Website
Weather
  • TripAdvisor Reviews
Overall Ivor287
Boksburg, South Africa
19 May 2021

Food
Service
Value for Money
“A sad old restaurant”
Mediocre food. Lack of good housekeeping (eg Gecko droppings on sill next to table- not removed for a while0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall SlaveSaveTravel

22 Dec 2020

“Amazing Seafood”
Delicious Flavourful Seafood platter prepared perfectly. Good sized prawns and squid heads. Good portions, overall great value for money.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall David V
Kempton Park, South Africa
06 Oct 2020

“Old school. Great food!”
A full Monday night turned into a great evening. Food was spectacularly good. Very good portions. Good service.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Dumile_1978

26 Sep 2020

“Best Seafood in the south coast”
Service was WoW! Food was perfect.will most definitely visit the next time I visit Margate.The ambiance was just great.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall AndrevN65
Krugersdorp, South Africa
06 Sep 2020

“Best prawns”
While on holiday on the south coast this past week we visited a couple of establishments and were hoping for nice sized decently prepared and tasty prawns. First up was Hibiscus beach cafe at the Ramsgate skiboat club. Second the lobster pot then Shelley beach newly opened ski boat club restaurant. Lastly was the crayfish inn. I will review the other restaurants seperately.Although not the best setting as it didnt have a sea view, this restaurant hit the mark for the tastiest and best priced prawns ( on special while we were there at R 120 for 12 prawns with chips or rice). In fact we enjoyed then so much that we returned for more of the same on our last night. One of our party had the seafood pasta and i must say that too was very very flavorsome. We look forward to returning for more of the same and will also try their other dishes on our next visit to our new holiday home in this town shortly.Well done to you guys at the Crayfish inn and please do Keep it coming.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall MervynGatcke
East London, South Africa
25 Mar 2020

Food
Service
Value for Money
“Clearly a Victim of the Recession”
I knew the old Crayfish Inn fro the days of yore when it was the inplace for seafood.So we decided to take a trip down memory lane.The original building was burnt down and a new one took its place.The decor and setting of the new one is very good and gives a good impression on entering.Unfortunately we were the only table there on a Saturday night which spoilt the ambience. Clearly it is battling with the current state of the economy as many others on the South Coast are.The service was good , the food and prices were average. So I hope that they weather the storm and return to their heyday as it is a very nice place.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall 933raye

28 Jan 2020

“We popped in for lunch today.”
We popped in for lunch today.Twelve thirty could be a little early so we relaxed about being the only table in the entire establishment. I remember this place from years back and thought what the hell, let’s give it a whirl.We chose three starters to share and ordered rock shandies.The service was prompt and pleasant and the food arrived in about fifteen minutes Fish cakes, grilled calamari and peri peri chicken liversThe livers were some of the best I have tasted, the fish cakes whilst super hot were mushy and bland and the calamari was cold and rather tasteless. The total meal would get a 6/10.What bugged me were the flies. We had more than one constantly landing on our plates and management need to purchase one of those fly trap/killers and deal with this issue.Price was reasonable.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall heidi-mervynb
Drakensberg
08 Jan 2020

“Great venue, delicious food”
Despite load shedding, everything was available on the menu! Truly delicious seafood. Great dinning area, friendly and accommodating staff.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall brandonbotha1998
Bloemfontein, South Africa
28 Dec 2019

“Disappointing food”
Apon arriving at the Crayfish Inn I was surprised of how lovely and cozy it looked inside. The staff are friendly and full of smiles but unfortunately that is where it stoped. The food was rather cold once it arrived at our table. My boyfriend ordered the calamari but it was very rubbery and he found a crumbed piece of chicken in between his calamari. He is Pescatarian so he doesn’t eat any meat except for fish for health reasons, so having a piece of chicken in between his fish was very disappointing. I had Queen Prawns and hake. Honestly for a sea food restaurant situated at the coast the quality of the food was very disappointing. I’ll definitely think twice before eating here again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overall Sathen
Johannesburg, South Africa
25 Sep 2019

“Mr”
Lunch at this remarkable restaurant, short distance from Wild Coast Sun. Waitress was bubbly and very friendly with exceptional knowledge of menu items.Opted for lobster grill with queen prawns, salad rice and chips.great spread and highest quality seafood.Seldom visit the south coast but will make the effort for this establishment.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Book a Table at The Crayfish Inn Ramsgate
Book a Table
Contact The Crayfish Inn Ramsgate
Contact Us
Address
Lot 2105 Marine Drive
Cnr Clarence Road
Ramsgate South, South Coast (KZN)
4285

 

View map
Food Served
SeafoodFine DiningGrillsLight Meals
Payment accepted
Trading Hours
Monday - Sunday:
11:00 - 21:00
Facilities
Outside Catering
TV/Sports
Takeaways
Smoking Section
Functions
Wi-Fi
Secure Parking
Outside Seating
Dining-OUT is proud to be South African
© 2021 - South African Restaurants - Dining-OUT