Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall LaurenKieser1
Cape Town, South Africa
02 Dec 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Food is tasty service is lacking a personal touch”
Beautiful seating outside under the oaks.Food portions were a good size and very enjoyable. Mostly enjoyed the Eisbein and hake, the duck was not for me. However the chef never wanted to make a simple change to the meal. We wanted to exchange the starch (chips) for Vegetables and only after our poor waitress had begged and pleaded with him, did he make the change. Secondly as soon as our plates were cleared the waitress brought us the bill, without offering us dessert/ coffee. We landed up ordering dessert a delicious baked cheese cake topped with salted caramel popcorn, which I would recommend.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JohanBezz
Durbanville, South Africa
27 Oct 2019

“Good bye Rusty”
We had 2 unhappy visits to Rusty Oaks. The 1st was about 2 months ago. They were on the Entertainer App, and when we got there, we were told they were not on it anymore.Last month we went there again, there was a number of the items on the menu they did not have.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall NicoleBedford84

03 Jul 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Food is absolutely delicious”
Lovely atmosphere and warm and cozy in winter with the indoor fireplace. The waiters are attentive. We brought our own wine and the corkage was very reasonable. We had a table of 7 and not one of us could say anything wrong about the food. The pork belly was the biggest portion I have ever seen, the meat was succulent and the crackling crispy. The smoked sirloin I had to try as i had never come across it before, so tasty. All and all a wonderful day out.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall OliviaL2010

28 Apr 2019

“Lovely atmosphere”
What a beautiful meal! The steak burger: superbThe avo burger: superbThe service: superbDefinitely worth a FEW visits!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Wayne S
Cape Town, South Africa
05 Apr 2019

“Fine dining”
What an awesome place!!! Was looking for a nice quiet restaurant for my wife birthday & we where NOT disappointed. Food was define...Portions was big & very tasty. My steak was done to perfection & my wife can't stop talking about the deconstructed cheese cake Thanx to Sive our waiter...service was excellent & fast. Will definitely be back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall phumbapascoe
Cape Town, South Africa
19 Mar 2019

“Best place for Nachos”
If you feel like Nachos , Rusty Oak is the best place to go. Even though the lights went out during our dinner , the spirits were still high and the service was great. Portions are big enough to share .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MiloDexter
Cape Town, South Africa
28 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“A Special Occasion.”
We went as a family, a first visit for most of us. The Venue is quite nice, either sitting inside or out & you can also braai in the garden (which is large) & plenty of secure parking. It was a weekday & we were quite surprised to see so many people there. My husband & a couple of others chose the steak which they said was very good. One had nachos & I chose the belly pork which was tasty, but I was very disappointed as there was just a rind around the edge of the belly pork, no 'crackling' which I especially like. I think the Chef should perhaps have a chat with the Chef at 'La Pineta' where there is a lovely 'crackling' around the pork belly served there. One of our party chose Pizza & said the crust was soggy & not so nice & they wished they hadn't chosen it so, if you're thinking of dining there I'd perhaps give the Pizza a miss. The service could have been a little better - one of our party requested mustard with their meal and we asked 3 different Waitrons for it before it finally arrived, by which time most of their meal was finished. One of the party commented "Mosterd na die maal" (perhaps next time we should take a jar with - Haha). Prices are slightly steeper than normal, in that if you're wanting any sides - rice, chips, onion rings, salad etc., it all comes at an extra cost. I got 2 pieces of belly pork with a little jus & decided that, on the price already being charged, I would not add to the cost. We all agreed that 'sides' should come as part of the meal. We had a nice evening & would definitely go again some time.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Zakiah R
Cape Town, South Africa
15 Feb 2019

“TERRIBLE Valentine’s Dinner”
Terrible experience last night. R640 Valentine’s Dinner - Walked out after sending the starters back twice for being disgusting and raw. Service was terrible took ages to get the incorrect bottle of wine. 4 different waiters kept approaching us and asking the same questions but none of them were getting us anything; wine menu, drinks, starters. People behind us walked out too.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall London_Shish
London, United Kingdom
28 Jan 2019

“Underwhelming - staff need training”
Went there with my partner last night and used Entertainer. Thank goodness we did because the pizza was tiny. Toppings were of great quality but not worth what is being charged. It was oddly shaped too. This place could be super amazing with the right training for staff and attention to detail on the meals. Staff were busy cleaning and setting up and therefore we waited too long to order and had to get up more than once to ask to order. Management - care more otherwise this place won’t make it!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall adelindeg
Somerset West, South Africa
20 Jan 2019

“Pathetic service”
Waited 30mins before we were helped and given a menu. After that had to wait another 30mins just to order drinks. Staff looking very confused on the floor. Will not easily come back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at The Rusty Oak
Book a Table
Contact The Rusty Oak
Contact Us
Address
14 Langeberg Road
Durbanville
7550

 

View map
Food Served
Fine DiningContemporaryGrillsLight Meals
Average Price$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday:
06:30 - 21:00
Facilities
Child Friendly
TV/Sports
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Weddings
Accommodation
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT