Website
Weather
OverviewMenuReviews
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Resort32408782432

13 Feb 2019

“Perfect meat”
Food is always good, it is a busy place and you have to make a reservation to get a table.Inside tables are the best outside is like a closed veranda and not so nice. You may bring your own wine corkfree.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Melvina H
Cape Town Central, South Africa
13 Feb 2019

“Excellent choice”
Love their steaks. Great menu. No corkage on wine...very friendly staff, Lovely setup, cozy...warm...I simply love this restaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall CAJ2155
Cape Town, South Africa
12 Feb 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Best Steak in Cape Town”
Have visited Hussars at a few of their locations, but the above location gives an very good vibe, but most importantly serving food here is taken seriously.I would recommend this restaurant any time to any one.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall mamakicl
Mels, Switzerland
05 Feb 2019

“Excellent piece of filet !”
A year ago i was not such a happy customer at the Hussar Grill. Last night - we had friends here from switzerland and they heard good things about the hussard. What a pleasure !! The ladies ordered chateau briand and the men wanted a piece of filet with sauce bernaise. Both dishes are filet, but the cut is different. What a wonderful piece of meat we enjoyed - tender and grilled to our liking how we ordered it - outstanding !! Of course to such a nice meal you need a good wine - Ruppert & Rothschild - our friend brought with (no korkage charged) beautiful !! The only little disappointment was the creme brulee - served cold and hard. But what really made this evening was our waitress Adelaine - friendly, professionell, efficient - 10 out of 10! Last night was a night to remember at the Hussar in Somerset!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this review.
Dear mamakicl, Thank you for taking the time to review our Somerset West steakhouse, and for giving us the opportunity to right a wrong; we are so glad we managed to turn it around for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warm regards,The Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall LeonF639
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
04 Feb 2019

“Good quality”
Went for lunch and were pleasantly supprises with the quality of the food and service over lunch. They are currently running a special on ribeye steak and I can really recomend it. They are a bit pricy but well worth it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this review.
Good day, Leonf639,Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are so happy to hear that our commitment to quality food and service is truly appreciated by our customers.We do hope to serve you again, soon.Kind regards,The Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall GoPlaces46757
Cape Town, South Africa
27 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Hussar Grill never fails to astound!”
I had a birthday dinner at Hussar Grill in Somerset West. The one in Sea Point is one of our favourite restaurants to visit and definitely the best steak house there is. We visited the one in Somerset West for the first time and they astounded us as well. I had a perfect M-W fillet which was extremely soft and tasty, accompanied by a perfectly sized fresh mixed salad. Super fast and friendly service as well. Will highly recommend Hussar Grill.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this review.
Good day, Goplaces46757,Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our Hussar Grill Somerset West grill room. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us.We look forward to many more excellent experiences with you.Kind regards,The Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall AlistairCoy
Bingley,UK
25 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“A Great Place To Eat”
The Hussar Grill in Somerset West is actually based in the Waterstone shopping centre and as such, you would question if a quality restaurant could be based in a place like this. Well take my word and my advice and get yourselves there to sample the delicious food and the truly excellent service.On our visit this week, we were looked after by a delightful young man called Brett (forever Brat to us!) who is a real credit to this establishment. The way he engaged with the four of us only added to our enjoyment of the fayre that we were presented with. The menu offers an excellent and diverse choice but we all went for steaks of different types. All were incredible and my brother insisted that his peppered 300g fillet was the best he had ever experienced in his life and he is 69!Hussars has a great reputation for its steaks earned over many, many years and it is a reputation well deserved.We will be eating there again during the course of our stay and look forward to some more great food and great service. Thank you Hussars.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this review.
Dear Alistaircoy,Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review of our Hussar Grill Somerset West steakhouse. We put customer satisfaction as top priority. It gives us great encouragement to receive positive feedback from you.We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.Kind regards,The Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Gordon246
Cape Town, South Africa
18 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Lunch at the Hussars Grill”
Our recent lunch at Hussars was a most disappointing experience. My wife ordered a trio of snails for starters, they were served up with the three advertised sauces, but the dish was covered in a layer of tough baked cheese which spoiled it. I ordered marrow bones, but they came with a teaspoon and a little olive fork, which proved to be inadequate to remove the marrow from the bone - a marrow scoop would have been ideal for this dishMy wifes second dish was a calamari concoction that tasted of nothing. My second dish was a medium rare steak which asked to be grilled au natural without their "special" basting sauce. They grilled the meat covered in basting sauce. I sent it back and they merely washed the sauce off and returned an anaemic steak sitting in the middle of the plate with not a garnish in sight - and it was very well done to boot. The side salad which I ordered with the steak came covered in a sauce made of cheap ersatz balsamic vinegar and oil - it was inedible. The whole meal cost over R600 and the wine was double the shop price. Hussars will not see us again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this review.
Dear Gordon246, Thank you for taking the time to review our Somerset West steakhouse. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We are very disappointed to hear that your dining experience was not consistent with the high standard we pride ourselves on.Please, could you kindly take a moment to send a copy of your review and contact details to somersetwest@hussargrill.com so that we may get in touch with you directly to address your concerns. Sincerely,The Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall JLLJ
SA
03 Jan 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Great Steaks - One of the best restaurants in the Helderberg”
Saturday evening was about our tenth or so visit to The Hussar Grill, Somerset West. The restaurant is in a shopping centre so it doesn't come with spectacular views but it's a well laid out traditional steakhouse. Be aware the front desk is not the best - table bookings are sometimes not adhered to and its not always the most friendly welcome if you don't have a booking. Once inside, however, the food and waiter service are really excellent and more than make up for any shortcomings before being seated. On this occasion Herman was our waiter and he was friendly, genial and helpful. We had the 300gm Hollandse Biefsteak and a 200gm Pepper Fillet. Both were cooked to a perfect medium rare and really tasty. Hussar's accompanying chips and onion rings are always great. Service is quick - perhaps ask them to hold the food for a few minutes between courses so you don't feel hurried. The wine list is extensive and Hussars has a very generous corkage policy. A really good restaurant which it is easy to highly recommend.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this review.
Dear JLLJ,Thank you very much for your review of our Somerset West grill room. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We are happy to hear that you felt very welcomed and accommodated by Herman, and that you enjoyed your food so much.We look forward to your next visit.Warm regards, The Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Mark2852

27 Dec 2018

“Dinner”
Wonderful service and a wonderful meal, thank you to our waitress Adelaide who made the experience above and beyond, remarkable service!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this review.
Dear Mark2852, Thank you for your excellent review of our Somerset West steakhouse. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and that Adelaide made your evening exceptional. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.Warm regards, The Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at The Hussar Grill - Somerset West
Book a Table
Contact The Hussar Grill - Somerset West
Contact Us
Address
Shop 26, Waterstone Village
Cnr R44 and Main Road
Somerset West

 

View map
Food Served
GrillsFrenchSouth AfricanSteakhouse
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Saturday:
12:00 - Late
Sunday:
12:00 - 17:00
Facilities
Take Out
Secure Parking
TV/Sports
Outside Seating
Smoking Section
Wi-Fi
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2019 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT