Claim this listing
OverviewMenuReviews
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall August P
Pretoria, South Africa
06 Apr 2021

“Sunday Lunch”
The food is very tasty and Great. Serene atmosphere while you dine. Excellent value for money. Excellent service and friendly staff. Will definitely return.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall gordon h
North Riding, South Africa
21 Mar 2021

“Don't order the Eisbein”
Service was acceptable, average. Beautiful location and setting. Tables in front of a small lake, live music.Food was disappointing though. I ordered an esbein. It took it's time, which the waitress acknowledged but I was not in a hurry. But it arrived and was not done well. One side was crisp and dry, and under was soggy and not cooked properly. I could only eat about 20% of it. The veggies, although said to be roasted, was steamed and bland. Nothing about the meal was quality, or something that should be charged for.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall heloisef_travels
Pretoria, South Africa
10 Jan 2021

“The Fat Olive”
The Fat Olive is a must visit restaurant - definitely one of Johannesburg's gems!Food was exceptional; service was excellent; staff were all friendly and efficient; and the setting is breathtaking with an incredible atmosphere! We even spotted a pony walking around!Our food was absolutely incredible and everyone at the table had something delicious - from burgers to calamari to curry. I had the Thai chicken curry, which is highly recommended!! I think I made everyone jealous when they saw my curry #foodenvyBig thank you to the staff and management of The Fat Olive for making it an unforgettable meal and experience! See you again soon!!Follow @heloisetravels on IG for more reviews and photos.#reviews #reviewer #feedback #instagram #testimonial #happycustomer #blogger #bhfyp #follow #customerservice #instagood #customerfeedback #influencer #like #blog #testimonials #customer #wanderlust #goexplore #adventureseeker #wonderfulplaces #seekmoments #travelgirl #adventurethatislife #johannesburg #mogalecity #southafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Lilian-reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
29 Nov 2020

“Lovely al fresco lunch, just 25 min away from north Jhb.”
Beautiful location. Stunning views of the Kromdraai area. Lovely set up right next to a pretty small dam. The food was very tasty, reasonable priced and the staff was very friendly. There was live music what completed the atmosphere for a lazy and peaceful Sunday lunch. We will return!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall richarddO6690KB
Hermanus, South Africa
15 Nov 2020

“We were restaurant cat fished!”
We were restaurant cat fished! The internet portrays a tranquil setting next to a dam with upmarket table setting and spacing between each table. We were seated at an unset bench/bar style tables packed closely next to each other on the lawn in front of the restaurant - we had booked the day before. The food was a 2/5 which no one at our table finished and we left after 45 minutes. Don’t be fooled by their photoshopped pictures.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall ManojSA
Centurion, South Africa
31 Oct 2020

“Good choice after a long day”
The food is so so good. Had the chicken livers and the grilled calamari and chips. I was literally licking my lips. Amazing food and definitely a place to visit again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 408anastaciah
Roodepoort, South Africa
10 Sep 2020

“Amazing, beautiful country hideout”
We celebrated my sister's birthday at The Fat Olive. The presentation of the food was excellent, fresh and delicious. Our waiter Freddy was friendly, very charming and efficient. The place including the restrooms was clean and fresh. Will definitely visit them again and recommend them for a lovely country side meal.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall lynette353
Pretoria, South Africa
17 Aug 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“The Fat Olive, every meal delicious, service fabulous!”
Even in the horrible covid circumstances, you can forget about all your troubles and feel welcome and eat wonderfully prepared food in a fantastic atmosphere. We enjoyed every last bit!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Taffy2805
Harlow, United Kingdom
27 Apr 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Felt unwelcome”
My friend and I had lunch here on 31.12.2019. We had not seen each other for 2yrs approx as I live in the UK. So this was a special meet up for us. My friend booked a table prior to us arriving at the restaurant. When we arrived we waited to be seated. A lady (who may have been the manager/owner from what I could gather) approached us and informed us that they could not accommodate walk-ins. If she had actually taken the trouble to ask us first she would have known that we had reserved a table. It was established that we did in fact have a reservation however no apology was forthcoming. We were eventually shown to a table, but for me the initial experience with the presumptuous lady who thought we did not have a reservation spoiled my whole experience. The food was good, so was the ambience and location of the restaurant. For me, it's not just about the food, customer service is equally important. Won't be recommending this place to others am afraid!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Go_Explore_Discover, Guest Relations Manager at The Fat Olive Restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Taffy2805We do apologise for your welcome on New Years Years Eve. You're quite right that you shouldn't ave experienced us in that way. There had been a lot of stress on the day with it being New Year's Eve, and we'd had quite a few walk-ins. Never-the-less, you should not have been on the receiving end of our stressful time. We do apologise, and hope that you will come back and give us another opportunity.Thank you for visiting The Fat Olive
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Philip P

17 Feb 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Lovely setting , two small issues.”
The breakfast was lovely as were the surrounds, but 2 things we thought to mention.1. The pork sausage tasted like paraffin smells. Not sure why but it was not nice.2. The other thing is the price of coffee is way out. R30 for a cup compared to R23 to R25 at most places. So if we had to have 2 cups each as we normally do the coffee would cost as much as our food. So we only had one cup and just that might preclude us from visiting again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Go_Explore_Discover, Owner at The Fat Olive Restaurant, responded to this review.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, PhilipWe're so glad you enjoyed your time on our property. It's a treat to be able to share the beauty with our guests.We're so sorry about the sausages at breakfast. We've met with the Chef and his team to discuss your feedback. There seems to have been some confusion around your coffee, and we do apologise. There is a free coffee with breakfast and cappuccinos cost R30. On your next visit, please allow us to serve you a cappuccino on us.Thank you for visiting us, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contact The Fat Olive
Contact Us
Address
Stornoway Lodge
R512 Pelindaba Road
Lanseria
Food Served
CountryContemporaryContinentalMediterraneanVegetarian
Trading Hours
Monday - Saturday: 07:00 - 21:00
Sunday: 08:00 - 17:00
Facilities
Child Friendly
Outside Catering
TV/Sports
Takeaways
Smoking Section
Functions
Dancefloor
Wi-Fi
Fireplace
Secure Parking
Disabled
Weddings
Accommodation
Load Shedding
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2021 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT