HenricovL
Wellington, South Africa
24 May 2018

“Fantastic birthday lunch”
Yesterday was an amazing experience at Bosman's Restaurant. From the start everything went smooth. We were greeted by Mercia at the door, so friendly and knowledgeable. Food was on the lunch menu was outstanding but our highlight of the meal was the duck dish. Very pleasurable afternoon indeed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeRocheHotel, Manager at Bosman's Restaurant, responded to this review.
Dear HenricovLThank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are very glad that we were able to give you an enjoyable and memorable afternoon. Thank you for the special mention of Mercia's friendly and knowledgeable service and the outstanding duck dish.We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regardsThe Grande Roche management team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at Viande
Book a Table
Contact Viande
Contact Us
Address
Grande Roche Hotel
Plantasie Street
Paarl
7646

 

View map
Food Served
Fine DiningBistroGlobal/InternationalLight MealsSeafood
Average Price$$$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 19:00 - 23:00 (kitchen closes at 21:30)
Facilities
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Fireplace
Secure Parking
Disabled
Outside Seating
Accommodation
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT