Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall rhettmaxwell
Cape Town, South Africa
09 Mar 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Over cooked Steak”
After avoiding this restuarant for quite some time, we decided to give it another go, last week.We booked a table beforehand, which turned out to not have bbeen necessary as there were not many occupied tables when we arrived. I recall on previous visits getting a small tub of biltong to enjoy before your meal. This is absent on this occasion, which was a little disappointing. My wife and I both ordered medium rare steaks, of different cuts, and both arrived medium. As we had 2 guests with us, and wanted to have our meals at the same time, we mentioned it to our waitor, but chose to not have our meals returned to the kitchen. The waiter did appologise on behalf of the kitchen staff, but one expects better from and establishment who pride themselves on the quality of their red meat. On a positive note, there is no corkage charge!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this review.
Dear Rhettmaxwell,Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our The Hussar Grill Somerset West grill room. We are deeply disappointed in the level of service you received. We would like the opportunity to get in contact with you to directly discuss this with you. If you could kindly forward your details along with this review to somersetwest@hussargrill.com so we can get in touch.Many Thanks, Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall LindaMac8
Longniddry, United Kingdom
27 Feb 2020

“Delicious steaks - friendly and helpful staff”
We had a lovely evening and thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our evening. The staff were extremely helpful and steaks were delicious.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this review.
Good day, Lindamac8,Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our The Hussar Grill Somerset West grill room. We pride ourselves on cuisine and service excellence - glad you experienced both.We look forward to your next visit.Warm regards,The Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Pieterger
Stellenbosch, South Africa
13 Feb 2020

“We had lunch today And have”
We had lunch today And have done so for years. Today food was far below par. Ordered rib eye. Servedsomething with bad taste and tough Fillet totally tasteless. Completely unhappy. From regular eating place to never again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this review.
Dear Pieterger,Thank you for your review of our The Hussar Grill Somerset West grill room. We are extremely disappointed to hear about the quality of food you received.We would like an opportunity to contact you. Could you kindly take a moment to forward this to somersetwest@hussargrill.com so that we may get in touch with you directly to address your concerns?Many Thanks, Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall AndreasZillig
Guntramsdorf, Austria
10 Jan 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Fantatstic Steakhouse in Somerset West”
We have been twice during our stay in Somerset West. The quality and presentation of meat is fantastic! Ambiente and Service 1st class and we had two different waiters and also owner came up for a chat - we can recommend this great place and you eat high level quality and have also great wine menu. What we did not realize coming for holiday from Europe is also fact that you can bring your own wine and they serve you without any corkage fee. We felt really spoiled from good service attitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this review.
Good day, Andreaszillig,Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review of our The Hussar Grill Somerset West grill room. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at our restaurant.We do hope to serve you again, soon.Kind regards,The Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Anton D
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
29 Dec 2019

“Solidly good”
We always make sure we visit Hussar once in a holiday. Granted it's a chain restaurant, but very much on the upmarket level. Food excellent, big portions, and service top notch. Highly recommended
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this review.
Dear Anton D,Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our The Hussar Grill Somerset West grill room. We are delighted to hear that the food and service was wonderful.We look forward to welcoming you back for another excellent Hussar experience.Warm regards,The Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ludolphj
Somerset West, South Africa
22 Dec 2019

“Mr”
Best of the best. Excellent food and waitress. I will definitely return for the quality. Well done. The chocolate vodka was offered to us and it was a wonderful surprise to end a superb lunch. Finally found a place that could do an ostrich steak perfectly.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this review.
Dear Ludolphj,Thank you for your review of our The Hussar Grill Somerset West steakhouse. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us, and that everything from the ostrich steak to the dessert was delicious.We look forward to many more memorable experiences with you.Warm regards,The Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall annieswan
Centurion, South Africa
19 Dec 2019

“Underwhelming”
Waited very long for our food. Mashed potato served with lamb shank very lumpy and dry. My husband’s fillet definitely not medium but well done & very dry. Saving grace was the corn side. Definitely not on the same standard as other Hussar’s we went to.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this review.
Dear Annieswan,Thank you for your review of our The Hussar Grill Somerset West steakhouse. We are extremely disappointed to hear about the quality of food you received.We would like an opportunity to contact you. Could you kindly take a moment to forward us this review to somersetwest@hussargrill.com so that we may get in touch with you directly to address your concerns?Kind regards,The Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Spotman555
Wigan, United Kingdom
18 Dec 2019

“Not as good as Camps Bay branch!”
I love the Hussar Grill chain but usually visit the Camps Bay branch. This was my first visit to the one in Somerset West and sadly it didn’t live up to my previous experiences. Apart from the lovely and professional waitress, Shamara, the visit was disappointing. I ordered the calamari starter which was ludicrously small and measly for the R75 price tag, just 5 pieces of calamari. Taste was ok but nothing to rave about.Then my sirloin on the bone was also only ok, lacked flavour and was more fatty than usual (I have this cut regularly). My monkey gland sauce was probably the worst I’ve had anywhere, very runny and a distinct lack of flavour. Extremely disappointing meal.My wife had the lamb loin chops which she enjoyed. There isn’t a separate kids menu which is an oversight as kids should be an important part of the business. We were however informed that despite the lack of a menu, there were 3 options for the kids.2 of my children ordered the ribs, which were excellent, if a little on the small side. My other child opted for the calamari and chips but said these were nowhere near as good as ones she’d had just a few days previously at another restaurant.Normally I would order a dessert but after my earlier disappointing courses, I decided to give this a miss.I’m hoping this experience was just a one-off, as I really love Hussar Grill. I love the fact they don’t charge corkage for wine and I love the different cuts of steak they offer.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this review.
Good day, Spotman555,Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our The Hussar Grill Somerset West steakhouse. We are sorry to read you didn't fully enjoy your experience with us.We would like the opportunity to contact you to discuss this further and hopefully resolve it. If you could please forward this review to this email somersetwest@hussargrill.com we will be in contact with you shortly.We hope to turn this around for you in the future as we look forward to welcoming you all back.Many Thanks, Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall DonManfredo54

13 Dec 2019

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Always a great experience”
Every time in South Africa, we return to Hussar Grill. No steakhouse serves better meat according to our taste and we go there at least 2 times a week to enjoy a wonderful game steak or tender beef fillet. The service is generally very professional and attentive. The steaks come exactly as ordered. On top of this, we can bring our own preferred bottle of wine. There is no corkage fee. As we are wine lovers, this provides us with an excellent opportunity to taste various high quality wines bought at wine estates or liquor stores. For more than 6 years, always an awesome experience. Hope it stays that way.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this review.
Good day, Donmanfredo54,Thank you for your wonderful review of our The Hussar Grill Somerset West grill room. We strive to provide the best dining experience and it gives us great encouragement to read about your positive one.We look forward to serving you again, on your next visit to South Africa.Best regards,The Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Maps60644456823
Johannesburg, South Africa
06 Dec 2019

“Pork belly is a definite no”
Pork belly is a definite no ...I’ll never go back Dry and tasted like cardboard - Where is that light fluffy crunch and tender meat. My guests had a taste and it was not a good result. I was so looking forward to this ....awful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this review.
Dear Maps60644456823,Thank you for your review of our steakhouse. We are disappointed to hear that you and your guests did not enjoy your dining experience with us.Please, could you kindly send us an email somersetwest@hussargrill.com so that we may get in touch with you directly to address your concerns?Kind regards,The Hussar Grill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at The Hussar Grill - Somerset West
Book a Table
Contact The Hussar Grill - Somerset West
Contact Us
Address
Shop 26, Waterstone Village
Cnr R44 and Main Road
Somerset West
7110

 

View map
Food Served
SteakhouseFine DiningGrills
Average Price$$
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Saturday: 12:00 - 22:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 16:00
Public Holidays: 12:00 - 16:00
Facilities
Functions
Fireplace
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2020 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT