Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Wayne S
Cape Town, South Africa
05 Apr 2019

“Fine dining”
What an awesome place!!! Was looking for a nice quiet restaurant for my wife birthday & we where NOT disappointed. Food was define...Portions was big & very tasty. My steak was done to perfection & my wife can't stop talking about the deconstructed cheese cake Thanx to Sive our waiter...service was excellent & fast. Will definitely be back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall phumbapascoe
Cape Town, South Africa
19 Mar 2019

“Best place for Nachos”
If you feel like Nachos , Rusty Oak is the best place to go. Even though the lights went out during our dinner , the spirits were still high and the service was great. Portions are big enough to share .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MiloDexter
Cape Town, South Africa
28 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“A Special Occasion.”
We went as a family, a first visit for most of us. The Venue is quite nice, either sitting inside or out & you can also braai in the garden (which is large) & plenty of secure parking. It was a weekday & we were quite surprised to see so many people there. My husband & a couple of others chose the steak which they said was very good. One had nachos & I chose the belly pork which was tasty, but I was very disappointed as there was just a rind around the edge of the belly pork, no 'crackling' which I especially like. I think the Chef should perhaps have a chat with the Chef at 'La Pineta' where there is a lovely 'crackling' around the pork belly served there. One of our party chose Pizza & said the crust was soggy & not so nice & they wished they hadn't chosen it so, if you're thinking of dining there I'd perhaps give the Pizza a miss. The service could have been a little better - one of our party requested mustard with their meal and we asked 3 different Waitrons for it before it finally arrived, by which time most of their meal was finished. One of the party commented "Mosterd na die maal" (perhaps next time we should take a jar with - Haha). Prices are slightly steeper than normal, in that if you're wanting any sides - rice, chips, onion rings, salad etc., it all comes at an extra cost. I got 2 pieces of belly pork with a little jus & decided that, on the price already being charged, I would not add to the cost. We all agreed that 'sides' should come as part of the meal. We had a nice evening & would definitely go again some time.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Zakiah R
Cape Town, South Africa
15 Feb 2019

“TERRIBLE Valentine’s Dinner”
Terrible experience last night. R640 Valentine’s Dinner - Walked out after sending the starters back twice for being disgusting and raw. Service was terrible took ages to get the incorrect bottle of wine. 4 different waiters kept approaching us and asking the same questions but none of them were getting us anything; wine menu, drinks, starters. People behind us walked out too.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall London_Shish
London, United Kingdom
28 Jan 2019

“Underwhelming - staff need training”
Went there with my partner last night and used Entertainer. Thank goodness we did because the pizza was tiny. Toppings were of great quality but not worth what is being charged. It was oddly shaped too. This place could be super amazing with the right training for staff and attention to detail on the meals. Staff were busy cleaning and setting up and therefore we waited too long to order and had to get up more than once to ask to order. Management - care more otherwise this place won’t make it!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall adelindeg
Somerset West, South Africa
20 Jan 2019

“Pathetic service”
Waited 30mins before we were helped and given a menu. After that had to wait another 30mins just to order drinks. Staff looking very confused on the floor. Will not easily come back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall clairereice
Cape Town, South Africa
17 Jan 2019

“Date night”
Firstly I will start off by saying the food was absolutely amazing.... it was the first time I ate snails and because of this place I will definitely be eating it again..... I think they were a bit short staffed as we had to wait a bit for drinks and for plates to be cleared but the food made up for it 100%. I had the 3 cheese lasagne and my husband had the 1kg eisbein which he could not finish, it was brought to our table by the head chef himself.... Such kind humble people. Definitely worth a visit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall DeirdreK50
Kloof, South Africa
01 Aug 2018

“Cosy restaurant”
Good tasty food. Large portions with a wide variety to choose from.Different lunch and dinner menu.Good breakfast provided.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Harri69
Lahti, Finland
11 Jul 2018

“Homely, all good”
Stayed for a few days so had chance to eat lunch and dinner. Very good service, nice atmosphere and good food. Quite safe menu, not too many innovations. Big portions, as they have here. Recommended!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall sigimuirhead
Durban, South Africa
01 Jul 2018

“Consistency!”
The best Chicken Schnitzel! Tender chicken with a beautiful fluffy and crispy batter. But the pizza... probably the worst I’ve had. The base was soft and doughy, sticky and soggy and under cooked! Probably because of all the mozzarella that was on it. I really did not expect this from the Rusty Oak. Especially for the price of the pizza.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at The Rusty Oak
Book a Table
Contact The Rusty Oak
Contact Us
Address
14 Langeberg Road
Durbanville
7550

 

View map
Food Served
Fine DiningContemporaryGrillsLight Meals
Average Price$
Payment accepted
Memberships
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday:
06:30 - 21:00
Facilities
Secure Parking
Child Friendly
TV/Sports
Outside Seating
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Weddings
Accommodation
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT